We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice ambience, by the water.”

Almar Seafood & Grill
Ranked #4 of 89 Restaurants in Puerto Ayora
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $15 - $32
Description: Ocean view restaurant, sustainability is an important aspect of managing any business, especially in the Galapagos Islands. Over 80% of All Products are acquired on Santa Cruz, the same island where both Red Mangrove and Almar . These local products include octopus, codfish, tuna, vegetables, fruits, chicken, coffee and more.
Restaurant details
Description: Ocean view restaurant, sustainability is an important aspect of managing any business, especially in the Galapagos Islands. Over 80% of All Products are acquired on Santa Cruz, the same island where both Red Mangrove and Almar . These local products include octopus, codfish, tuna, vegetables, fruits, chicken, coffee and more.
Reviewed September 28, 2019 via mobile

This is a fantastic restaurant attached to a boutique ecohotel. There are sea lions lounging on the dock nearby. Food was delicious and reasonably priced. All members of our party of nine liked their food. This restaurant deserves its TripAdvisor rank.

Date of visit: September 2019
1  Thank Anowlan
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviews (407)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

99 - 103 of 407 reviews

Reviewed September 23, 2019 via mobile

A great place for fresh seafood, we shared a grilled lobster (the best I ever had), and my friend got a delicious vegeterian quinoa risotto! The chef came out and explained what we were having, all the staff were very accomodating. A great evening by the sea!

Date of visit: September 2019
Thank helenek306
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed September 23, 2019

We had a great dinner together with friends right at the waterfront. The food was super fresh and delicious, the service very attentive and nice, and you can hear the sea lions chat right on the deck next to the restaurant. Lovely experience, to recommend!

Date of visit: September 2019
Thank mira06a
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed September 23, 2019

Lovely setting along the water, contemporary furnishings. The fish was very nice and portion sizes were large.

The disconnect was the service. Not friendly, not attentive, awkward. Not asking ladies for their choice first, delivering the meals over one another while it was easy to walk around and deliver in a proper manner, could barely open the wine bottle. Nothing terrible just unusual.

The restaurant was one of the more expensive in town. My recommendation, you will have more fun at the pop up dining in the street with delicious food and lively atmosphere. Save yourself some money. It was a disappointment.

Date of visit: September 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Kathy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed September 15, 2019

This was the best meal/service/view during our visit!

We ordered the Hamburger (veggie) & grilled chicken with rice.

Everything was prepared/cooked to perfection and simply delicious. We sat out by the patio overlooking the water (can't beat the view). Service was top notch.

It was a great place to celebrate my birthday!

Almar did not disappoint. They even brought small blankets to diners who were sitting on the patio at night.

Great experience and highly recommend!

Date of visit: September 2019
Thank CarenBecht
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Travelers who viewed Almar Seafood & Grill also viewed

Puerto Ayora, Santa Cruz
Puerto Ayora, Santa Cruz
 

Been to Almar Seafood & Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2024 Tripadvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in the United States. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.