We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent food. Best tenderloin I've had lately, outside the US.”
Review of Il Giardino

Il Giardino
Ranked #4 of 50 Restaurants in Puerto Ayora
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $20
Cuisines: Italian, Seafood, Mediterranean, Ecuadorean, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Large groups, Local cuisine, Bar scene, Special occasions, Kids, Scenic view, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Brunch, Breakfast, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wine and Beer
Description: Best place in Galápagos to enjoy a beautiful meal with family and friends, indulge yourself with fresh sea food, cocktails, coffee and tasty italian gelato.
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
226 reviews
119 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“Excellent food. Best tenderloin I've had lately, outside the US.”
Reviewed August 23, 2012

This restaurant has the feel of being in a tree house. We ate upstairs, looking up into the trees. The menu was good and I chose the tenderloin which was very good. Everyone enjoyed their meals, however the Tres Leches wasn't very good, according to the two that ordered it. The rest went downstairs to the ice cream bar and loved it!

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank mdfloyd322
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,295 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    633
    460
    140
    34
    28
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great breakfast!”
Reviewed August 23, 2012

Friendly staff and awesome deal on breakfast prices! Free WiFi and excellent location on Charles Darwin avenue.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank Bkupcha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lausanne, Switzerland
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great food, delicious ice creams”
Reviewed August 20, 2012

One of the best restaurants in Puerto Ayora .Great food, friendly staff, nice terrace and location.. and definitely the best ice creams in town. I have stayed two weeks in Puerto Ayora and have tried the other restaurants in town: this one is in the top-3 without a doubt.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Joël P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Secaucus, New Jersey
Level Contributor
177 reviews
106 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Stick with the ice cream”
Reviewed August 18, 2012

Not sure how a perfectly cooked steak can have absolutely no flavor but that's what happened at Il Giardino. The steak looked awesome but it was as if my taste buds were dead.
There's a line at the ajoining ice cream stand for a good reason. make sure to stop there after eating somewhere else.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank hanleydouglas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
70 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Delicious juices”
Reviewed August 15, 2012

Went there 4 times in 3 days. I loved the fresh juices and smoothies after a day touring the islands. Ask for no sugar in the juices if that is your preference. Drink service is super fast.
They do an American breakfast (and other options) for about $6 which includes a real espresso coffee with warm frothed milk.
All the meals exceeded what I expected to be able to get on the islands and were more affordable than I expected also. The average main is around $13 but there are more affordable options too (hamburger with fries $6).
There are about 15 flavours of gelato made on premises which are very tasty.
It's always busy and does get full so consider booking in advance.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank brobens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Il Giardino also viewed

Puerto Ayora, Santa Cruz
Puerto Ayora, Santa Cruz
 
Puerto Ayora, Santa Cruz
Puerto Ayora, Santa Cruz
 

Been to Il Giardino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing