We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! You come to us for reviews — now you can book your hotel right here on TripAdvisor.

“Water front room with all the basics, Puerto Ayora. Simply great!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Estrella del Mar Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Santa Cruz
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Estrella del Mar Hotel
Save
You added Estrella del Mar Hotel to your Saves list
Ranked #13 of 23 Hotels in Santa Cruz
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
56 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Water front room with all the basics, Puerto Ayora. Simply great!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013

We stayed elsewhere on the outskirts of town in the middle of nowhere for our first two nights and paid a few dollars more than the $50 it cost us here for a room with an outstanding view. Room #9 is a corner room with windows along two sides. It has two single beds, a decent size closet (no hangers), side table, small fridge, tiny tv and good air conditioning. Private bathroom with warm (not hot, hot) water if you let the shower run for a few minutes.

One of the windows has mosquito netting (in very good condition) and with that window open, we loved falling asleep to the sound of the waves lapping below us. We ran the a/c on "dry" overnight and even though it is very hot and humid here at this time of the year (March) we found this was a great combination for a good night's sleep. It gets very bright quite early but you need to be an early riser in the Galapagos, so you won't need an alarm clock!

We booked this room as "walk ins" and did not quibble with the price, especially after seeing the room in advance, despite no breakfast. There are several great breakfast spots less than a 5 minute walk from the hotel. We had good wifi reception in our room (I guess that depends on how you define good. For me it means I could actually check my mail and do some browsing on the internet without losing my connection.) We actually found all the staff very pleasant and helpful. I speak a little spanish and as an example, requested something to put along the bottom of the door to prevent the "bichas" from joining us. These black bugs are seasonal and are literally everywhere, appearing around dusk. I just don't like stepping on them. No problem! We went out and when we returned there was a towel stuffed into the gap under the door, the room had been sprayed for bugs, the beds had been made, clean towels provided (daily!). The following day, without having to ask again, it was the same thing.

We really enjoyed our 5 days staying here and I highly recommend it as a great budget choice. Any other property here with a view will cost at least 3 times the price.

Room Tip: Rooms 9 through 12 have full ocean view. #9 is the best if there are only two of you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TrailingTalent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

64 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    16
    34
    7
    5
    2
See reviews for
11
29
8
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
34 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2012

Stayed here twice, before and after our boat cruise. First night was $35,- but when we came back after eight days we had to pay $45,-! The older woman who manages the place is only friendly if she thinks she can make money of you, if not she can be very unpleasant. The rest of the staff is also not very friendly.
The rooms with sea view are the best rooms and have a nice fresh breeze. Beds and bathroom are ok and there is no breakfast. Location is good. For this money you can find better options in Santa Cruz.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Thaddeus73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
70 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2012

We decided to pay a little extra for this hotel for the view of the harbor and we were told breakfast was included in the rate ($50 for a double). Later when we asked about breakfast times they told us there was no breakfast. I'm hoping this was a communication issue.
We decided other hotels offered better value and moved.
Room 12- The room was clean and spacious. It had 2 rooms, one with a double bed and one with 2 singles. Not sure if they would charge more for 4 people staying - if not it could offer good value.
Hot water was really inconsistent.
There's plenty of available hotels in Puerto Ayora and you'd need a good reason to pay more than $30 for a double.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank brobens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Molnlycke, Sweden
Level Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2012

We stayed two last nights of our wonderful Galapagos vacation in Santa Gruz and in Estrella del Mar in January 2012. We didn´t have anything booked ahead and just looked for a place to stay when we arrived. We had some requirements: a sea view with a balcony or terrace and a basic equipped but clean room near the town center with reasonable price. And we got all that - in Estrella del Mar! Other hotels with sea view were 3 times more expensive offering things we did not need.

There is no breakfast served, but there are several nice cafeterias in the main street to choose from. As someone mentioned, it is little bit tricky to find this hotel and you have to go down a dusty road from the main ave towards the sea (2 min walk), but it is very small town and there are impressively good signs to follow. And yes, they do not probably speak that much english there, which wasn´t a problem for us though, since we speak spanish. There was a fridge in the room and also aircon, however the AC was not very effective so the room was pretty warm even if it was on. But this was only review of one of the rooms they have, dont know about the others.

Only thing that annoyed us was the morning when we were leaving and needed a taxi to the airport. We had booked it ahead, but it never came even if we asked about it many times in the reception. And after some waiting we walked up to the main ave and took a taxi there instead.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Traveller H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2010

Stayed there for three nights with my husband. Very basic hotel, but you can't beat the value, views and location. Right in town, on the bay, near all restaurants etc. A little run down but for half the price of most hotels, cant complain. Room #9 has incredible views 180 views of the bay.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank midwife74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manhattan Beach, California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2009

Stayed here a couple nights before our ship tour. Location is central and it had an ocean view (same room as in the photos) but it was spars and everything about the place was very basic. It's not a place you're going to want to do much more than sleep in.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jamesdon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Level Contributor
25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2009

We stayed here for a few nights as part of a Galapagos tour. The main problem is that no one speaks English here. To get to the hotel you have to walk down a dirt driveway, thus if it rained, you would be dragging your luggage in the mud. Though there are screens on the windows, they had holes or would not close all the way, so mosquitos were a problem. The best thing about our stay was the breakfast, which included bread, jam, eggs, bananas and tea or instant coffee. Hot milk was served to the children.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Shirley L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Cruz hotels
0.2 mi away
Red Mangrove Aventura Lodge
Red Mangrove Aventura Lodge
#5 of 18 in Puerto Ayora
4.5 of 5 stars 623 reviews
0.5 mi away
Finch Bay Eco Hotel
Finch Bay Eco Hotel
#1 of 18 in Puerto Ayora
4.5 of 5 stars 743 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Fiesta
Hotel Fiesta
#3 of 18 in Puerto Ayora
4.0 of 5 stars 267 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Angermeyer Waterfront Inn
Angermeyer Waterfront Inn
#2 of 18 in Puerto Ayora
4.5 of 5 stars 305 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Pelican Bay
Hotel Pelican Bay
#7 of 18 in Puerto Ayora
4.0 of 5 stars 86 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Ninfa
Hotel Ninfa
#9 of 18 in Puerto Ayora
3.5 of 5 stars 147 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Estrella del Mar Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Estrella del Mar Hotel

Property: Estrella del Mar Hotel
Address: Av. Charles Darwing y 12 de Febrero | Detras Del Edificio de Tame, Al Lado Del Cuartel de Policias, 200350, Ecuador
Phone Number:
Location: Ecuador > Galapagos Islands > Santa Cruz
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 23 Hotels in Santa Cruz
Number of rooms: 8
Also Known As:
Estrella Del Mar Hotel Galapagos Islands/Santa Cruz, Ecuador

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing