We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mi Caleta inn a great place in Santa Cruz”
Review of Mi Caleta Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Mi Caleta Inn
Ranked #7 of 57 Puerto Ayora B&B and Inns
Reviewed March 1, 2012

This is a very peaceful location with very clean rooms. For us having a refrigerator and very large save drinking water bottles in our room was very useful. The owners are very accomodating and took care of all our requests. We wanted a toaster and they got it for us right away. It is true that this does not have a feel of a hotel, but it is not a hotel it is more a bed and breakfast without the breakfasts. However, we had breakfast and sometimes lunch in our room often. We bought bread and cheese and jam at the supermarket as well as cereal and milk and used the toaster a lot.
We asked the owners about getting a private tour for the day to go to Los Gemelos, the tortoise breeding center and garrapatero beach and they arranged it. We were very happy with this tour which lasted from 6:30 am to 4 pm. The driver dropped us off at Garrapatero beach at the end of the other visits and he came back for us 4 hours later. We had a great time and the price was very reasonable for just the two of us.
Everytime we needed a taxi to go to the main dock to catch the boat for Isabela and later San Cristobal we only had to ask the owners and they called us a taxi which arrived punctually. I needed to iron some clothes and all I had to do was ask and they directed my to their laundry.
One of the owners speaks very good english.
It is a bit of a walk to the town, maybe half a mile to the beginning of shops etc and one mile to the end of the street with all the shops. Even though taxis only cost a dollar we walked often especially in the evening when it is fairly pleasant. Taxis do come by often if you need them.
We enjoyed the nice interior garden and the feeling of privacy that you never get in a hotel in the middle of the town. For some been in the middle of the action with discos, shops, bars etc is preferable, but we were able to see all the main things in town including shops and restaurants and return to the peace and quiet of this bed and breakfast.
The owners responded promptly to all our email enquires before we reserved. This is not always the case with some hotels.
In general I would recommend this place for a quite and comfortable stay. My husband stayed in one of those downtown hotels years ago and he said they were quite awful and noisy. OK if you are just staying for a night or so but not for longer stays. They also have good wifi in the rooms if you bring your own computer. I would stay at Mi Caleta Inn again if I were to return to Santa Cruz.

Sarracenia

Room Tip: They have rooms with access to a full kitchen which are more expensive but well worth it if you pre...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sarracenia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (93)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

53 - 59 of 93 reviews

Reviewed February 27, 2012

We booked from BA a double room in the hotel. The hotel is located pretty far from the main road and you need to take a taxi if you are not patient to walk some blocks on the hills.
The rooms are big, with minifridge, microwave and mineral water, tv and air conditioner. But they cost 90 usd for just a room. The inn doesn´t offer any other service and you can only see the owners if you knock on their house door. They don´t offer any service that make you feel as you are in a hotel.
Although the rooms are very nice, the distance and the service they offer do not worth 90 usd.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank memes86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2012

To avoid the pricy travel agent-version of flying form the mainland to the Galapagos Islands, we decided go to to Puerto Ayora in the Galapagos Islands a day in advance of our boat trip. Puerto Ayora, is not the place for people on really tight budgets. The stamp to send a postcard stamp to the US is, for example, three bucks. Honest!

However, Mi Caleta Inn is the rare exception to the rule, offering comfortable accommodations at a reasonable price.

The rooms are part of the family compound and located in a separate building from the owner's home. You'll find extremely clean, comfortable, simple accommodations, with air-conditioning, Wi-Fi and plenty of hot water to make your stay as wonderful as possible. Located just three blocks off the main drag and close to the Charles Darwin Research Institute, you can easily walk to shops and eateries catering to both local and tourist populations.

Your host, Rod, is an Ecuadorean native and longtime Galapagos resident with experience in international travel and perfect English language skills. He's a wealth of very helpful information about the Islands and their history. He and his lovely wife made us feel quite at home. They recommended restaurants for dinner, got us a taxi on request, and invited us to make their home our home. There is a lovely outdoor patio seating area amidst luscious gardens inside their walled lot. Don't miss the Galapagos Cotton tree growing in the garden.

If you're a visitor, this is the closest you will get to living local.

While Mi Caleta Inn is listed under "Bed and Breakfasts", breakfast is not part of the deal. But a variety of breakfast options, simple or elaborate, inexpensive or fancy, are available within a block or two of their lovely home.

One thing to note, most week-long Galapagos boat trips originate near the Baltra airport. Puerto Ayora is about 40 minutes away by cab, so don't forget to factor in this expense.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Larry_In_Takoma_Park
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 15, 2012

The property is lovely and Rod Jacome is a supreme host. Having been a Galapagos naturalist guide for 30 years, he has not only built a comfortable and inviting place to stay, but is also happily willing to give advice and make arrangements for activities on the islands. Extremely friendly. They brought us coconuts on the first day and washed our laundry for us (we'd been traveling for a while and hadn't had the opportunity to do it elsewhere)! Our room was cleaned daily. There was a small kitchen equipped with appliances (toaster, microwave, stove, and coffee maker) and drinking water, refilled when necessary, was included at no additional charge. Although it's not on the main street (Charles Darwin Avenue), it is within walking distance of everything. If you prefer to take a $1 taxi anywhere within Puerto Ayora (or for more $ across Santa Cruz), Rod will gladly arrange for one to pick you up. Very accommodating. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Katie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 30, 2011

My husband and I spent a full week at Mi Caleta Inn and found it to be very clean and well kept up. The owners, Rodrigo and Esther, are wonderful people, always available and happy to talk about the Galapagos, to help out to find whatever we were lookinf for, to solve problems, or to arrange tours on and off the island. We took a tour to Rancho Primicia, Seymour Norte, and Garrapateros beach all arranged by them. They also suggested day trips to different parts of the island, which we did and thoroughly enjoyed. We strongly recommend Mi Caleta Inn to anyone visiting the Galapagos. The house had a full kitchen, daily maid service, and clean and comfortable beds. Hot water was usually readily available, and the nights were nice and quiet. Shopping was available nearby as well, and we cooked and ate in the house every day. Thumbs up to Rodrigo and Esther!

Room Tip: House # 3 would be the quietest since it's farthest from the street, which gets quite a bit of t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank yobbb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 9, 2011

We are actually here right now - its a great tranquil spot just on the edge of town close to the Charles Darwin Centre. Takes about 8 min to walk to the main drag - very easy to/from. Owners are great and hotel is on a quiet street away from hustle and bustle. Very safe and got upgraded to 3 bedroom suite so for two couples we have tons of space which is great after spending some time in close quarters! We have a full kitchen, sitting area, dining area and 3 bathrooms. Also very clean and beds are comfy. A/C and free wifi. Good value for your money in a pricey spot. Would definitely recommend!

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank greckers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2011

I must say that I would recommend this place to everyone that want to have a quite stay in a very charming place, out of the town and with all the comfort that you would need in a stay in Galapagos. Very clean rooms, comfortable beds, simple but functional. If you add to this that the owners are very experinced guides in the island you will have the perfect base to organize your stay in Galapagos.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tmontes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Puerto Ayora
0.0 mi away
Hotel Crossman
Hotel Crossman
#20 of 25 in Santa Cruz
41 reviews
0.0 mi away
Galapagos Best Hostel
Galapagos Best Hostel
#8 of 57 in Puerto Ayora
374 reviews
0.0 mi away
Galapagos Native
Galapagos Native
#6 of 47 in Puerto Ayora
63 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Coloma Galapagos Hostal
Coloma Galapagos Hostal
#3 of 57 in Puerto Ayora
116 reviews
0.0 mi away
La Fortaleza de Haro
La Fortaleza de Haro
#4 of 47 in Puerto Ayora
94 reviews
0.0 mi away
White House Galapagos
White House Galapagos
#17 of 57 in Puerto Ayora
54 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mi Caleta Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mi Caleta Inn

Address: Daphne y Petrel | Barrio El Edén, Puerto Ayora 200350, Ecuador
Location: Ecuador > Galapagos Islands > Santa Cruz > Puerto Ayora
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 57 B&Bs / Inns in Puerto Ayora
Price Range: $54 - $132 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Mi Caleta Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One of Galapagos most charming guest houses. Located in the most exclusive residential neighborhoods in Puerto Ayora, MiCaleta Inn boasts an inviting residential ambiance that combines an authentic neighborhood vibe with all the modern comforts. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire and Hotels.com so you can book your Mi Caleta Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mi Caleta Inn Galapagos Islands/Puerto Ayora, Santa Cruz

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing