We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Top notch!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Royal Palm Hotel Galapagos
Ranked #11 of 24 Hotels in Santa Cruz
Quito, Ecuador
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Top notch!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 29, 2012

Doesn't matter how you look at it, service, room quality, views, amenities, noise... It's all perfect. Staff was very helpful. We went diving, biking, trekking... Everything went perfect. Galapagos is a true World Heritage Site... The Hotel was a huge part of our amazing vacation. Will try to go back again this year. Thanks guys!!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GringoCLM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

174 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    80
    42
    22
    16
    14
See reviews for
57
69
5
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
27 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 26, 2012

I should first note that I didn't pick this hotel: it was a thoughtful gift, and one which was greatly appreciated, but we didn't research and select this option.

The upside: spacious grounds, long walks between villas. It was nearly deserted, with perhaps only 2 or 3 other couples on the property beyond our group. Felt very relaxing and romantic. We stayed in an ordinary lodge room, which was very nice, but the villas looked beautiful. We saw an owl sitting outside one villa, and a handful of canaries.

The other upside for me was the highlands climate: noticeably cooler than Puerto Ayora. Since it was swelteringly hot at sea level, this was a nice break! Of course, it was usually cloudy and rained quite a bit in the highlands (more than at sea level), but I didn't mind: it was nice just to be cool. Puerto Ayora is far enough away (25-30 minutes by taxi) that we only went back there once.

The front desk staff are super friendly and helpful. The pool is pretty and nice for a swim, but entirely unstaffed and doesn't have towels available: you have to ask the front desk. The restaurant staff were friendly but the food was impressively bad: we ate many dinners at the restaurant and a few breakfasts, and had trouble finding dishes we were excited about. The menu descriptions sound lovely, but the dishes which are served sometimes are missing some of the ingredients or simply don't live up to the descriptions (try the mushroom gnocchi, which aren't bad). The two restaurants we tried in Puerto Ayora were pretty bad too, so there might not be any better options: you don't visit the Galapagos for its food. The breakfast buffet was surprisingly weak, just a few warmer trays, anemic fruit, cheese, and good juice. Eggs weren't offered by the wait staff, but I asked for scrambled eggs and the staff politely agreed to prepare some. Lukewarm and not tasty, so I didn't ask again the next day.

Rooms are extraordinarily spacious and the giant shower/tub is excellent. One excellent point of service is their airport transfer: they accompany you on the rustic ferry across to Baltra island and provide a private car on the other side, which means you can check in before the public bus arrives.

The Galapagos aren't a foodie/luxury destination, but if you want a close approximation, the Royal Palm might be your best choice.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gradientdescent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bogotá
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2012

I stayed with my husband for 3 nigths and we had a lovely time. The staff is always making efforts to make your stay more confortable. We liked that the Hotel is in a really peaceful place where you can rest and forget about everything.
The Island is beautiful I recomend it to everyone who enjoy animal and wild life.
Would definitely go back again-

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank marisavela
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Level Contributor
247 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 187 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 4, 2012

If you have been cruising around the Galapagos Islands and what a place to just relax and catch up on rest this place is perfect, but if you don't like complete solitude this is not for you. Also take into consideratioin that there are no car rentals , moped etc on these Islands you have to rely on taxi service so when you want to leave this hotel you must call at least an hour before you want to go so that your taxi is waiting for you at the time you are ready to leave. These taxis need time to get to the hotel from Puerto Ayora which is about a 25 min car ride from the hotel plus when you are in the town of Puerto Ayora you have the 25 min back.

I am not interested in night life so this was not a big problem for me I

Had I had "other" needs then it would not have been my first choice.
I enjoyed this hotel very much but it indeed needs a face lift , the property is beautiful but needs a serious update. Just to start with the pool there are only 2 lounge chairs available and 2 tables with 4 chairs so only 2 people can sit by the pool in a lounge chair I found that weird considering this was a Leading World Luxury Hotel ?? There were no towels easily available you had to ask the front desk for them and it took like 15 min to get them when they should be in a basket ready to go by the pool. Also if you are looking for pool cocktails and food service they do have it but it also take a long time though once they get to you they are gracious and nice but very very slow pace.

The rooms were spacious and very nice , love the over sized large shower and bathroom , the views were amazing and the staff I must say were all very helpful and gracious willing to please.

Must check out the Lava tubes that are on the property and they will try to have you go with a guide but we did it on our own it it was fine, so unless you need an explanation about it do it on your own, just ask for a complimentary bicycle from the front desk and go for it.

Would I stay there again probably not I would stay closer to town mostly for the reason that we were there for 4 nights and did not want to dine at the hotel every night so if I was there for 1 night or 2 I would say sure but for more than that staying in town is a better option you have many dining choices plus you can walk just about anywhere it is all close.

Room Tip: free internet in the villas
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travelthroughmyeyes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 23, 2012

Dispite the very willing and friendly staff, by far the worst value for money I have ever experienced. I am amazed to see the positive reviews on this spot, have they been anywhere else?! Or the reviews are not so recent, becuase you could see that this once was a nice place. But no longer. We stayed in the Prince of Wales Suite (for a tremendous amount of money...). The functionality was good, but the styling extremely outdated. The dining room was boring, no other guests and we could understand way.... Guaranteed bankrupty within a few years of no serious action is taken... Sorry for a once nice spot on a beautiful island.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Esther K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan, Italy
Level Contributor
174 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 31, 2012

As it happens many of the really negative reviews about this hotel have some merit.
It is remote. Wildlife viewing from your room is difficult at best. It is a haven of senior citizens that play cards rather than enjoy what most other people come to the Galapagos for.

The food and drink are very good, abundant, well prepared, well served. So as a hotel and a place to eat (going anyplace else after dark would be complicated) it is fine. If you just want to sleep in for a few days why go to such a remote and expensive place?

In my case I wanted to see the Galapagos tortoise. I wanted to see lots of them in their habitat and not in a zoo. Not far from the hotel I did just that.

I saw about 25 of one species.

There are also underground tunnels and caves to be visited nearby and you will find Santa Cruz bird life to your heart's content. Remember that each of the Galapagos Islands has its own species of birds which almost always differ from the species found on the other islands.

For one night on Santa Cruz, this hotel fine.

I am not interested in night life and I don't look for trendy places to hang out.
I don't go looking for quaint little shops to buy over priced jewelery or touristy "stuff".
That is why this hotel was fine for me.
Had I had "other" needs then it would not have been my first choice.
As it is I enjoyed it thoroughly.
Bear in mind that unless you have some sort of package deal the price of everything (room, food, drinks, souvenirs) is extremely high.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank cho10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georgia
Level Contributor
52 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 27, 2011

This is the place to stay in the Galapagos. I have stayed all over the world in many of the Leading Hotels of the World and this is by far the best. We own a house in Playa Panama Costa Rica and know how difficult it is to keep a facility like this up. Whatever minor flaws can be found believe me you do not know what effort it is to keep this hotel up. The food was very good. We could have taken a taxi in any day to town ( they are more than willing to provide you with taxis) but choose to eat here most days for breakfast and supper. Most of our lunches were on our tours. They are excellent at selecting tours. I know the guide book says you might could hang around Puerto Ayora and get a last minute deal on some of the tours but with seven in our group and this being a once in a lifetime trip we were not chancing on it being ruined. The staff was even able to accomodate us changing our schedule so that we could scuba along with snorkeling. They even got us the best boat on the island. So when you go to an equatorial nation like Ecuador know that this facility is the BEST. We looked at many of the overnight boats and this is the way to do the Galapagos. Stay here and go on day trips. Yes this hotel is in the park itself and stays in a cloud forest. That just adds to the charm. It is great to be 65 degrees Farenheit and at the equator. ( Little know fact 100 meters of elevation here equal 700 meters anywhere else giving Santa Cruz 8 climate zones.

Room Tip: I think the verandas are the way to good if you are in a group. If you are on a romatic honeymoon o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Pilotdoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Cruz hotels
9.2 mi away
Finch Bay Galapagos Hotel
Finch Bay Galapagos Hotel
#2 of 20 in Puerto Ayora
4.5 of 5 bubbles 820 reviews
2.9 mi away
Semilla Verde Boutique Hotel
Semilla Verde Boutique Hotel
#1 of 20 in Puerto Ayora
5.0 of 5 bubbles 403 reviews
8.7 mi away
Red Mangrove
Red Mangrove
#7 of 20 in Puerto Ayora
4.5 of 5 bubbles 647 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.1 mi away
Angermeyer Waterfront Inn
Angermeyer Waterfront Inn
#3 of 20 in Puerto Ayora
4.5 of 5 bubbles 336 reviews
4.1 mi away
Casa Natura Galapagos Lodge
Casa Natura Galapagos Lodge
#12 of 20 in Puerto Ayora
4.5 of 5 bubbles 34 reviews
8.6 mi away
Hotel Fiesta
Hotel Fiesta
#6 of 20 in Puerto Ayora
4.0 of 5 bubbles 291 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Palm Hotel Galapagos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Palm Hotel Galapagos

Property: Royal Palm Hotel Galapagos
Address: Km. 18 Via Puerto Ayora | Baltra Isla Santa Cruz, Ecuador (Formerly Royal Palm Resort Hotel)
Location: Ecuador > Galapagos Islands > Santa Cruz
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 24 Hotels in Santa Cruz
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Royal Palm Hotel Galapagos 4*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Royal Palm Hotel is a private family-owned hotel enjoying the quiet seclusion of its own 190 hectare estate in the lush Miconia Highland Forests of Santa Cruz. Located adjacent to the Galapagos National Park, the Royal Palm was built in 2002 and combines elegant colonial style with traditional island design. This boutique estate comprises 21 Casitas and Villas including family accommodation; the largest villa is named in honor of His Royal Highness the Prince of Wales who stayed at the hotel in 2009. The hotel has the relaxed and informal charm of an Ecuadorian Hacienda offering a unique sense of natural space. The Hotel is a member of Leading Hotels of the World and is the perfect location for both land and sea exploration of the Galapagos Islands. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Royal Palm Hotel Galapagos reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Palm Hotel Santa Cruz
Royal Palm Santa Cruz
Royal Palm Hotel Galapagos Galapagos Islands/Santa Cruz, Ecuador

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing