We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fairly nice stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Grand Hotel Lobo de Mar
Ranked #14 of 20 Hotels in Puerto Ayora
London
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fairly nice stay”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2011

We stayed four days in Galapagos islands. The Island itself is great, wow, amazing.

The hotel is located near the sea, which is great. you can go on the rocky beach and see a lots of craps and marine iguanas.

Cleanliness in the hotel is OK and the service is fine. We had a package deal with breakfast and dinners, but meals didn't have the value nor the taste... So after first day we went out for supper.

Room Tip: Ask a room with a sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hemmo K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

154 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    28
    42
    58
    11
    15
See reviews for
28
42
20
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2011

Very good location, terrible rooms, bad food, if you can spend 100usd more go to another hotel do not choose Lobo de Mar

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank juanrek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Puerto Ayora hotels

Wisconsin Dells, Wisconsin
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 1, 2011

Liars and Thieves……I can’t stand them. I accidently forgot to take my charging cell phone when I left the room.
I went back for it and the front desk person told me it’s too late you already check out. I said it doesn’t matter it is still my phone.
I asked to go back to the room and look with the worker who cleaned the room. He said he didn’t see my phone.
The customer service was lousy, the food sucked and the rooms were awful, dirty, and overpriced.
The odor was terrible...it was a bad experience and don’t really want to think about it.
I would not recommend the hotel. Grand it was not! Never stay there.
Yuck!

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank gobengo2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moon
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 13, 2011

Indifferent service, children allowed to run riot all night (not much exaggeration), using the
pool table and the indoor pool in an inside atrium with room balconies opening to the noise.
The best part was when my room partner pulled the sheets back and revealed a huge, squished cockroach. When my roomate went to complain to the front desk the non-english speaking late night worker sent a young man to the room with a can of bug spray. He seemed slow to pick up that we needed more than that. If it was earlier and if we spoke any real spanish I would have insisted we change rooms, but a change of bedding sufficed for the time being. Breakfast service was less than stellar. Do not stay here.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MoronIguana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
61 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 12, 2011

A/C barely worked, Room dirty, no room service, no internet, bad smell. Must I go on I'm trying to forget!!!! Stayed one night and left. Charged us $125.00!!!

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank debrabird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans, Louisiana
Level Contributor
75 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 30, 2011

First, its one of the cheaper hotels that is in the proximity of the shore. It did have musty rooms and seemed to have an inordinate amount of screaming kids. However, if you do the sensible thing and check out the room before you rent it, you stand a better than average chance of having a good nights sleep. Check the bathroom and make sure the water works...turn on the air conditioning and make sure it blows cold air...turn on the bedside lamp and make sure it has a lightbulb.

With a fixed amount of airline flights to the island there will always be rooms. If you are going for a 4-5 star experience, read the reviews and book your stay in advance. If you are on a budget, go without a reservation. When you arrive at Baltra, hire a cab to take you into town ($6) and have him take you to some of the budget hotels you have found in Tripadvisor ($10 and hour). Take a look at some of the rooms in each hotel until you get a feel for the locations, prices charges, quality of the hotel, etc. Then make your decision and enjoy your stay.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Noodlebrain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 22, 2009

This is a very nice hotel with a superb location. This is not a luxury hotel by any means, but it allows you to experience the real Galapagos. Owned by locals, and operated by locals, unlike many surrounding hotels, it offers clean rooms, decent food and a very welcoming atmosphere. Walking distance, you will find a variety of restaurants, the market and the central plaza. I recommend a trying a Concha Ceviche and going to the plaza in the evening as you will be able to interact with the local people. it is also walking distance to the Charles Darwin Station, the pier, and everywhere you'd want to go.

  • Stayed January 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank greattripping
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Puerto Ayora hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Fiesta
Hotel Fiesta
#5 of 20 in Puerto Ayora
4.0 of 5 bubbles 291 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Ninfa
Hotel Ninfa
#10 of 20 in Puerto Ayora
3.5 of 5 bubbles 175 reviews
7.8 mi away
Casa Natura Galapagos Lodge
Casa Natura Galapagos Lodge
#12 of 20 in Puerto Ayora
4.5 of 5 bubbles 34 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Pelican Bay
Hotel Pelican Bay
#11 of 20 in Puerto Ayora
4.0 of 5 bubbles 89 reviews
0.2 mi away
Red Mangrove Aventura Lodge
Red Mangrove Aventura Lodge
#7 of 20 in Puerto Ayora
4.5 of 5 bubbles 647 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Castro
Hotel Castro
#19 of 20 in Puerto Ayora
3.0 of 5 bubbles 34 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Lobo de Mar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Lobo de Mar

Property: Grand Hotel Lobo de Mar
Address: Galapagos Islands | 12 de Febrero y Charles Darwin, Puerto Ayora 200350, Ecuador
Location: Ecuador > Galapagos Islands > Santa Cruz > Puerto Ayora
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 20 Hotels in Puerto Ayora
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Grand Hotel Lobo de Mar 2.5*
Number of rooms: 38
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Grand Hotel Lobo de Mar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Puerto Ayora
Grand Hotel Lobo De Mar Galapagos Islands/Puerto Ayora, Santa Cruz

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing