We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good drinks - don´t eat here!”
Review of The Rock

The Rock
Ranked #6 of 50 Restaurants in Puerto Ayora
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $14
Cuisines: Ecuadorean, Peruvian, Bar, Gastropub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Large groups
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Reservations
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
129 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Good drinks - don´t eat here!”
Reviewed June 27, 2013

We visited The Rock a couple of times. The first was just for drinks which were nice and we enjoyed it. The cocktails were nice and the wine was good.

The funky seaside decor was cool and the atmosphere is sort of bar come diner!

The staff are friendly and attentive without being over-bearing.

The second time we made the mistake of ordering a burger - it was the worst burger I have ever had! The bun was ginormous and impossible to bite into even if it wasn´t stale - which it was. The meat overcooked and the lettuce limp and gooey. The six fries I got were undercooked!

This place is fine for drinks but dn´t eat here!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Beau2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

608 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    211
    208
    130
    37
    22
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Scottsdale, Arizona
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Best caipirihnias in Puerto Ayora”
Reviewed June 23, 2013

The Rock became our per-dinner stop for absolutely best caipirihnias in town....hands down. It wasn't just the value but their bartenders did an outstanding job and provided polite and prompt service.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jason K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario
Level 5 Contributor
47 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Great Cappuccino”
Reviewed June 21, 2013

Loved the Rock. It is a little more expensive than some of the other restaurants but the internet was reliable and the cappuccino was pretty darned great. It is centrally located from the pier and was a great place to burn time while we waited for our laundry! Staff was always smiling and friendly

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank papajohns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westfield, Indiana
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great food and service!”
Reviewed June 12, 2013

We ate here for lunch a couple of times and really enjoyed the atmosphere and service. They even remembered us the second time we stopped in and asked how we were enjoying our time in the Galapagos. Food was great and they also make some great drinks!

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank 253JamesB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level 6 Contributor
69 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“"más o menos"”
Reviewed June 12, 2013

If you're into a loud, bar-scene type restaurant, this is the place for you. They have an interesting menu, and cocktail section - I had a 'coco-loco' (chocolate, coconut, banana, Bailey's ($8) and this was definitely worth it. The food was so-so, I feel it's a little overpriced for Galapagos - we've had better quality food, service at three other restaurants further along Ave Charles Darwin. The 'catch' is their location, on a corner, close to the main square and 'molle' where the cruise ships disembark.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Jolanie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Rock also viewed

Puerto Ayora, Santa Cruz
Puerto Ayora, Santa Cruz
 
Puerto Ayora, Santa Cruz
Puerto Ayora, Santa Cruz
 
Puerto Ayora, Santa Cruz
Puerto Ayora, Santa Cruz
 

Been to The Rock? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing