We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Inn Near Attractions”
Review of Hotel Verde Azul

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Verde Azul
Ranked #18 of 55 Puerto Ayora B&B and Inns
Reviewed January 4, 2014

It is located within walking distance to the main street in town and to the Darwin Research Center. The owner is a friendly and wonderful man who helped arrange taxis and tours. The toilets and shower were a bit of an issue, but I think that is standard across Galapagos. There are no luxury hotels. The breakfast was simple but good. There is a small pool and the a/c worked, albeit weakly. We enjoyed our stay there and would go back again!

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view of the harbor.
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stewart S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (71)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Verde Azul
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

26 - 32 of 71 reviews

Reviewed August 25, 2013

Stayed here for five nights, both with daughter and on my own. Rooms were spacious and clean and the breakfast same as in other hotels. The owner was extremely helpful and friendly and always willing to help with any requests. Sea views from higher floors.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marjorie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2013

We enjoyed our stay at the Hotel Verde Azul with our top-floor room looking over the town and out to the harbor. The owner was helpful and very pleasant, including arranging a taxi tour to Los Gemelos and searching for us during a power-outage to help us find our way home. Unfortunately, the power outage affected his water pump and we had no water pressure for showers after that. One other quibble is that the blankets were thin, but he provided us with another blanket when we asked. My daughter enjoyed swimming in the pool, especially when she got to join a group of other children who were visiting the hotel. Breakfast was also by the pool, and included entertainment by many small birds who wanted to join in. The hotel is about three blocks up the hill from the waterfront and about halfway between the main tourist area and the Charles Darwin Center. The room was simple and clean with a wonderful view.

Room Tip: We really liked our top-floor room's many windows and view of the harbor.
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 487kristinb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 31, 2013

Basic B&B, 4 blocks from the main strip. We ended here as everything else was full, but were positively surprised as the service was excellent ( owner did everything he could to please), and the rooms were basic but clean. Some troubles with the bathroom and shower. The breakfast was a bit of a disappointment, but again they are trying their best. I would still choose the hotels on the strip over this one, but I am sure it is of good value(it was prised to market, this time) when all the hotel aren't full.

Room Tip: There are many steps to 8,9,10 and 11 pick one further down.
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EKnive
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 13, 2013

This hotel was arranged for us by Galapagos Alternative. We couldn't have been happier with it. There were three of us traveling, two adults & one thirteen year old. Our room was clean, spacious, and had a very nice view. The location was perfect for explorations into town. We felt very safe there and the owner and his wife were very pleasant.

Breakfast on the sunny terrace was fresh fruit, yogurt, granola, cereal, bread, cheese, eggs and coffee (or hot cocoa).

We bought lobster at the market and stored it in the fridge until we took it to Cafe De Lar Mar to be cooked on the grill for dinner.

Room Tip: Rooms on the upper floors have a great view if you appreciate the stair climb.
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DMHDetroit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2012

This hotel has some positive aspects: his owner is nice (but just him, as his wife is definetly unpleasant), is logistically convenient and the size of the rooms, but that's all!
The room's forniture is very simple (in one room that I saw and didn't choose there was neither the wardrobe) and surely with a low attention to the manteinance (in the bathroom the tap didn't work: every time we needed to open it we had to use the same muscle of Hulk!). Moreover, every day the owner's wife tried not to give us all the towels: sometimes lacked the one for the face and some others the one for the shower (that was very unpleasant!).
But the definetly worst thing was the breakfast: in theory it was a buffet, but you could chose just between two kinds of cereals and take just a kind of fruit. The other things were served at the table and were: bread, with just a kind of jam, coffee (just one), fruit juice (just one kind and with a good part of water), a scrumbled egg with the addition of onion and garlic but, if you didn't like it, you couldn't change it with another thing: you had just to eat or to leave it....and STOP!
As I haven't staid in other hotels at Galapagos, I don't know if that's the average....but it seemed to me definely LOW!

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PatsyMatsy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 28, 2012 via mobile

We stayed there for a night and felt very comfortable. The room was huge and clean, the water hot and the ocian view great! The hotel is new and there is still some work to be done. Instead of
Making zhe pool area nice with some chairs and some plants, they hyng clothes there. Too bad! However, i'm sure this hotel will soon live up to its potential since the staff is very fridndly and helpful.

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nischu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Puerto Ayora hotels
0.7 mi away
Hotel Fiesta
Hotel Fiesta
#6 of 21 in Puerto Ayora
314 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Ninfa
Hotel Ninfa
#11 of 21 in Puerto Ayora
195 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Silberstein
Hotel Silberstein
#7 of 21 in Puerto Ayora
361 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Red Mangrove
Red Mangrove
#8 of 21 in Puerto Ayora
663 reviews
3.8 mi away
Casa Natura Galapagos Lodge
Casa Natura Galapagos Lodge
#14 of 21 in Puerto Ayora
50 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Brisas Del Pacifico
Hotel Brisas Del Pacifico
#7 of 47 in Puerto Ayora
81 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Verde Azul? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Verde Azul

Address: Calle Petrel y Marchena | Barrio el Edén, Puerto Ayora EC00000, Ecuador
Location: Ecuador > Galapagos Islands > Santa Cruz > Puerto Ayora
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 55 B&Bs / Inns in Puerto Ayora
Price Range: $80 - $122 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Verde Azul 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Galapagos Hotel Verde Azul, located in Puerto Ayora, Santa Cruz' Island. The hotel has a terrace where you'll have a beautiful view to the Santa Cruz' bay, as well as to Santa Fe Island, and Loberia Island. At the moment we have 19 rooms, 8 of which have direct view to the sea. All the rooms have air conditioning, hot/ cold water. Buffet-breakfast is included on our rates. We offer to our guests wireless Internet service for free. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Orbitz, Travelocity and Hotwire so you can book your Hotel Verde Azul reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Verde Azul Galapagos Islands/Puerto Ayora, Santa Cruz

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing