We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beware the fire of the Dragon!”

Dragon Hill (Cerro Dragon)
Book In Advance
More Info
$3,195.00*
and up
Galapagos Luxury Cruise: 5-Day Tour Aboard the 'Odyssey'
Ranked #24 of 44 things to do in Santa Cruz
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This portion of Santa Cruz is so named because it is inhabited by many iguanas.
Dublin, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Beware the fire of the Dragon!”
Reviewed May 3, 2012

The location itself is mostly visited for the chance to see land iguanas but be aware that if you visit in the heat of the midday sun you will not get much of a view as the land iguanas (very sensibly) will be hiding deep in the undergrowth for shade. You on the other hand will be dying a slow death in the dry stifling heat!... I got overheated during out hour long hike and spent the rest of the day shivering and feeling very unwell.

Prepare to mutiny if your guide recommends visiting here in the heat of midday... dawn or dusk are the only times to venture into the fires of Dragon Hill.

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
9 Thank Dave W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

24 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    13
    8
    2
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
capecod
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Land iquanas”
Reviewed April 2, 2012

Trail near Dragon Hill with land iguanas, a variety of birds and nice views of the islands

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank reelart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level 5 Contributor
38 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Beautiful scenery and a mild hike”
Reviewed January 15, 2012

Marine iguans and flamingos, easy walk after panga ride from ship.

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
2 Thank MarcoPDX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hockessin, Delaware
Level 6 Contributor
64 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
“Dragon Hill or Cerro Dragon”
Reviewed September 1, 2011

My family of 3 went on a 7-night cruise aboard the Explorer II to the Galapagos Islands this past May 2011. The weather in Ecuador & the Galapagos is perfect in May. The first place we explored was Cerro Dragon or Dragon Hill which is located in Santa Cruz island. The landing from our inflatable zodiac boat was dry. Wear pants, long sleeves and closed shoes in this place because you'll be walking past rough bushes. Cerro Dragon is my least favorite place because I did not enjoy walking in the rough bushes for a long time which made me itch all over. It's better to bring shoes good for dry or wet conditions and comfortable for walking. Also wear a hat that is secured to your head for sun protection. We saw giant cacti, iguanas, pelicans, sea lions, colorful lizards, Darwin finches, and Great Blue Herons here. We had a wet "take off" back to our zodiac. The Galapagos has unbelievable sceneries, beautiful sunrise & sunsets. We learned a lot about nature, ecology, and appreciation of wild life after visiting the Galapagos.

Visited May 2011
Helpful?
3 Thank Celestial G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dragon Hill (Cerro Dragon) also viewed

Santa Cruz, Galapagos Islands
Santa Cruz, Galapagos Islands
 
Santa Cruz, Galapagos Islands
Santa Cruz, Galapagos Islands
 

Been to Dragon Hill (Cerro Dragon)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing