We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent variety but a tourist restaurant”
Review of The Rock

The Rock
Ranked #6 of 50 Restaurants in Puerto Ayora
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $14
Cuisines: Ecuadorean, Peruvian, Bar, Gastropub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Bar scene
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Reservations
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
102 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Decent variety but a tourist restaurant”
Reviewed July 30, 2013

Had dinner here - recommended by our cruise guide.
The menu has a lot of variety and the atmosphere ambiance is similar to many western bars/cafes.

We ordered the lobster and coconut linguini - and the waitress came out to ask if spaghetti substitute was ok. This was fine. The dish was overly salted, no lobster just prawns, and couldn't taste the coconut. 22 USD = FAIL.

Unless you have a hankering to hang out in a western cafe with other tourists I would suggest trying something more Ecuadorian.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank travellingurolfellow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

601 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    209
    204
    130
    36
    22
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Quito
Level Contributor
97 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Great pub experience”
Reviewed July 26, 2013

Visiting The Rock was a nice experience. Once you spend several days eating fish and shrimp, it is nice to have a place where you can find different options to eat. The dishes were really tasty and well elaborated. The decoration is really cool. prices are ok.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank FERNANDO-iDP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indian Harbour Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
359 reviews
215 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 147 helpful votes
“Best Ceviche in Town”
Reviewed July 19, 2013

As we finished and morning trip the Santa Cruz Highlands with our Guide Marco (ask for Him from any hotel or outfitter, it's a small town and he is very very knowledgeable (sp?) and a really great person), I asked who had the best ceviche in town and he pointed us to the The Rock. We must have walked past the place 5 times and never stopped because it looked like a younger crowd spot. We hit it at lunch time and I had the Octopus (Pulpo) and she had the Mixed (Mixta) and they were both awesome with great presentation on the plates. If nothing else, hit this spot for the Ceviche and you'll be glad !!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Michael S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Level Contributor
801 reviews
182 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 321 helpful votes
“just on Darwin corner”
Reviewed July 14, 2013

The place is really popular at the end of afternoon. Have a coffee, a beer, a cocktail and meet your friends...that's the place. For the meal they are a little pricey compare to their neighbors

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Road20years
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Level Contributor
51 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Nice place for drink or food”
Reviewed July 7, 2013

When we were in Puerto Ayora we stayed in Hostel Elizabeth which is located next door to the Rock, we had breakfast one morning in the Rock, good breakfast at a reasonable price for the Galapagos, they also do a happy hour from 5-7pm, the cocktails were okay, maybe a little on the weak side, we never had an evening meal in the Rock but some of the food looked really good

Definitely recommended for a drink or breakfast

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lucas69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Rock also viewed

Puerto Ayora, Santa Cruz
Puerto Ayora, Santa Cruz
 
Puerto Ayora, Santa Cruz
Puerto Ayora, Santa Cruz
 

Been to The Rock? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing