We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Water front room with all the basics, Puerto Ayora. Simply great!”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Santa Cruz
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Estrella del Mar Hotel
Ranked #15 of 25 Hotels in Santa Cruz
Reviewed March 8, 2013

We stayed elsewhere on the outskirts of town in the middle of nowhere for our first two nights and paid a few dollars more than the $50 it cost us here for a room with an outstanding view. Room #9 is a corner room with windows along two sides. It has two single beds, a decent size closet (no hangers), side table, small fridge, tiny tv and good air conditioning. Private bathroom with warm (not hot, hot) water if you let the shower run for a few minutes.

One of the windows has mosquito netting (in very good condition) and with that window open, we loved falling asleep to the sound of the waves lapping below us. We ran the a/c on "dry" overnight and even though it is very hot and humid here at this time of the year (March) we found this was a great combination for a good night's sleep. It gets very bright quite early but you need to be an early riser in the Galapagos, so you won't need an alarm clock!

We booked this room as "walk ins" and did not quibble with the price, especially after seeing the room in advance, despite no breakfast. There are several great breakfast spots less than a 5 minute walk from the hotel. We had good wifi reception in our room (I guess that depends on how you define good. For me it means I could actually check my mail and do some browsing on the internet without losing my connection.) We actually found all the staff very pleasant and helpful. I speak a little spanish and as an example, requested something to put along the bottom of the door to prevent the "bichas" from joining us. These black bugs are seasonal and are literally everywhere, appearing around dusk. I just don't like stepping on them. No problem! We went out and when we returned there was a towel stuffed into the gap under the door, the room had been sprayed for bugs, the beds had been made, clean towels provided (daily!). The following day, without having to ask again, it was the same thing.

We really enjoyed our 5 days staying here and I highly recommend it as a great budget choice. Any other property here with a view will cost at least 3 times the price.

Room Tip: Rooms 9 through 12 have full ocean view. #9 is the best if there are only two of you.
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TrailingTalent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (72)
There are newer reviews for Estrella del Mar Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

31 - 37 of 72 reviews

Reviewed September 13, 2012

Stayed here twice, before and after our boat cruise. First night was $35,- but when we came back after eight days we had to pay $45,-! The older woman who manages the place is only friendly if she thinks she can make money of you, if not she can be very unpleasant. The rest of the staff is also not very friendly.
The rooms with sea view are the best rooms and have a nice fresh breeze. Beds and bathroom are ok and there is no breakfast. Location is good. For this money you can find better options in Santa Cruz.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Thaddeus73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2012

We decided to pay a little extra for this hotel for the view of the harbor and we were told breakfast was included in the rate ($50 for a double). Later when we asked about breakfast times they told us there was no breakfast. I'm hoping this was a communication issue.
We decided other hotels offered better value and moved.
Room 12- The room was clean and spacious. It had 2 rooms, one with a double bed and one with 2 singles. Not sure if they would charge more for 4 people staying - if not it could offer good value.
Hot water was really inconsistent.
There's plenty of available hotels in Puerto Ayora and you'd need a good reason to pay more than $30 for a double.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank brobens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 21, 2012

We stayed two last nights of our wonderful Galapagos vacation in Santa Gruz and in Estrella del Mar in January 2012. We didn´t have anything booked ahead and just looked for a place to stay when we arrived. We had some requirements: a sea view with a balcony or terrace and a basic equipped but clean room near the town center with reasonable price. And we got all that - in Estrella del Mar! Other hotels with sea view were 3 times more expensive offering things we did not need.

There is no breakfast served, but there are several nice cafeterias in the main street to choose from. As someone mentioned, it is little bit tricky to find this hotel and you have to go down a dusty road from the main ave towards the sea (2 min walk), but it is very small town and there are impressively good signs to follow. And yes, they do not probably speak that much english there, which wasn´t a problem for us though, since we speak spanish. There was a fridge in the room and also aircon, however the AC was not very effective so the room was pretty warm even if it was on. But this was only review of one of the rooms they have, dont know about the others.

Only thing that annoyed us was the morning when we were leaving and needed a taxi to the airport. We had booked it ahead, but it never came even if we asked about it many times in the reception. And after some waiting we walked up to the main ave and took a taxi there instead.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Traveller H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 15, 2010

Stayed there for three nights with my husband. Very basic hotel, but you can't beat the value, views and location. Right in town, on the bay, near all restaurants etc. A little run down but for half the price of most hotels, cant complain. Room #9 has incredible views 180 views of the bay.

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank midwife74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 29, 2009

Stayed here a couple nights before our ship tour. Location is central and it had an ocean view (same room as in the photos) but it was spars and everything about the place was very basic. It's not a place you're going to want to do much more than sleep in.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jamesdon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 31, 2009

We stayed here for a few nights as part of a Galapagos tour. The main problem is that no one speaks English here. To get to the hotel you have to walk down a dirt driveway, thus if it rained, you would be dragging your luggage in the mud. Though there are screens on the windows, they had holes or would not close all the way, so mosquitos were a problem. The best thing about our stay was the breakfast, which included bread, jam, eggs, bananas and tea or instant coffee. Hot milk was served to the children.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shirley L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Cruz hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel Fiesta
Hotel Fiesta
#6 of 21 in Puerto Ayora
314 reviews
0.2 mi away
Red Mangrove
Red Mangrove
#8 of 21 in Puerto Ayora
663 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Cucuve Suites
Hotel Cucuve Suites
#4 of 21 in Puerto Ayora
56 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 mi away
Casa Natura Galapagos Lodge
Casa Natura Galapagos Lodge
#14 of 21 in Puerto Ayora
50 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Solymar
Hotel Solymar
#5 of 21 in Puerto Ayora
426 reviews
0.3 mi away
Angermeyer Waterfront Inn
Angermeyer Waterfront Inn
#3 of 21 in Puerto Ayora
348 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Estrella del Mar Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Estrella del Mar Hotel

Address: Av. Charles Darwing y 12 de Febrero | Detras Del Edificio de Tame, Al Lado Del Cuartel de Policias, 200350, Ecuador
Location: Ecuador > Galapagos Islands > Santa Cruz
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 25 Hotels in Santa Cruz
Number of rooms: 8
Also Known As:
Estrella Del Mar Hotel Galapagos Islands/Santa Cruz, Ecuador

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing