We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fabulous Location and 1st class service” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Angermeyer Waterfront Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Angermeyer Waterfront Inn
Ranked #3 of 20 Hotels in Puerto Ayora
Certificate of Excellence
Weybridge
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Fabulous Location and 1st class service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 25, 2014

We were at the Angermeyer for 3 nights during our Galapagos trip. First night was when we dropped off the Galapagos Sky and stayed in the Geko room very wide but no view, just to move to Isabela the day after. We left one of our heavy bags with the diving gear to be picked up in part two of our stay. In the second part we were there for 2 nights and stayed in the Pelican smaller room with incredible view of the Santa Cruz harbour. The food is great and good value for money and so are the drinks especially at happy hour. Angermeyer is very close to the more expensive Finch Bay but the location is better and you can get the same drinks for $10 less. We had dinner twice as the mainstream set up of Santa Cruz did not appeal to us especially after being in Isabela. We also had a trip to Santa Fe arranged that I would definitely recommend as we spent half hour with baby sea lions in the water. I booked the hotel with Expedia first but then contacted the front desk directly for trips, transfers etc and the service was fabulous. On our last day we booked last second the transfer service to Baltra. Though this was double the cost of just getting on yourself we had a driver taking us until check in. What's more wife had forgot her kindle in the room the driver got a prompt phone call and the kindle was delivered mid way by scooter. The rooms are impeccable and the mosquito net (essential in Santa Cruz) are super tight unlike some other outfits we have seen. If you don't want to be in the crowds and enjoy an impeccable location with 1st class service in the best location look no further

Room Tip: Rooms on higher floor with harbour view are smaller but view is great
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Interceptor121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

331 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    229
    78
    17
    4
    3
See reviews for
89
155
16
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (82)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Holland, Michigan, United States
Level Contributor
31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 13, 2014

Stepping from the panga boat to the dock after a long trip from the US to the Galapagos,the Angermeyer was a haven of peace, calm and beauty. We were welcomed to this pristine paradise by polite staff and a cool drink. The Angermeyer Waterfront is immaculate, a beautiful whitewashed collection of cottages. The rooms are spacious, the beds very comfortable and everything is clean, neat and cozy. The staff kept offering to upgrade us to a better room after our first night but we were perfectly happy with our cottage on the lower level of the resort, though those on the higher levels offered incredible views. We were content to eat breakfast and dinner on the deck overlooking the bay(food is fresh and delicious), and watching the wildlife from our chairs. (We spotted golden rays right from the dock). Just a 3 min boat ride from the town of Puerta Ayora, it's a cinch to explore the town. A great beach secluded in a calm cove is a 5 min walk down the path adjacent to the hotel. This is a perfect place to base yourself for exploring the Galapagos.

Room Tip: Rooms on the hill have gorgeous views and ocean breezes.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michele L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
102 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 10, 2014

Angermeyer was our base for our Galapagos exploration, and was fairly conveniently located to the main area of Puerto Ayora. It is set across the water, reachable by a couple-minute water taxi ride, and the water taxis run all day and night. The staff were friendly and very accommodating. They were kind enough to loan us some aloe vera when we returned from our first snorkeling day with sunburns on our backs. They told us we could hang onto the bottle of aloe until we checked out a couple of days later.

Besides this, the restaurant was very convenient, with a lovely waterfront setting, including views of rays, a sea lion, and a sea turtle. The food was pretty good at the restaurant also. Over two nights, we each tried the seafood ceviche once, and had a seafood pizza and a sautéed calamari dish besides. The ceviche was definitely the tastiest meal we had on Galapagos. Breakfast in the morning had a nice buffet spread, along with eggs to order.

The rooms were a bit on the small side by American standards, but comfortable. We were kind of disturbed to be reminded that the water was not only non-potable, but that we should remember to keep our mouths closed while showering. I know this is standard across all the hotels and residences in Galapagos, but still a jarring reminder.

The rooms were generally very clean, although there was a small army of ants that seemed to be fans of our daily flowers; we solved this problem by putting the flowers out on the balcony table each day when we returned. On our second night in the hotel, we were greeted by three lizards crawling on the wall, which we also escorted to the balcony.

Overall, comfortable and well above average for Galapagos.

Recommended.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mctang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DETROIT, MI
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 25, 2014

I think this is the most special place on the island. The views from the restaurant are breathtaking with boats in the harbor, the drinks and food are good as well. We would love to come back again, and this time we did and were not disappointed!

Room Tip: We stayed in the Southern Cross both times, the best room in my opinion!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LuxeTraveler26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kailua-Kona, Hawaii
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 24, 2014

I recently spent time in the Galapagos Islands doing a land-based tour. My friend and I stayed two nights here. It is reached by water taxi from the dock at Puerto Ayora, and has a lovely restaurant and sitting area on the water (FYI, no beach). The staff is friendly and helpful, the rooms super clean and comfy, and the food was delicious. If you don't want to be bound to a boat while in the Galapagos, this is a very pleasant alternative. We needed a room with two beds and when there was a mix-up, our tour operator and the hotel gave us another room at no additional charge and without argument. The old "cave" style architecture of the main house is fun to see. We loved coming back here after long days of touring and wildlife watching.

Room Tip: I loved my "Penguin" room with its own lanai.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LKRider
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Level Contributor
46 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 21, 2014

This hotel is comfortable not luxurious but in a nice location on the harbor. The best part is the pretty restaurant on the water with the bar. It has a yacht club feel. The rooms are clean and fine but not amazing. Water pressure was substandard, etc. I would say that the Finch Bay Hotel is the nicest on the island if you want more luxury. All the hotels are overpriced in the Galapagos so I feel like you need to take the price with a grain of salt because it does not mean you are getting a great room. But the location of this is nice and a pretty view of the boats. It would be nice to have a swimming pool but you have to go elsewhere for that.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Travellingsuz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 15, 2014

We stayed here for 5 nights are are leaving today! We could not have asked for a better place to stay -- the food was great and the staff was very friendly. We stayed in the "boobie" room and had our own private balcony. The restaurant is right on the waterfront with a fabulous view of the harbor. There is a beach within a short (5 min) walk. You have to take a water taxi into the town but that only takes a couple of minutes. They organized 3 excursions for us -- one to Bartelome on a boat called "Altimar" ; one inland excursion; and another boat excursion to South Plaza. Wonderful experience! Highly recommend the Angermeyer for your Galapagos Island trip!

Room Tip: The Boobie room is the only one with private balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Wendy235805
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Puerto Ayora hotels
0.2 mi away
Finch Bay Eco Hotel
Finch Bay Eco Hotel
#2 of 20 in Puerto Ayora
4.5 of 5 bubbles 807 reviews
6.3 mi away
Semilla Verde Boutique Hotel
Semilla Verde Boutique Hotel
#1 of 20 in Puerto Ayora
5.0 of 5 bubbles 393 reviews
0.5 mi away
Red Mangrove Aventura Lodge
Red Mangrove Aventura Lodge
#7 of 20 in Puerto Ayora
4.5 of 5 bubbles 644 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hotel Fiesta
Hotel Fiesta
#5 of 20 in Puerto Ayora
4.0 of 5 bubbles 290 reviews
8.2 mi away
Casa Natura Galapagos Lodge
Casa Natura Galapagos Lodge
#12 of 20 in Puerto Ayora
4.5 of 5 bubbles 33 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Solymar
Hotel Solymar
#4 of 20 in Puerto Ayora
4.0 of 5 bubbles 410 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Angermeyer Waterfront Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Angermeyer Waterfront Inn

Property: Angermeyer Waterfront Inn
Address: Barrio Punta Estrada, Puerto Ayora 200350, Ecuador
Phone Number:
Location: Ecuador > Galapagos Islands > Santa Cruz > Puerto Ayora
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 20 Hotels in Puerto Ayora
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Angermeyer Waterfront Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
When visiting the Galapagos islands, you will want to experience the special “Galapagos spirit” – and there is no better place to do that than here in our exclusive waterfront location. Using materials such as lava rocks and drift wood, we have created a unique atmosphere and the feeling of being close to nature. We are situated right on the waterfront in the area known as “Punta Estrada”, where we offer beautiful and relaxed surroundings for your dream holiday – on a piece of Galapagos history. Placed across the bay from Puerto Ayora, the hotel’s location ensures total privacy and undisturbed quiet. If you want to go to town, water taxis will take you to and from our private pier, 24 hours a day. Enjoy the sun on the terrace, a drink in our cozy cafe, have lunch or dinner on the waterfront deck, experience a beautiful Galapagos sunset and feel the enchantment of these unique islands together with family and friends. Our main aim is to make your stay one that you will always remember. We look forward to welcoming you at the ANGERMEYER WATERFRONT INN. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Angermeyer Waterfront Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Angermeyer Waterfront Hotel Puerto Ayora
Angermeyer Waterfront Inn Galapagos Islands/Puerto Ayora, Santa Cruz

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing