We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Royal Palm is Royal”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Royal Palm Hotel Galapagos
Ranked #11 of 24 Hotels in Santa Cruz
Atlanta
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Royal Palm is Royal”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 23, 2011

We hated leaving this wonderful resort in the Galapagos. WE are a large family of 6 people including 2 people in their 80's. The Royal Palm staff could not have been more helpful in arranging tours, accomodating my elderly and handicapped parents, and just being helpful. The rooms are large, very nice, and the bathrooms were very pretty and well designed with the largest jacuzzi tub. Andrew and Patty did such a wonderful job tending to our varied requirements. I think the best way to do the Galapagos is to stay here in the Island and then take day trips. It is cheaper than the cruises and much more luxurious. Patty was able to get us tours that were unavailable elsewhere and I would recommend using her for all tours other than diving.. I would recommend that if you are a diver that you arrange diving with Sub Aqua (excellent) directly.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank eyemdatlanta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

174 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    80
    42
    22
    16
    14
See reviews for
57
69
5
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
61 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 12, 2011

We stayed here on the beginning of of trip in the Galapagos and everything was wondeful. Wonderful food, rooms staff, ground, beds, jacuzzi, etc.......but. We went there to see the unusual wildlife of the islands and visit as much as we could in the time we were there. I could not rent a driver just for us for the day or a boat to go ...whereever I wanted to go...why? I found this very frustrating and after three days of doing nothing but eating and bathung in luxury we finally got to see the giant tortoises! I was elated and wanted more,but could not seem to get it here. We checked out and took a ferry to Isabella and had no problem hiring drivers or boats and saw everything and more. The Royal Palm Resort is a great place but the need to make it easy to venture out and see the sites and return for a wonderful dinner and relaxing nights sleep.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank debrabird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 6, 2011

I cannot say enough good things about this hotel. It was a perfect place to relax, following a long day of walking on the islands. The service was great, the room was clean, the staff were friendly and helpful, the hotel grounds were well maintained, and by far, the hotel itself was beautiful. You cannot spend all day at the hotel. You will get bored. You need to go out and explore the various islands. However, this hotel is the perfect place to stay on land. After checking out the two best restaurants in Puerto Ayora, I think the hotel restaurant was much better. The hotel also has free transfer to and from the local Baltra airport which is very nice.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank galapagos2222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 13, 2011

The Royal Palm is probably the nicest hotel on the Galapagos Islands and we stayed there because we have heard it's better to stay on land versus staying on a ship. After staying here I totally agree.
Very nice property. The service is excellen!. They will do what it takes to make your stay as comfortable and enjoyable as possible. They planned all our excursions. They were all worth doing. I think it would be a perfect hotel if a). they were allowed to pave the road that leads to hotel and b). they had a nicer fitness facility with a spa. We went with another family and we all had a great time. It's not cheap but worth the price.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jurquiola
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Costa Mesa, California
Level Contributor
42 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 26, 2010

this is the quietest place I've ever been. the rooms are large and beautiful and the service is perfect. even though more people are here you never see or hear them. i was seeking rest, so the fog and islolation are welcome. it's a beatiful location, well maintained and luxurious. great for a self contained group or perfect for romance. For a solo traveler, it's like a hyperbaric chamber---

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank debmarst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Worth, Texas
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 31, 2010

This hotel exceeded my expectations by a huge margin... the level of service and personalized attention we got throughout our stay really made our visit to Galapagos that much more special. The moment we landed in Baltra, an individual from the hotel received us and took us into the hotel's VIP lounge in the airport. While we were relaxing in the lounge enjoying drinks, the hotel staff took care of the luggage. We stayed in a Villa, which is very spacious, tastefully decocated with a separate room for a jacuuzi. The hotel is on the highlands in Santa Cruz and the setting is spectacular. We arranged all our day trips through the hotel's concierge and they made sure that everything was taken care of. After our long day trips to the islands we really looked forward to coming back to our hotel... it was truly memorable!!

Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank arutan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rahway, New Jersey
Level Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2010

This is a very nice and luxurious hotel. There was only one other family there so it was extremely quiet. Everything about it is nice except for a couple of things:

1) The pool isn't heated
2) The tennis courts are shorter than normal tennis courts
3) It took forever for the chefs to make our dinner when we were the only people in the restaurant.

Besides that, it is a very nice hotel and I highly recommend it, but don't spend a whole day here. Trust me, it will get boring. And definitely go see the lava tunnel at the hotel it is really cool.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank conradbaines
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Cruz hotels
9.2 mi away
Finch Bay Galapagos Hotel
Finch Bay Galapagos Hotel
#2 of 20 in Puerto Ayora
4.5 of 5 bubbles 820 reviews
2.9 mi away
Semilla Verde Boutique Hotel
Semilla Verde Boutique Hotel
#1 of 20 in Puerto Ayora
5.0 of 5 bubbles 403 reviews
8.7 mi away
Red Mangrove Aventura Lodge
Red Mangrove Aventura Lodge
#7 of 20 in Puerto Ayora
4.5 of 5 bubbles 647 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.1 mi away
Angermeyer Waterfront Inn
Angermeyer Waterfront Inn
#3 of 20 in Puerto Ayora
4.5 of 5 bubbles 336 reviews
4.1 mi away
Casa Natura Galapagos Lodge
Casa Natura Galapagos Lodge
#12 of 20 in Puerto Ayora
4.5 of 5 bubbles 34 reviews
8.6 mi away
Hotel Fiesta
Hotel Fiesta
#5 of 20 in Puerto Ayora
4.0 of 5 bubbles 291 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Palm Hotel Galapagos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Palm Hotel Galapagos

Property: Royal Palm Hotel Galapagos
Address: Km. 18 Via Puerto Ayora | Baltra Isla Santa Cruz, Ecuador (Formerly Royal Palm Resort Hotel)
Location: Ecuador > Galapagos Islands > Santa Cruz
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 24 Hotels in Santa Cruz
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Royal Palm Hotel Galapagos 4*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Royal Palm Hotel is a private family-owned hotel enjoying the quiet seclusion of its own 190 hectare estate in the lush Miconia Highland Forests of Santa Cruz. Located adjacent to the Galapagos National Park, the Royal Palm was built in 2002 and combines elegant colonial style with traditional island design. This boutique estate comprises 21 Casitas and Villas including family accommodation; the largest villa is named in honor of His Royal Highness the Prince of Wales who stayed at the hotel in 2009. The hotel has the relaxed and informal charm of an Ecuadorian Hacienda offering a unique sense of natural space. The Hotel is a member of Leading Hotels of the World and is the perfect location for both land and sea exploration of the Galapagos Islands. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Orbitz and Agoda so you can book your Royal Palm Hotel Galapagos reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Palm Hotel Santa Cruz
Royal Palm Santa Cruz
Royal Palm Hotel Galapagos Galapagos Islands/Santa Cruz, Ecuador

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing