We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mixed emotions on this place”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
La Casa del Lago Lodging House
Ranked #26 of 55 Puerto Ayora B&B and Inns
Reviewed August 22, 2008

Like I said in my title, I have some mixed emotions about this place. We stayed in the apartment and I think it says it is a two bedroom which really isn't true. It has a futon downstairs -- actually under the stairs which is almost part of the kitchen and then a queen upstairs. Ok, so here is why I have mixed emotions: the place does have a cool feel to it, with funky decorations and it is very nice. We liked it and the fact that we had a kitchen. But, this is what I did not like. First off, it's not cheap. Given you are paying quite a bit, the fact that the owner never offered to have someone come in and clean or exchange our towels, I thought was strange. We were there for 8 days and by the end, the place was pretty messing. I would have cleaned myself but there wasn't a broom or any other supplies. We also had to ask for EVERYTHING. We were given one roll of toilet paper at a time. It was almost like they were afraid we'd steal it or something. With four people, we'd have to go to the restaurant every other day to ask for more t.p. The other thing that bothered me is that Elena who is the only one who speaks English would be in and out of the restaurant so if you needed something, you'd have to check back regularly until she was in. I was also bothered by the fact that I had to send so much money up front. Wiring fees are not cheap and it made me feel that it was all about the money. No credit cards were taken and I'm sure she only takes cash because she is so worried about having to pay extra fees. In addition, half way through our week we were told by Elena not to take the regular towels to the beach -- well, a little late. Shouldn't beach towels have been left out for us in the room. When we did get extra towels, they were very old -- almost like rags. None of this would have bothered me if we weren't paying so much. Finally, I felt Elena was a bit scattered. She messed up on one of our day trips that she had told me that was booked (AND, I sent money for). She did manage to get us on another one, but not to the island we wanted to go to. I think she has too many things going on and things slip through the cracks.

So, would I have changed staying there. Probably not -- simply because we liked the apartment and we LOVED having a kitchen. If you don't care about self-catering, stay somewhere else. BTW, a family across the street from Casa del Lago rents out an apartment for $32.00 a night -- much cheaper than what you'll pay at CDL.

  • Stayed: June 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank californiaerving
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FILITA, Propietario at La Casa del Lago Lodging House, responded to this reviewResponded November 5, 2011

I am sorry i cannot answer all this criticism as i do not understand the spanish translation. The regulations of the hotel does not permit the guests to take the bathroom towels to the beach. However we can provide beach towels.From the start of the hotel i have not provided option of payment with credit card like most establishments on the island. In 2008 there was no fixed hour for service in reception. Now there is a person at receptionfrom 7a.m. -7 p.m to attend to the needs of the guests.
Lastly if it is possible to find less expensive hotels than mine I suggest to future visitors of galapagos that they find a hotel wich displays at the entrance , the operating license and a distinctive sign wich says OK GALAPAGOS. This is a pilot plan for quality control in Galápagos and my hotel has this sign. Right now there are some clandestine hotels who do not have operating permits and with no guarantee of good service.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (93)
There are newer reviews for La Casa del Lago Lodging House
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

52 - 58 of 93 reviews

Reviewed April 4, 2008

This place is raved over in one of the top travel books but it didn't do much for us. Some might like the funky decoration with inset bottles (if you don't mind seeing the poor creatures that have become trapped in them and died) and the positively dangerous stone staircase without any handrails, but it certainly lacks in nice plain clean accommodation. The sheets are worn and rough (I turned the bottom one over as it rubbed on my skin so much) and, with the door closed which you must do if you have the air conditioning on, the apartment is very dark. You also have to like large beetles as they swarm in the toilet/shower room and there are so many of them It is difficult to avoid stepping on them. Although the street is very quiet we were awoken each morning at 6.45 am by the radio being played in the restaurant which ajoined our apartment. We were disappointed with the juice and snacks we had in the restaurant and you can get a much better deal in the town, especially breakfast.
We feel Casa del Lago is overpriced and there is much better accommodation in Puerto Ayora in this price range. (I did spend a few hours looking at other accommodation to change to but it was all fully booked). I had booked Casa del Lago some months previously but when we came to pay, our invoice was for about 12% more and we were told that prices had gone up on 1 January. However, there was no hesitation on the part of the owner when I offered to show her the price quoted on my email to drop the excess charge.
Oh, if you want to use the internet here it is much more expensive than in the town and also the small cubbyhole where the computer is, is a haven for biting insects.

  • Stayed: March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank cyclonesUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 26, 2008

We loved to stay in this well-decorated little appartement in Puerto Ayora. I was looking for a place that could fit 3 people, with air conditionning and comfortable enough for my mother. It was great. The good thing is that we were able to cook our own food, which is great because Puerto Ayora does not have the best of restaurants. There was also hot shower and cable TV.

The only downsides is that the price is considerably higher than a regular hotel (50$ above the cost of a triple room in another place). The other downside is that you feel that the owner is always there to check on you, to make sure that you place correct items in the recycle bins and so on. And she threw us out at 9:30 am on our last day, which was not part of the deal.

Oh yeah, and there are some bugs in the bathroom... But they are hard to avoid in Galapagos.

Stayed: March 2008
1  Thank Vitri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago
Google Translation

  • Stayed: August 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Patrice H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elena A, Propietario at La Casa del Lago Lodging House, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 5, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: March 2017, traveled with friends
Thank María José O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elena A, Propietario at La Casa del Lago Lodging House, responded to this reviewResponded March 7, 2017
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 17, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: December 2016, traveled with family
Thank María del Pilar A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 16, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: January 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank MARIANA P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Puerto Ayora hotels
5.7 mi away
Semilla Verde Boutique Hotel
Semilla Verde Boutique Hotel
#1 of 21 in Puerto Ayora
436 reviews
1.8 mi away
No photo provided
El Descanso del Petrel
#23 of 47 in Puerto Ayora
27 reviews
1.7 mi away
Galapagos Chalet
Galapagos Chalet
#21 of 47 in Puerto Ayora
9 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
La Peregrina
La Peregrina
#10 of 55 in Puerto Ayora
140 reviews
1.6 mi away
Capitan Max B&B
Capitan Max B&B
#5 of 55 in Puerto Ayora
93 reviews
1.9 mi away
Lonesome George Hostal
Lonesome George Hostal
#21 of 55 in Puerto Ayora
21 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Casa del Lago Lodging House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Casa del Lago Lodging House

Address: Moises Brito | and Juan Montalvo, Entrance to the Ninfas lake, Puerto Ayora, Ecuador
Location: Ecuador > Galapagos Islands > Santa Cruz > Puerto Ayora
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 55 B&Bs / Inns in Puerto Ayora
Price Range: $98 - $121 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
CASA DEL LAGO LODGING HOUSE (THE LAKES´HOUSE) locate at 40 meters of the beautiful Nymphs Lake, 40 minutes of Tortoise bay beach the most beautiful beach we have near town, Is a house with gardens and terraces, constructed with reciclyng materials. Magic site for pairs, families and friends ,equipped kitchen, private bathrooms hot water FROM SOLAR PANELS, potable water dispenser in the reception area , private terraces with gardens, great location in town , wifi-Tv-cable, air conditioners. Coffee place are open from 7a.m. till 1p.m and from 4 pm. till 7 p.m with the unique aroma of the organic and filter coffe from Galapagos and vegetarian food, book exchange corner is available too. We speak English and we help you to make your tours inside / outside the island. And finally because your visit in CASA DEL LAGO is already part of this paradise call GALAPAGOS ISLANDS!!! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your La Casa del Lago Lodging House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Casa Del Lago Lodging House Galapagos Islands/Puerto Ayora, Santa Cruz

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing