We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great food and good service a must try!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Il Giardino

Il Giardino
Ranked #4 of 49 Restaurants in Puerto Ayora
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $20
Cuisines: Italian, Seafood, Mediterranean, Ecuadorean, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Scenic view, Bar scene, Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Brunch, Lunch, Breakfast, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff
Description: Es un Lugar excelente para compartir comer en familia, disfrutar de mariscos, coctails, postres y variedad de helados Italianos.
Level Contributor
25 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great food and good service a must try!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2013

We went 3 times at this restaurant while in our vacation and the food was great every time and so was the service. It is definitely on of the better if not the best restaurants in Pt. Ayora.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Molu01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,249 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    613
    451
    130
    32
    23
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
116 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
“yes this your kitchen”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 29, 2012

Great food and drinks especially the juices. Wonderful for simple snacks and equally outstanding for full meals.

Fast friendly service and really comfortable ambiance. You could eat all your meals here, just chose a different spot in this multi-space restaurant, and you will feel refreshed each time.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank rubybellissimo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Good food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 28, 2012

They do very nice pasta here. It is a little expensive but they are always busy and it is a nice atmosphere.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Kirsten F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
29 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Good food, desserts, and drinks”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 27, 2012

I came here with a friend of mine who lives in the Galapagos. Everyone there knows everyone else, so even though there were tables reserved and nothing available, we were sat immediately.

This place is what amounts to a Galapagos version of an Italian restaurant. Lots of pasta and seafood available at surprisingly cheap prices. I had the mixed seafood pasta, which came with octopus, squid, fish, shrimp, and who knows what else in a relatively thick cream sauce. Not watery, but not overly thick either. While not the best pasta I've ever had, (it would still rank as a 4 out of 5 )it provided me with a really good base of food and energy for the diving I'd been doing over the past few days and in the coming days.

The reason I give the restaurant a 5, is not because of the food. Better food can definitely be had on the mainland. The 5 rating stems from ambiance. It's an open air restaurant set on 3 levels. At night, it's calm and a lovely place to sit with a friend or significant other, relax with a beer or glass of wine, and let the breeze whisk your cares away.

I came back to this place a couple of times during my stay. Once for dinner, once for drinks, and once for desserts.

For drinks, they have the standard Pilsener beer and wines, but they can also make some pretty solid cocktails. The espresso and coffee are both pretty good. There's a small bar on the ground floor with room for about 6 people to sit, although you can order drinks throughout the entire restaurant.

The desserts are homemade gelatos and pies. Absolutely delicious. You can try all the gelato flavours before buying, so I'd strongly suggest doing that. The pies and cakes are likewise delicious. My friend got an apple crumb pie with vanilla ice cream. I had a scoop each of mango & blueberry gelato. I was pretty happy with it.

I'd definitely recommend a stop by this place for a hearty dinner.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Ptcunnings
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, Connecticut
Level Contributor
42 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Great food!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 11, 2012

We ate here several times for lunch, dinner, and dessert throughout our six night stay on Puerto Ayora. As vegetarians, we were worried that options would be sparse, but Il Giardino had clearly marked vegetarian options that were all delicious. Complimentary appetizers came before each meal, usually some tapenades or spreads with bread. I highly recommend the Ecuadorian potato soup and the waffle sundaes. The prices were very reasonable, the waitstaff were friendly, and the atmosphere is great (there are multiple levels to the restaurant, all open-air but covered). Dining by candlelight here was a pretty romantic experience. They were slow with the check at the end of the meal, but we found that the same at every Ecuadorian restaurant we visited.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank instantxkarmaa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Il Giardino also viewed

Puerto Ayora, Santa Cruz
Puerto Ayora, Santa Cruz
 
Puerto Ayora, Santa Cruz
Puerto Ayora, Santa Cruz
 
Puerto Ayora, Santa Cruz
Puerto Ayora, Santa Cruz
 

Been to Il Giardino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing