We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Hotel, amazing location, excellent hotel management & staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Angermeyer Waterfront Inn
Ranked #3 of 21 Hotels in Puerto Ayora
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 24, 2013

Ideal location for staying in Santa Cruz. Hotel is no more than 2 minutes on water taxi, away from main street and traffic. Water Taxi is available around the clock. Hotel is on 2 minutes walk from the beach. Rooms are very spacious, cleaned, really nice, and very tastefully decorated. House keeping is very efficient, twice a day. Hotel management and staff is incredibly pleasant. We showed up at the hotel without reservation. Elsie, herself, greeted us at the front and made our stay really pleasant. View from the hotel and restaurant on the waterfront is beautiful as you can see the marine life, mountains, main street, nearby islands, and yachts coming to the harbor. Dinning at the restaurant was amazing. Elsie made special arrangements for our 1st wedding anniversary. I would recommend this hotel to anyone who is traveling to Santa Cruz.

Room Tip: Choose Pelican room or Mezaluna. The best view to the waterfront, sunrise and sunset.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank IqbalA2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Teppy A, Manager at Angermeyer Waterfront Inn, responded to this reviewResponded August 27, 2013

We are happy that you enjoyed your stay with us and took the time to review us on Trip Advisor. It was a pleasure having you here.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (356)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

169 - 175 of 356 reviews

Reviewed August 18, 2013

Rooms are very clean and spacious. We had slightly problems with getting ample hot water for showers. Restaurant is meticulous with their food quality and presentation. Location on the water allows you to view the people, animals and easily launch your kayak to explore

Room Tip: Ask for rooms with a view of the water
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nannee2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2013

The location is incredible and you must take a "water taxi". You are within 1 hour of Las Grietas and there is a nice little beach just 5mn away, there is also another cove, about halfway right before the salt marshes (seal and turtles). Tens of Iguanas everywhere, birds, seals swimming right under the dining area. We had a small bungalow at the foot of the impressive "Gaudiesque" 3 or 4 story main building, nothing fancy but a working bathroom and A/C. They have a pitcher with fresh water and you go to the bar to get refills. We enjoyed the well kept gardens, the nice breakfasts and the delicious meals, I recommend whatever is the Special for the day. The Galapagos are not cheap, this hotel is a bit expensive but you get a great location, no noise or dust (or worse). Teppie, the owner was very welcoming and the staff was extremely pleasant. This is not the Ritz-Carlton by any means but it's quite pleasant if you can appreciate simplicity and nature.

Room Tip: I think you should go for the 4 story building, these are the more expensive rooms...and it appears...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Frederic W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2013

We stayed only 1 night during a 2 day visit to Santa Cruz but thoroughly savored the experience and would wholeheartedly recommend the Angermeyer to anyone visiting the island. We were greeted by Elsie, the owner who had a waterfront table waiting for us with cool tropical juices. She explained the amenities, restaurant, water taxi information and was available to answer any questions. The hotel is literally right on the water with the most amazing views and sunset. The dinner meal we had there on the water at sunset was something out of a movie, sea turtle coming by to wish us buenos tardes, one of the most delicious meals, incredible views, topnotch service, 3 singing waiters and a sparkling candle in a piece of amazing carrot cake for my birthday, and relaxing ambience. Rooms were immaculate, quiet and spacious. Front desk was very helpful and friendly. Breakfast buffet was abundant and yummy. Private beach with lovely views.

Room Tip: We had side rooms which did not overlook the water but a few steps around the corner from the rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Karen1234567890
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
elou3192, Manager at Angermeyer Waterfront Inn, responded to this reviewResponded August 3, 2013

Thank you for your Trip Advisor review. We are happy that you enjoyed your stay with us and wish you safe and happy travels wherever you may go.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2013

As a part of a Smithsonian Galapagos tour, we stayed at this lovely small hotel on the island of Santa Cruz. Our room (Flamingo) was bright, open and airy and larger than most hotel rooms. The staff was friendly, accommodating, and very professional. This little inn has a very clean, crisp look and is beautifully maintained. Our two-night stay was all too short and I would certainly recommend this lovely inn to anyone visiting Santa Cruz.

Room Tip: We loved the view from Flamingo. Being on a corner, there are windows on three sides of the room, wh...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jane F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2013

Excelent Hotel, not many rooms, well care on every detail! Excelent location, right in front of Puerto Ayora Bay. Great view at day and at night. At night you can keep entertained viewing marine life right in front of the restaurant. There is a need to take a water taxi to get to the Hotel (no ground pathways), which we thought would be a problem at first but it was not - water taxis run every few minutes, 24 hours a day, at US$ 1 per person/trip, and it takes about 2 minutes. The staff is very attencious and ready to help you on your needs. I would definitelly recommend it!

Room Tip: At reservation ask for a room with a view to the bay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Zemah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2013

Wonderful hotel and staff. The room was gorgeous and the views incredible. You had access to the main island by boat, a beautiful beach area, and paths to hike and see different animals. Restaurant was very good and there was another excellent restaurant close by.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JohnPhyliss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Puerto Ayora hotels
0.5 mi away
Red Mangrove Ecoluxury Hotel
Red Mangrove Ecoluxury Hotel
#8 of 21 in Puerto Ayora
673 reviews
6.2 mi away
Semilla Verde Boutique Hotel
Semilla Verde Boutique Hotel
#1 of 21 in Puerto Ayora
446 reviews
0.2 mi away
Finch Bay Galapagos Hotel
Finch Bay Galapagos Hotel
#2 of 21 in Puerto Ayora
892 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel Cucuve Suites
Hotel Cucuve Suites
#4 of 21 in Puerto Ayora
70 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Fiesta
Hotel Fiesta
#7 of 21 in Puerto Ayora
321 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Solymar
Hotel Solymar
#5 of 21 in Puerto Ayora
433 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Angermeyer Waterfront Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Angermeyer Waterfront Inn

Address: | Barrio Punta Estrada, Puerto Ayora 200350, Ecuador
Phone Number:
Location: Ecuador > Galapagos Islands > Santa Cruz > Puerto Ayora
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 21 Hotels in Puerto Ayora
Price Range: $286 - $451 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Angermeyer Waterfront Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
When visiting the Galapagos islands, you will want to experience the special “Galapagos spirit” – and there is no better place to do that than here in our exclusive waterfront location. Using materials such as lava rocks and drift wood, we have created a unique atmosphere and the feeling of being close to nature. We are situated right on the waterfront in the area known as “Punta Estrada”, where we offer beautiful and relaxed surroundings for your dream holiday – on a piece of Galapagos history. If you want to go to town, water taxis will take you to and from our private pier, 24 hours a day. Enjoy the sun on the terrace, a drink in our cozy cafe, have lunch or dinner on the waterfront deck, experience a beautiful Galapagos sunset and feel the enchantment of these unique islands together with family and friends. Our main aim is to make your stay one that you will always remember. We look forward to welcoming you at the ANGERMEYER WATERFRONT INN. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, getaroom.com, Agoda and Cancelon so you can book your Angermeyer Waterfront Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Angermeyer Waterfront Hotel Puerto Ayora
Angermeyer Waterfront Inn Galapagos Islands/Puerto Ayora, Santa Cruz

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing