We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice and spacious hotel!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Galapagos Islands Hotel
Ranked #19 of 21 Hotels in Puerto Ayora
Quito, Ecuador
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Nice and spacious hotel!”
Reviewed April 9, 2013

We were given a triple room for a double once we checked in. The room and bathroom were very clean. The bed was big and we even got a little balcony. The location is a bit far from the city center but it is a nice walk. There is also plenty of taxis at 1 dollar each way.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Alonsofer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

93 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    24
    29
    21
    16
    3
See reviews for
14
40
8
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Curitiba, PR
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 2, 2013

I stayed in the hotel for 2 nights in Santa Cruz and it had it booked as part of a package. The facilities are simple but rooms are clean, have decent a/c and nice breakfast. Location was also nice, a quiet street but not too far from the port and restaurants. The pool was awful and dirty, but on average it's a good option to stay in Santa Cruz.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bigugelmin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
83 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed March 22, 2013

good: A/C worked,
bad: A/C was an old model that didn't have any digital way to adjust the temperature, just a manual nob that was hard to adjust. also it was really high on the ceiling so we had to get a ladder to actually change the temperature (and i'm over 6foot tall) we were in room 10

good: they have a water purifier and they don't mind you filling your water bottle
bad: some of the staff are a bit rude and there were no black out curtains! a hotel should never have white curtains, come on now.

overall this felt like we were in a motel on a trucker route, and lots of tour groups staying here. it is far enough out of town to be an inconvenience, but it gives you a good feel for some of the other local neighborhood aspects of the city.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kayrez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pennsylvania
Level 5 Contributor
41 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed February 12, 2013

While in Santa Cruz we stayed at the Casa Natura, which is changing its name to Galapagos Island Hotel. This is a very well kept hotel. The room we stayed in was spacious and clean. The staff is friendly. They have a nice pool and pool-side bar. I would recommend this hotel to anyone staying in Puerto Ayora.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Orcalvr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed November 4, 2012

This seemed to be a "Motel 6" quality hotel. The room was lit with bare bulbs, had indoor-outdoor carpeting and very cheap linens. Only one nightstand for a queen bed. It was clean but very very basic. We expected more.

The desk staff did not seem very interested in helping the guests. One evening, I let them know (in Spanish) that the drinking water on our floor was empty. The next day, it was still empty.

The breakfast was pretty good and the staff in the breakfast room were very nice.

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
5 Thank EugeneChristina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Puerto Ayora hotels

Staten Island, New York
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed October 21, 2012

My wife and I were searching for a place to stay in this island with the following criterias in mind: walkable distance to the harbor, close to the main eats and near the Turtle Conservatory, had a free breakfast, and not too expensive daily lodging rates (compared to other top hotels in Sta. Cruz.) Casa Natura fit the bill for us and we ended up staying for 5 nights.

The staff they had were very friendly. We also recieved a free upgrade to a larger room. It was massive. They had king size beds and the mattresses were comfortable. It also had a shower and tub bathroom which was of very good size.

For what we had in mind we could not find any faults in this hotel and have no qualms in staying here again if given the chance.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lawrence Gene C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, VA
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 19, 2012

Rooms are very basic, almost like a semi-private room in a hostel. No bar or restaurant. Free breakfast is very nice. There is a small pool but it is not headed. No elevator. It's quite average. If they would add a restaurant, maybe a hot tub, and some amenities to the rooms, it would have potential. My balcony door (to a public balcony) broke a couple of times and my a/c did not work. And the bathroom had the poorest design I'd ever seen (the shower butted up against the sink so there was no where to stand at the sink because the shower curtain was in the way).

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AnnieInAlexandria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Puerto Ayora hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Castro
Hotel Castro
#20 of 21 in Puerto Ayora
36 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Fiesta
Hotel Fiesta
#6 of 21 in Puerto Ayora
311 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Ninfa
Hotel Ninfa
#11 of 21 in Puerto Ayora
193 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Silberstein
Hotel Silberstein
#7 of 21 in Puerto Ayora
355 reviews
4.4 mi away
Casa Natura Galapagos Lodge
Casa Natura Galapagos Lodge
#14 of 21 in Puerto Ayora
48 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Cucuve Suites
Hotel Cucuve Suites
#4 of 21 in Puerto Ayora
52 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Galapagos Islands Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Galapagos Islands Hotel

Property: Galapagos Islands Hotel
Address: Petrel y Floreana | Barrio el Eden, Puerto Ayora none, Ecuador
Location: Ecuador > Galapagos Islands > Santa Cruz > Puerto Ayora
Amenities:
Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 21 Hotels in Puerto Ayora
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Galapagos Islands Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Galapagos Islands hotel is a new small charming hotel with 15 air-conditioned rooms designed to provide with comfort and leisure for the adventure traveler, including facilities such as pool, bar, breakfast area and different recreational areas. The hotel is located in the residential area of Puerto Ayora, 8-10 minutes away walking distance from the fisherman's pier and the town's main promenade where most of the boutiques, restaurants and art galleries are located. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Galapagos Islands Hotel Puerto Ayora, Santa Cruz

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing