We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Semilla Verde Boutique Hotel
Nearby Hotels
Hotel Cucuve Suites(Puerto Ayora)
$180
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Pelican Bay(Puerto Ayora)
$100
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Hotel Fiesta(Puerto Ayora)
$112
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Silberstein(Puerto Ayora)
$239
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Villa Laguna(Puerto Ayora)
$122
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$350
$340
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Breakfast included
  • Restaurant
$274
Hotwire.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Solymar(Puerto Ayora)
$192
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Ninfa(Puerto Ayora)
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (482)
Filter reviews
482 results
Traveler rating
454
27
1
0
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
454
27
1
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsyoga retreatgiant tortoisescoffee plantationyoga roomrobert grimstonein towngalapagos islandssanta cruzcoffee grownguest housea minute cab ridethe ownercloud forestcoffee beanstheir natural habitatbanana treesother guests
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
316 - 321 of 482 reviews
Reviewed November 3, 2011

My wife and I stayed at Semilla Verde in June of 2011. There isn't much to add that hasn't already been said in the many glowing reviews that precede this one. The property is beautiful and tranquil, and it compliments its natural surroundings in the highlands. While the location is rural, getting to and from the bars, restaurants and shops of Puerto Ayora was simple enough. We stayed in Room 1, which was comfortable, clean, had stunning views, and we very much appreciated the modern amenities (e.g., hot water, Wi-Fi). Robert, a naturalist and conservationist, is a terrific host whose knowledge and passion for the Galapagos are infectious. We greatly enjoyed and recommend his personal guided tours of various sites around Santa Cruz Island. We also enjoyed and recommend Daysi's delicious meals (in addition to breakfast), which featured local and traditional ingredients. Overall, we had a wonderful stay and it's no surprise that Semilla Verde is a top pick.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DC_Excursionist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2011

My wife and I were fortunate enough to spend four nights at Semilla Verde.

Literally from the moment we picked up our luggage at the airport, we were completely taken care of.

There are likely no other native English speakers, who own and run a bed and breakfast in the Galapagos other than Robert. My Spanish is abysmal. His is fluent, and it must be said that he helped out of a few jams that we had bungled our way into (eg: leaving rented snorkel equipment in the back of a cab.)

When we arrived at Semilla Verde, we were greeted by Robert and his staff. Immediately, we were shown around the grounds, given delicious fresh squeezed juice and were made to feel right at home. Since it was early enough in the afternoon, we were also given lunch. This was the first of two amazing meals that we had at Semilla Verde. My wife is generally vegan, and the staff at Semilla Verde went to great lengths to ensure that we had soy milk and other dietary supplements.

Later that day, Robert took us out to show us Los Gemelos in Santa Cruz. As a former naturalist guide. Robert is extremely knowledgable about the plants and animals on the island.

That evening he also took us into town and gave us recommendations on everything from where to get our snorkel equipment to where to eat. His recommendations were always spot on. He certainly has local knowledge.

We asked Robert to help in organizing all of our day trips with local boats and tour companies in the area. He did a wonderful job planning, and we went out on alot of great cruises.

Semilla Verde itself is a wonderful facility situated on sprawling acreage outside of Porto Ayora.

There are three guest rooms on the property in total. We had the run of the home while we were there, and there are even two live giant tortoises that call the backyard home. We were also given really excellent breakfasts every morning including fresh coffee grown right at Semilla Verde.

We really had a wonderful time and cannot recommend the place strongly enough.

  • Stayed: October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jtron3000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2011

We were extremely happy with our stay at Semilla Verde. As a family of 2 adults and 2 children (7 & 3) we were glad not to be in the center of town and in the hinterland away from the busy Puerto Ayora. The house has a beautiful view of the coast, both rooms upstairs and down, we stayed on the same level as our children so they could run between our rooms.

Our hosts Robert and Daysi were very hospitable and welcoming, their 3 year old daughter was delightful and the perfect playmate for our daughter. The property is great for exploring and the resident tortoises were a great nature-fix. The dogs and cat were also a great entertainment for our children and they were very child-friendly. Catching a taxi into town was easy and the cost was graciously covered by our hosts. Robert is a wealth of knowledge for the island and is very forthcoming with advice and information about the island, and can even do a private guided tour.

The staff were all very polite and friendly, communication was a little difficult for me as I didn't speak Spanish, but smiles and sign language seemed to be enough mostly.

I thoroughly recommend Semilla Verde as relaxing place to stay, it's homely vibe is definitely a plus for families or honeymooners looking for a natural retreat.

Room Tip: Upstairs room has beautiful views and a private hammock on the balcony.
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michelle L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2011

My wife and I stayed at Semilla Verde for 7 nights and had a fantastic experience. It is no mistake that this place is ranked as the top B&B in the Galapagos. The best part is that Robert wants to keep improving the guest experience and continually seeks guest feedback on how to make their stay even better, before, during, and after their stay. This attitude and desire to take an already top ranked B&B to an even higher level means guests will no doubt enjoy their stay at Semilla Verde and it will likely remain ranked #1 for the foreseeable future.

We arrived at Semilla Verde after a spending a few days on Isabella (less populated Galapagos Island and thus less food and restaurant choices) and eating virtually the same food at every meal, we were hoping to find more variety on Santa Cruz. We were tired of having white rice and french fries as the only side dishes on the menu and we stay away from artificial and/or over processed food (like white rice), so our dietary wishes are a bit more strict than most people. Robert was happy to oblige our request for some different breakfast items than they normally stock and we were allowed to show Evelyn and Gladis (the friendly housekeeping staff) how to make french toast and pancakes using oatmeal vs. the normal box mix. They were more than willing to adapt the regular menu to meet our requests, which made us very happy. We had dinner at Semilla Verde one night and Robert/Daysi had no problem using one of the grains we suggested and in fact, Robert mentioned that Semilla Verde is happy to cater to guests wishes in order to for them to enjoy the experience more (this is why they will stay #1).

Semilla Verde is situated in the highlands, which allows for a very peaceful and relaxed environment. You won't see all the people from the cruise ships at port roaming the streets or hear the noise from all the activity surrounding the touristy souvenir shops...things my wife and I really appreciated. The property itself is very nice, clean and the rooms are comfortable. They have a good selection of books and movies to enteratain guests as well. We only had one clear night to fully appreciate the night sky (might have had something to do with the season we visited), but it was an amazing view. The walkway around the grounds provided some great proximity of truly wild tortoises in their natural habitat. One thing not mentioned on Semilla Verde's website is that they have an exercise room that guests can use. Don't expect a full gym, but there is a universal machine, elliptical, and bar with a couple plates.

On our way home, we discovered that we left our house keys somewhere in the Galapagos. After a quick email from the plane to Robert, he reponded immediately with confirmation that they were still in the safe at Semilla Verde. Once we got back to the US, Robert emailed me and proposed the idea that another guest there from the US, that we had met, could bring our house keys back and mail them to me once they got home. I agreed and so did they, which made our life a lot easier (thanks a ton Bob and Elaine if you are reading this - someone tossed the envelope with your address before I had a chance to write a real thank you note). Robert offered to pay the shipping even though it was clearly my fault that I forgot what I put in the safe. In an effort to avoid this sitaution for other forgetful travelers, I suggested to Robert that he put in dividers or bags for each room in the safe so when people leave, everything is cleared out whether they remember what they put in there or not. His response was somewhere along the lines of...good idea, we've already implemented it.

If any of our friends or family make it to the Galapagos, we will definitely recommend that they stay at Semilla Verde.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank robert s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2011

Our 7-day stay at Semilla Verde was wonderfully restful after coming off a strenuous trek in Peru. We heartily agree with all the positive reviews. Robert bends over backwards to see that everything you desire is taken care of (including a sunset our final evening!), and Daysi's dinner was the best meal that we had during our time in Ecuador. Robert arranged day trips for us. We thoroughly enjoyed seeing the animals and birds on South Plazas and North Seymour islands and, in particular, the Highlands tour including the giant tortoise reserve. However, we were equally delighted to discover the arrival of two new giant tortoises on the Semilla Verde property. We nicknamed them Roberto and Elena--even though we have no idea of their gender--and we're sure that males do not have to be named Robert to stay at SV (even though they all were). If you enjoy tranquility and nature, you'll love your stay at Semilla Verde.

Elaine & Bob Phillips
Georgetown, TX

Room Tip: Room #1 is beautiful and the largest by far. It has the very best views.
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank elainephill47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews