We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful hotel...great service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Royal Palm Hotel Galapagos
Ranked #12 of 25 Hotels in Santa Cruz
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 30, 2006

We just returned from the Galapagos where we spent seven days on a ship(the Eclipse..great choice) and two nights at the Royal Palm. After seven days in close quarters with every minute regimented, it was great to have a huge room with all the amenities and no wake up call. We were upgraded to the Royal Suite which was gorgeous and included our own outdoor hot tub. The grounds were lovely with an inviting pool.
Having said all this I would not recommend that you use this as a base for really seeing the Galapagos. Some of the most interesting islands were those too far to see by day excursion from the hotel. The hotel is located about 40 minutes from any water or town so there is a limit to how far you can go. I would highly recommend a stay before or after a Galapagos cruise. It would have been a perfect way to recoup after coming from the rigors of Machu Picchu prior to a cruise.
If you go, be sure to go to Tortuga Beach. It is a lovely walk to a beautiful beach and swimming lagoon. You might see some marine iguanas and boobies. Have lunch at Angermeyer Point in Puerto Ayora.
The only negative we came up with was the food. It was if the flavor had been removed from everything. I have never had such bland food outside a hospital. When I left my entire dinner on the plate the restaurant manager finally came over to inquire about the problem.
She said that the cook intentionally cooks bland food because the clientele is mostly older and doesn't like spicy preparations. She said the cook could prepare the food any way we wanted , but we needed to ask. It would have been helpful if we knew this in advance. Also, you can order off the lunch menu and need not have the four course dinner if you don't want it.
The staff was wonderful and will get you anything you need. Overall a great place.

  • Stayed: May 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
23  Thank Audrey B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (178)
There are newer reviews for Royal Palm Hotel Galapagos
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

140 - 146 of 178 reviews

Reviewed March 21, 2006

If you are looking for an overall great experience in the Galapagos Islands, the Royal Palm is where you need to be. The staff is welcoming, the accommodations are charming, and the cuisine is marvelous. Having traveled many parts of the world, it is very rare to find accommodations that meet all of your needs. This is what makes the hotel special.

San Diego, CA

  • Stayed: February 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank georgeofsantacruz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 21, 2006

Located in the Highlands of Santa Cruz, the Royal Palm was a fabulous place to stay. The setting was beautiful, there was a special feel of tranquility, and the service was exceptional.

The daily fee included a full breakfast buffet, and the elegant four course dinners were very reasonably priced at $25 per person (fixed price).

The villas were extremely quiet and well equipped, so after each day's excursion I could and would get a good night's sleep for the next day.

The most important feature of the hotel was that the staff knew "what to see" and set up all of my daily excursions in advance of arriving to the Galapagos. Not one day was wasted on an unnecessary day trip ---- the staff knew what were "must sees" with my limited seven day stay. Even after I arrived home, I did not say to myself "I wish I saw that..."

You can stay at a room anywhere , but you can't be ensured that your trip will be a success anywhere. The Royal Palm Hotel provided me with a great travel experience.

I would definitely recommend the Royal Palm.

Jeff
Chicago,IL USA

  • Stayed: December 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
14  Thank jjhChicago_IL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 19, 2005

We just returned from a week at the Royal Palm and
were delighted with the magic of the place. If you seek elegance and comfort and something quite different, the Royal Palm is a good choice. We were upgraded to a Villa which is a four room house. Besides the very large bedroom, livingroom (with a fireplace), enormous bathroom (separate rooms for the w.c. and large shower) there is an equally large Jacuzzi room with surround windows that overlook the surrealistic views. We checked the Veranda room which we had originally booked and found it to be beautiful, just smaller, with a Jacuzzi outside.
The Royal Palm is a romantic and quiet get-away. The staff is attentive, and the setting amazing.
Being in the highlands it is subject to the Garua depending on the month. It has a mystical mist.

  • Stayed: November 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
20  Thank malley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Los Angeles
118
Reviewed November 3, 2005

My husband and I just returned from our Galapagos trip. After spending days on a small cruise ship we stayed 3 nights at the Royal Palm. We were impressed not only by the setting of this small hotel in the highlands of Santa Cruz: the villas are huge and the fire place in the living room is a wonderful touch. All it takes is a phone call and a helpful staff member will lit it for you. We enjoyed the food in the restaurant, and the friendly and attentive service throughout the hotel. We had a wonderful stay and wished we could have spent more time at the Royal Palm.

  • Stayed: October 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
18  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
New York, New York
114
Reviewed September 26, 2005

Advertised as a luxury property, the Royal Palm is far from it. Instead it was the destination for senior citizens tour groups. The services were marginal at best, not at all what you would expect from a luxury property and not worth the price.

  • Stayed: June 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
14  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: June 2017, traveled solo
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mhbb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Cruz hotels
8.7 mi away
Red Mangrove
Red Mangrove
#8 of 21 in Puerto Ayora
663 reviews
9.2 mi away
Finch Bay Galapagos Hotel
Finch Bay Galapagos Hotel
#2 of 21 in Puerto Ayora
871 reviews
2.9 mi away
Semilla Verde Boutique Hotel
Semilla Verde Boutique Hotel
#1 of 21 in Puerto Ayora
435 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.6 mi away
Hotel Cucuve Suites
Hotel Cucuve Suites
#4 of 21 in Puerto Ayora
56 reviews
8.6 mi away
Hotel Fiesta
Hotel Fiesta
#6 of 21 in Puerto Ayora
314 reviews
9.1 mi away
Angermeyer Waterfront Inn
Angermeyer Waterfront Inn
#3 of 21 in Puerto Ayora
348 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Palm Hotel Galapagos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Palm Hotel Galapagos

Address: Km. 18 Via Puerto Ayora | Baltra Isla Santa Cruz, Ecuador (Formerly Royal Palm Resort Hotel)
Location: Ecuador > Galapagos Islands > Santa Cruz
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 25 Hotels in Santa Cruz
Price Range: $330 - $847 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Royal Palm Hotel Galapagos 4*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Royal Palm Hotel is a private family-owned hotel enjoying the quiet seclusion of its own 190 hectare estate in the lush Miconia Highland Forests of Santa Cruz. Located adjacent to the Galapagos National Park, the Royal Palm was built in 2002 and combines elegant colonial style with traditional island design. This boutique estate comprises 21 Casitas and Villas including family accommodation; the largest villa is named in honor of His Royal Highness the Prince of Wales who stayed at the hotel in 2009. The hotel has the relaxed and informal charm of an Ecuadorian Hacienda offering a unique sense of natural space. The Hotel is a member of Leading Hotels of the World and is the perfect location for both land and sea exploration of the Galapagos Islands. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Agoda, Prestigia and Hotwire so you can book your Royal Palm Hotel Galapagos reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Palm Hotel Santa Cruz
Royal Palm Santa Cruz
Royal Palm Hotel Galapagos Galapagos Islands/Santa Cruz, Ecuador

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing