We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location, value and friendly...would stay there again.” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Espana

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Espana
Ranked #11 of 54 Puerto Ayora B&B and Inns
Kentucky
Level Contributor
71 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Great location, value and friendly...would stay there again.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

There were four of us sharing accommodations and Hotel Espana was recommended to us by college aged friends who had stayed there before. We had corresponded by email in advance and had arranged for pick-up at the airport. We met by our driver who was friendly and proud to be a Galapagoan! He rode with us on the bus that transports you to the ferry (about 10 minute ride through an arid desert area). We then took a boat across to Santa Cruz about 10 minutes to cross a small waterway. Our driver who spoke little English offered to take us on a tour as we drove along to Puerto Ayora...if your driver does this....AGREE! It was great to be able to stop along the way. We hiked through some lava tubes, visited and hiked around a turtle farm, visited a ranch, hiked around some cloud forest craters and then finally arrived at the hotel. It was a great use of time and rewarding. We practiced our Spanish along the way and all was well.

Arriving at the hotel...We walked through the entrance way through the courtyard and were greeted. Our room was basic...there were five twin beds, a large closet, many windows (with broken screens), a wash basin (for clothing), and a bathroom with shower, toilet and basin which had walls that only went up 3/4 to ceiling so privacy was lacking...but we rolled with it. Rooms are a bit noisy...open windows over a courtyard.

Good location...a couple blocks from the main street, Charles Darwin.

Breakfast was available for an additional surcharge of $3. The women who prepared breakfast were pleasant and if you ask will make you different style eggs. The standard was bread basket butter/jam, hot beverage (coffee, tea, hot chocolate), fruit juice, water, scrambled eggs. Additionally, you could walk to the mini mart next store and bring items for them to prepare or you could prepare yourself as long as it did not interfere with their morning breakfast.

There was a party one night and we were invited to attend. While we were appreciative, by the time we returned at the end of the day from scuba, snorkel, hike, bike, etc...we were past exhausted.


We did arrange a tour to Floreana through the hotel one day and subsequent tours directly with our naturalist from Floreana; hiring a boat, captain and naturalist for private adventuring.

Do go to Floreana, Isabella and if you time it well go to Bartholme first when you arrive (arrange ahead of time) and are on that side of the island.

WiFi is mostly reliable; the router required reset/reboot DAILY. And, we did the reboot...rather than wait for the hotel folks to figure it out. If you are having trouble connecting that is likely the reason. Remember you are on an island...the connection options are being shared on the island.

We did store our passports here when we were out.

We enjoyed the hammocks in the evening. Brought in wine and beer and snacks.

Best dinner recommendation: eat in the open air restaurant Lobster market...they have other food choices...but the Lobster meals....are great for about $10 per person...many, many locals dine there as well. Bring hand wipes :))) Chocolat is a good restaurant option as well. There are some swanky hotel food options too if you need them.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HOBY_1986
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

280 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    51
    113
    82
    23
    11
See reviews for
29
131
41
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Winnipeg, Canada
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 12, 2013

Good value for money. Rooms are good size, with A/C and hot showers ( not that you'd need a hot shower ). Good location, near the main streets but far enough away that it is quiet. Rooms are clean and staff are very helpful. The paid breakfast is pretty good and it is well priced. The kitchen staff are eager to help with any meal substitutions. The free wifi is very glitchy and only works in the common area ( and even then we found that it didn't work most of the time). We stayed here on 2 separate occasions during our Galapagos trip and would return.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dara C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Takoma Park, MD
Level Contributor
29 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 5, 2013

Our room was perfectly nice and quiet with good ac. They clean them everyday including changing the sheets which is not particularly environmentally friendly for a place like Galapagos. Try to suggest otherwise and they look confused.

There is no wifi in the rooms, just the main common area. I could deal with that,but they have a crappy router that kicks people off every ten or twenty minutes and needs to constantly be reset.

Also, every night I sit in the common area in the evening and watch new guests walk up to the front desk bewildered by the fact that there is noone there. "Hello? Hola?": every night.

Good location.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dtrachtman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California Hot Springs, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 28, 2013

In all fairness, it was an OK place to stay - relatively clean, OK hot shower (it cycled through hot and cold though). The sink was way too shallow and small, water sprays all over you.

I got a bright double room with big windows and A/C. My problem was though, I was there on New Year's eve. The mini-mart next door blasted their 3 foot tall speaker at maximum well into 4am. The reception of the hotel closed at 9pm and the remaining people (staff? owner?) won't help me with the noise (the whole island is celebrating, you're gonna just have to live with it kind of deal, instead of fight for me cause I'm their guest). That was a big turn off for us its it completely screwed up our next day (consider we only had that many days there).
The double room next door, I peered into the window, was really crampy. They didn't get the noise though, cause their window faced inside (the corridor), but it was way too small for 2 people.

Oh, their wifi is set up wrong 9/10 of people couldn't get on.

Room Tip: 1. If you want a reasonably bright room, bring a curtain, cause you want light, you got it. 2. Get...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank electricgerm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2013

We were dead tired after flying for more than 16 hours and were glad to have a bed. However, this was not to be. The room didn't have an air-condition as paid for, which is okay. It was night, and not too hot. However, the room was quite dirty. We were also rudely woken up at 10.50 pm, by loud, loud music at full blast. Didn't think it could get any louder. Even though we paid for 2 nights, in advance via wire transfer, we checked out the next morning.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Josephine C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Puerto Ayora hotels

Beaumaris, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 20, 2012

The first impression wasn't that bad. It was clean and OK for the price. Now the experience of the stay. The wi-fi area is downstairs in front of reception, whilst there I got stereo baby crying from rooms either side of the patio. This was the family, in downstairs rooms in the hotel, one room also had cartoon network on the TV at full blast! The young man on reception seemed more interested in his internet game than me, as a guest. When I found him standing in my room with the maid, 30 minutes before my check out time my impression was confirmed. Very un-professional. They really need to look up the term 'customer service' if they wish to survive. I'm a travel agent and I won't recommend my customers to stay there.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AngleseyKev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warsaw, Poland
Level Contributor
26 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 7, 2012

This is a good choice from the point of view of the location and what you get for the price - we had a smaller room on the ground floor - it was small, but had A/C, TV (which you don't actually need on Galapgos) and nice bathroom - more than engough taking into account that you come to your room only to sleep. The breakfast was terrible - we only ate it once - first they delivered eggs without asking if we want them. Then butter, jam, tea and finally bread! It took about 20 minutes so the eggs were obviously cold. You can have much better breakfast in cafeterias around the city.
Before coming to the islands we called from Guayaquil to book a room there and they gave us a very high price. We thought that it's too much and didn't book it. When we arrived to Puerto Ayora we were looking for accommodation and checking different hotels/hostels and thought we would skip Espana as it is so expensive, but entered and asked a price and they gave us much lower price! On the phone they told us that it's difficult to find accommodation and that we should book and send them money to confirm booking! So they are not really honest... But the hotel itself is nice - cool patio with hammocks, nice location - close to the main street, clean rooms.
I would recommend it in overall.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kasia S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Puerto Ayora hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Fiesta
Hotel Fiesta
#5 of 20 in Puerto Ayora
4.0 of 5 bubbles 290 reviews
0.3 mi away
Red Mangrove Aventura Lodge
Red Mangrove Aventura Lodge
#7 of 20 in Puerto Ayora
4.5 of 5 bubbles 645 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Cucuve Suites
Hotel Cucuve Suites
#6 of 20 in Puerto Ayora
5.0 of 5 bubbles 36 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Galapagos Best Hostel
Galapagos Best Hostel
#6 of 54 in Puerto Ayora
4.5 of 5 bubbles 372 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Galapagos Suites
Hotel Galapagos Suites
#1 of 54 in Puerto Ayora
5.0 of 5 bubbles 458 reviews
0.3 mi away
White House Galapagos
White House Galapagos
#8 of 54 in Puerto Ayora
4.5 of 5 bubbles 42 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Espana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Espana

Property: Hotel Espana
Address: Tomas de Berlanga and Islas Plazas, Puerto Ayora 200350, Ecuador
Location: Ecuador > Galapagos Islands > Santa Cruz > Puerto Ayora
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 54 B&Bs / Inns in Puerto Ayora
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Espana 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, HostelWorld and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Espana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Espana Galapagos Islands/Puerto Ayora, Santa Cruz

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing