We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable and amazing host makes this charming place a self-pampering gem”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Galapagos Suites
Ranked #1 of 54 Puerto Ayora B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Bangkok, Thailand
Level 6 Contributor
116 reviews
88 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
“Comfortable and amazing host makes this charming place a self-pampering gem”
Reviewed June 6, 2010

Joseline, the owner of this charming 4 rooms only hostel, a true gem for me and my two friends to rest our souls after an 8-day cruise around the islands. The hotel location is two corner turns from the main Avenue Charles Darwin that is lined with numerous cafes, shops, and tourism agencies for you to find diving trips, and cruise deals (hence only 4 stars for location), and if you are a price conscious budget traveler, you will find this place to not be a suitable choice as the price per night for us three in a triple room is 120 USD (another star gone for value).

Joseline has obviously though through carefully when she set up this place as it brings about a home-like feel for any over night guests. The hammock in every balcony of the rooms is perfect for an afternoon siesta while enjoying the sea breeze.

Breakfast is very well served and the coffee Joseline made were the best I had ever tasted in Galapagos, Guayaquil and Quito. I kid you not.

This is the perfect place for anyone who seeks a comfortable, spacious and clean room and is willing to spend a little more to have it. Highly reccomended!

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GeraldSingapore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

472 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    429
    37
    5
    1
    0
See reviews for
91
262
33
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
NSW
Level 6 Contributor
160 reviews
133 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 133 helpful votes
Reviewed May 19, 2010

Galapagos Suites (GS) comprises just 4 rooms, but what great rooms - very spacious, clean, and comfortable. In Guayaquil we stayed in the 4 star Continental Hotel in a junior suite, which was very nice, but our room at Galapagos Suites was better.

GS is run by the very busy and lovely Joseline who, as well as running GS, works at a tour company by day, and at night cooks cakes and makes juice pulp for sale in stores in Puerto Ayora. During our 5 night stay some of her cakes and juices were served for breakfast - delicious. The coconut based juice, which we initially said 'no' to until we saw Joseline's disappointed face, was simply wonderful.

The room was, as mentioned, very spacious. The bed was actually two 3/4 size beds joined together to make a huge bed - bigger than a king bed. All bed covers fitted this huge bed and I guess were specially made for this purpose. It was very comfortable. In the room there was a cable TV (but only fair reception on many channels), a sofa, a wardrobe, a safe, and air conditioning. The room was well ventilated with screens on all windows. We only used the a/c on one night.

The bathroom was also a good size. Unfortunately there was no hot water in the hand basin (although the shower was hot) and there was slow drainage from the shower. Joseline told us that she was closing GS for a few weeks after our stay to have the plumbing overhauled. So everything should be great for future bookings.

A simple breakfast was included in the room rate - a delicious homemade juice; a serving of diced fruit; a main dish comprising a slice of processed meat, a couple of slices of a cream cheese, and scrambled or fried egg; toast or bread roll with jam and butter; tea or coffee. And if you are lucky, some of Joseline's lovely brownies or cake.

As others have mentioned, location is perfect, away from the noise of the centre but only a few blocks stroll. Be aware though that this doesn't protect you from dogs barking during the night and/or roosters crowing early in the morning.

One disappointment was the lack of any tourist map or other tourist information in the room. People we met on tours had maps and other information provided by their hotels. It was only after we booked a tour through an agency in Puerto Ayora that we received from them a map of the islands.

Joseline can also book tours for you, either before you arrive or after. For day tours, unless you are travelling in high season I would wait and book these in Puerto Ayora. There are any number of agencies in the main street who can arrange tours for you at much cheaper prices than you will pay over the internet.

A negative was the requirement to pay before arrival 100% cost of accommodation, and later a couple of tours booked by Joseline, through Western Union. Not so much having to pay upfront but the cost of using Western Union - each time about US$40. I would encourage Joseline to find another (cheaper) way of receiving payment.

We also pre-paid for transfers to and from the airport on Baltra. The transfer process is very simple and you don't need the services of an agent. A couple will save in the vicinity of US30 by not using an agent.

Notwithstanding my couple of minor gripes I wouldn't hesitate to stay at GS if I returned to Galapagos. I highly recommend it.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aussie_bmh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
england
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 10, 2010

I'd strongly recommend this place as the best value for money hotel on Puerto Ayora. Set just back from the main drag (2 mins walk from Pelican Bay and the Malicon), the rooms are very large and airy, kept spotlessly clean. Hammocks are on each of the big balconies. You feel really safe and looked after. The breakfasts are huge - fresh fruit, newly baked rolls, cheese etc. The owner and her mother are incredibly friendly and help organise everything.

Stay here! The photos speak for themselves.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank africaweasel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
arizona
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed May 6, 2010

My husband & I spent an extra night in Punta Ayora after our Galapagos cruise. Happily, we picked Galapagos Suites as our hotel: absolutely first class in every way. We turned up about 10 am, way earlier than we (or they) expected (us) to arrive. Warm welcome, beautiful room immediately available. Immaculately clean, comfortable bed, air conditioning welcome after the morning sauna weather,hammock on the balcony calling my husband's name. Joseline was very helpful answering questions and arranging airport transportation. Breakfast was delicious. Strongly recommend

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank annieb2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 21, 2010

I don’t think I can say enough good things about this place. Our stay was truly amazing. The owner not only genuinely cares about whether you enjoy yourself at her B&B, she also is concerned that you have a good time on the Islands.

The breakfasts we had every morning, which included fresh juices, cheeses and bread, were wholesome and delicious. It was the best meals we had in Puerto Ayora.

The suite is impeccably tidy and well lit. The bed is large and comfortable. The bathroom is so clean and very modern. The shower is hot and has excellent pressure. The housekeeping is the best we’ve ever seen - so incredibly thorough.

We were so happy to have found the Galapagos Suites and will recommend it to anyone who stays in Puerto Ayora.

The owner is also a naturalist who seems to be very knowledgeable and friendly. We wished we could have booked a tour with her. Some other guides don’t speak english very well, so if you can book her as a guide as well, we’re sure you’ll have an amazing experience.

We have absolutely no complaints about the Galapagos Suites! When we left, they sent us away with some homemade brownies. She didn’t have to do this and it was such a thoughtful touch!

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mister_mustard80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed April 4, 2010

Very clean,centrally located 4 room B/B in puerto arroya. Large clean room,comfortable beds,nice bathroom,pure water,nice light breakfast homemade,air conditioning. Rate was $160 for 4 people. Very helpful owner,Josephine, arranged cab from airport PIRCE WAS $15 TO $25. and can arrange tours also. She works for tip top cruises which we took.Close to town 5 to 10 min. walk to town and charles darwin center. HIGHLY RECOMMENDED

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank arijac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed March 28, 2010

This hotel is very comfortable and clean, plus the staff are very friendly. Breakfast is great - fruit, fresh bread, pancakes, juice etc. The rooms are decked out well with a big comfy bed and hammock on the balcony. Definitely would recommend!

  • Stayed March 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SuzeJiggy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Puerto Ayora hotels
0.5 mi away
Hotel Fiesta
Hotel Fiesta
#5 of 20 in Puerto Ayora
307 reviews
5.7 mi away
Semilla Verde Boutique Hotel
Semilla Verde Boutique Hotel
#1 of 20 in Puerto Ayora
424 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Cucuve Suites
Hotel Cucuve Suites
#4 of 20 in Puerto Ayora
46 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Angermeyer Waterfront Inn
Angermeyer Waterfront Inn
#3 of 20 in Puerto Ayora
346 reviews
0.2 mi away
Red Mangrove
Red Mangrove
#8 of 20 in Puerto Ayora
653 reviews
0.8 mi away
Finch Bay Galapagos Hotel
Finch Bay Galapagos Hotel
#2 of 20 in Puerto Ayora
848 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Galapagos Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Galapagos Suites

Property: Hotel Galapagos Suites
Address: Cucuve y Floreana, Puerto Ayora 200350, Ecuador
Phone Number:
Location: Ecuador > Galapagos Islands > Santa Cruz > Puerto Ayora
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 54 B&Bs / Inns in Puerto Ayora
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Galapagos Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Galapagos Suites is a lodging place that offers personalized first class service. We strive to provide a unique experience at our hotel. The hotel is within walking distance of the waterfront which allows our guest to experience the richness of the local culture, cuisine, shopping and beaches. Galapagos Suites has 5 rooms, each with private bathroom, hot water, air-conditioning, safety box, balcony area and American breakfast is included. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Hotwire so you can book your Hotel Galapagos Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Galapagos Hotel Puerto Ayora
Hotel Galapagos Suites Galapagos Islands/Puerto Ayora, Santa Cruz

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing