We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exceeded all Expectations...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Semilla Verde Boutique Hotel
Ranked #1 of 20 Hotels in Puerto Ayora
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Colorado Springs, Colorado
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Exceeded all Expectations...”
Reviewed July 11, 2013

Imagine waking up to a view overlooking a lush canopy of Scalesia trees with the ocean as a backdrop, smelling the brew of coffee that is grown on site, and sitting down to a hospitably served breakfast each morning. Our trip to the Galapagos and our stay at Semilla Verde were once in a lifetime experiences. We were celebrating our 26th wedding anniversary and my husband’s 50th birthday. My husband had read the reviews of Semilla Verde and had carefully chosen the perfect setting for our special celebrations. Robert (owner of Semilla Verde) made certain that our 7days were expertly booked to provide just the right mix of adventure (snorkeling with sea lions, frolicking in Tortuga Bay, wildlife spotting, and walking tours with knowledgeable guides) relaxation (blissful boat rides), and excellent Ecuadorian meals (thank you Evelyn and Daysi). After full days one was able to retire to the peaceful, romantic setting at Semilla Verde to reflect on the excitement of the day, or to stay in town for a time to soak up the local culture. Our stay at Semilla Verde exceeded our expectations and made the memories of our celebrations unforgettable. (thank you Robert and crew)

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jan A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

419 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    392
    27
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
97
165
32
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (118)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Paris, France
Level Contributor
24 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed July 10, 2013

Your host at this lodge is Robert. He is a pleasant guy and a veritable walking tour guide for his island home of Santa Cruz. I had many questions about this mysterious island that managed to elude detail and description of its activities and attractions, even from within Ecuador. Robert quite patiently answered all of my 250 emails that I sent him with a least as many questions about it (JOKE...I am joking!)

Robert organized my arrival and a typical local lunch was provided to me once there. He accommodated my vegetarian diet preference AND a severe food allergy as well (It is indeed a daunting task to cook for me and many dare not). The meal was delicious and served to me by his charming staff- two endearing local women who always smiled at me no matter how badly I mangled and destroyed their beloved Spanish language.

Rooms were well appointed and I had probably the largest wooden room closet in a lodge that I had ever seen before..wow..at least 6 other people could have used that closet with me and I would not even have noticed them! My bed was large and comfy and I had a beautiful hammock from which I watched the stars at night and listened to the sounds of the highland forest in the day. The ensuite bathroom was expansive and was thoughtfully equipped with the needs of the travelling unwashed. The room provided many conveniences that I did not even use like a hair dryer, tv, safe, etc....SOAP teehee.

Although I travelled alone this past trip, this lodging concept is very well suited to groups and in particular, yoga groups as it boasts a separate yoga studio on the grounds. Within the lodge there are many common areas to convene with your group and/or friends. There is a kitchen available as well which I appreciated very much.

Semilla Verde is situated a little outside the port however it is but a quick 15 minute cab ride away and Robert was kind enough to reimburse my daily trips in and out of the town. The commute afforded me the privilege to chat with probably all the island's cab drivers and gave me a unique opportunity to spread my bad Spanish over a wider region.

Would I return? DEF! AND I have been taking intensive Spanish classes since I returned home so watch out when I do return because I have added more vocabulary with which to torture native speakers!

Thanks again, Robert! (or was it Fred...JOKING) See you again within the year!

Superfood Chef Michelle

Readers: Thanks for reading my review and if it helped at all please hit that button below and give Trip Advisor feedback for this.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank thesuperfoodchef
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
101 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
Reviewed July 7, 2013

Situated on Santa Cruz in the highlands in a lush coffee plantation . Simple but lovely rooms, clean. Plenty of hot water. Lots of communal space to use. Rob organised a really good itinerary for us which was excellent. We had a few really excellent meals at the house which i would heartily recommend. Breakfasts were lovely though a bit of variation might have been nice as we stayed for 8 nights. Lots of lovely walks around the plantation and birds and tortoises. One free there and back taxi to the local main town included which was great. Lovely staff. we would certainly recommend a stay here and I would go back.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank simonsmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 5, 2013

Our 3 nights in Semilla Verde were really enjoyable. Being first-timer of Galapagos and not exactly planning much to do, we spent a lot of time in the property. The rooms are nicely decorated and very clean. Evelyn did a fantastic job to prepare us delicious breakfast and lunch. My wife was not well and she had to spend most of the time in the room and there was always care and concern showed by the owner and helper to make her feel better.
When my wife and daughter had to see a Doctor, Robert and Daysi made sure that we visit the Doctor that theytrusted and gave instruction to the taxi driver to accompany us to the pharmacy after the visit.
Our children had such great fun playing with Robert 's children, its just a coincidence that they are about the same age. The compound is safe and we have no worry about letting the kids play on their own.
With Robert, there is nothing too difficult to make your stay as comfortable as possible. I know Semilla Verde will definitely be my choice if I ever visit Santa Cruz again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lawrence K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed July 5, 2013

Five of us stayed at Robert's hotel for little under a week and it could not have been better. The hotel came highly recommended by a friend and we are so glad that we decided on this place instead of the random hotels in town. The spacious and clean rooms, view of the ocean, quiet plantation with tortoises, great food and the awesome home grown coffee make this place great. There are plenty of open space where we hung out until late at night as well. Going to stay here again next time when I go back to Galapagos. Also Robert is probably the best tour guide that we had during the whole time here.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank xmingf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
46 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2013

My wife and I just stayed for a week and all the other reviews are correct. This is a great place to stay and it's out in the country away from all the noise. A few highlights:

ROOMS: All the rooms are very clean and well-kept, as well as being big enough for two people to spread their stuff out as needed. Plus, they all have decks with a different view; you'll never get tired of the views.

GROUNDS: The Lodge is located on a very sizeable property with trails through the coffee plants. Very beautiful!

FOOD: Delicious! As was the coffee.

HOST: Robert does a fantastic job as host AND guide; he'll go out of his way to make sure you're having a good time and have everything you need.

WIRELESS INTERNET: Free!

I'd definitely go back.

Room Tip: It all depends on what you like. They have it all.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rpb_28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Carolina
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2013

Beautiful setting, great food, wonderful arrangements and tours with Robert. Fun yoga with the group, very relaxing. The tours were all wonderful and we saw so much wonderful wildlife. It was
like staying at a friend's house as Robert and Daysi were so friendly and accommodating. The food was delicious with different menus everyday.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sunbeachbum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Puerto Ayora hotels
6.4 mi away
Finch Bay Galapagos Hotel
Finch Bay Galapagos Hotel
#2 of 20 in Puerto Ayora
839 reviews
6.2 mi away
Angermeyer Waterfront Inn
Angermeyer Waterfront Inn
#3 of 20 in Puerto Ayora
343 reviews
5.9 mi away
Red Mangrove
Red Mangrove
#8 of 20 in Puerto Ayora
651 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.7 mi away
Hotel Fiesta
Hotel Fiesta
#5 of 20 in Puerto Ayora
303 reviews
5.8 mi away
Hotel Cucuve Suites
Hotel Cucuve Suites
#4 of 20 in Puerto Ayora
46 reviews
4.3 mi away
Casa Natura Galapagos Lodge
Casa Natura Galapagos Lodge
#14 of 20 in Puerto Ayora
34 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Semilla Verde Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Semilla Verde Boutique Hotel

Property: Semilla Verde Boutique Hotel
Address: Km 12, via a Baltra | Isla Santa Cruz, Puerto Ayora 200350, Ecuador (Formerly Semilla Verde Galapagos Lodge)
Phone Number:
Location: Ecuador > Galapagos Islands > Santa Cruz > Puerto Ayora
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Puerto Ayora
#2 Best Value Hotel in Puerto Ayora
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Semilla Verde Boutique Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"Semilla Verde is an exceptional hotel with the customs and personality of a traditional guesthouse." We believe your experience in the Galapagos Islands should be as unique and natural as you are. So, here at Semilla Verde we offer you the chance to stay somewhere far removed from your busy life and the standard hotel offering you may be used to. We invite you to step into another world, the original Galapagos, the true and enchanting islands. And, to experience the wonders of a rural forest dwelling and life alongside the unique wildlife you came so far to see. Your stay will be based in an original and idyllic rural retreat where peace, privacy and Galapagos wildlife abounds. You will enjoy one-to-one personal service, traditional home cooking, panoramic views from private terraces and exclusive access to nature trails through twelve acres of private forest where giant tortoises lumber freely and native birds thrive. At night, gaze up into the unspoilt majesty of the milky way. Nine comfortable en-suite bedrooms with AC, WiFi and DVD just 15 minutes taxi ride from Puerto Ayora town, costing just $7 e/w. All in all, an authentic and genuinely friendly and authentic land-base for your Galapagos adventure and an all encompassing alternative or add-on to a traditional cruise ship experience. Semilla Verde works with a local tour agency to offer complete hotel & tour package options too. You will visit outlying islands and local sites with qualified naturalist guides and experience first hand the beauty of Galapagos and it's unique flora and fauna - from giant tortoises and lava lizards to marine iguanas and playful sea lions, from volcanic landscapes to cloud forest. Return to the hotel at the end of an incomparable day and share your travel stories around the main dining table with other guests, whilst enjoying dinner freshly prepared in our kitchen. Indeed we don't work from a fixed menu rather we generally prepare one recipe for the group, but each guest receives a serving according to their individual preferences. The location is secluded but convenient and very safe. There is not another residence within hundreds of meters of this oasis. Semilla Verde remains true to the philosophy on which it originally built for good friends and family, ensuring a level of intimacy, small number of employees offering very personal service and home cooking your will only find in a traditional guesthouse. Semilla Verde comprises two hotel builidings some 100ft apart - the Semilla Verde Lodge (Rooms 1-6) and the Finch Wing (Rooms 7-9). They can work in unison or as separate entities for separate parties. betwen the two there is a fully equipped yoga studio where you can enjoy individual or group practice. Galapagos is famous for it's volcanic landscapes and unique wildlife, but it can also be somewhere for you to rediscover your true and unique nature, somewhere you can feel yourself again. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Semilla Verde Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Semilla Verde Galapagos Hotel Puerto Ayora
Semilla Verde Boutique Hotel Galapagos Islands/Puerto Ayora, Santa Cruz

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing