We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect ending to a visit to the Galapagos”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Galapagos Safari Camp
Certificate of Excellence
Golden, Colorado
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Perfect ending to a visit to the Galapagos”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 9, 2013

We stayed at the Safari Camp for 3 nights after being on the boat for 5 days/4 nights. It was a perfect ending to our trip. The boat regime is very regimented due to visiting many islands and locations in a short time. We welcomed the "calm" atmosphere at the "Camp".
The tents are far from what I recall when camping as a child. They were definitely luxury accomodations! Each Tent has a lovely balcony with hammock, table and chairs for 2! We were extremely impressed with the bathroom facilites. Great shower and plenty of space in the entire modern bathroom.
I can't say enough about the food! We were impressed at every dinner....not only was the food the best we had during our 2 weeks in Ecuador, but the presentation was exquisite! The young chef and his staff were very accomodating and provided us with unbelievable dishes at each meal.
Jimmy, the bartender, was a delight! He was very accomodating and made the best Mojito we've ever had! He picked the mint from the garden at the camp! Jimmy brought us beers out to the "sunset deck" and assisted us with our photography! The deck is amazing and the views and sunset were spectacular.
We highly recommend the Safari Camp as the perfect ending to an amazing trip to the Galapagos!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sylvia B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

124 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    102
    17
    3
    1
    1
See reviews for
38
57
6
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
California
Level Contributor
87 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 134 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 3, 2013

I think there are only 9 tents. These are luxury tents, meaning lovely beds, in tent coffee tea, air condition unit, and full bath shower. Yep, it just doesn't get any better than this. It's the perfect tenting experience for me!

The location is in the "highlands" and is very much remote and out of the main touristy areas. This is a plus because you are just surrounded by nature and have amazing views of the land and water. This is also a minus because it is far from town and you will require a taxi driver to get to anything. Despite this, it was perfect for us. We really liked not having to see a ton of people.

As others have mentioned, the food is fantastic. Definitely not typical ecuadorian cuisine but so delicious. They have excellent chefs / cooks there doing a great job!

There are some very cool things happening on this property:
Cool Thing 1: they are starting a cacao farm and will soon be growing high quality coco beans.
Cool Thing 2: they are environmentally focused and have built their resort around this value, they collect water and actually have enough to sell back to the local businesses. Very smart!
Cool Thing 3: Manager Katherine is outstanding in her hospitality. She and her team made our stay wonderful. They helped set up all of our activities.

I can't recommend this property enough. They only have 9 tents, so if you can get this place, go for it!

Room Tip: Make sure that you bring enough U.S. Dollars in advance. The ATM's only allow you to pull out...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ringinthenewyear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
53 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 12, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for 5 nights following a week on a dive boat. This really is 5 star camping with 9 amazing luxury rooms under canvas. The camp is situated in the Highlands with amazing views and wildlife including giant tortoise. The service is superb and really friendly and the food is excellent. We booked a safari package and thoroughly enjoyed two days with a private guide and two days on shared boat trips to North Seymour and Plaza Island. This is a really unique and relaxing place to stay and is very central to visit all areas of the island.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Masartnd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sabi Sands
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 11, 2013 via mobile

This tented safari camp is spectacular. It makes you feel part of the environment...and as if you are on an African safari.

The owners were there during our visit and were exceptionally kind and helpful.
The manager and her colleagues are beyond warm, friendly and professional.

You feel as if you are at a close friend's home surrounded by people you want to be with.

The property is gorgeous.
The tortoises are on property.
The drive to the camp is beautiful.
And the food is amazing.
Fly there. Drive there. Swim there.

Just be sure to go there.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Roger1211
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucharest
Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 9, 2013

This is the perfect property to attest to the saying that people make the place! We had an extraordinary time there, with catered attention to all of our needs, wishes and dietary requirements. The staff really goes out of their way to make you feel welcomed and comfortable! The resort has only 9 tents (I think) so the sense of intimacy while being there is wonderful!

The only thing you need to take into consideration is the fact that the resort is in the middle of Santa Cruz island so, for every day trip out of any of the ports, you need to budget in about a 30-35 min car drive each way.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NomadSoul88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
56 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 28, 2012

We spent two days here as a part of our trip to the Galapagos. It was incredible- I do not know where to start. The lodge is very relaxing and the food was fantastic. We do not eat meat and we had the most delicious vegetarian and fish meals. The tents provided far more luxury than the two hotels we stayed at in other parts of the Galapagos. Hot water bottles were placed in the beds in the evenings. We had a Galapagos Owl sitting just outside of our tent.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank cyclist6049
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan, Italy
Level Contributor
91 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2012

This is a tented hotel that remembers the African safari experience ... in the Galapagos. Very confortable bed and accomodation, in the middle of an incredibly incontaminated nature. The sevice is of outstanding quality, excellent breakfast and we had a very good lunch. The chef is Italian.The staff is friendly helpful and very competent. The location and quality of infrastructure second to none. Really worth spending at least one night. Negatives: it is in an area where it rains a lot , the vegetation is great for this reason but could be annoying. The pool was not properly maintained. It is very expensive.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Massimo A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Cruz hotels
12.4 mi away
Finch Bay Galapagos Hotel
Finch Bay Galapagos Hotel
#2 of 20 in Puerto Ayora
4.5 of 5 bubbles 820 reviews
6.0 mi away
Semilla Verde Boutique Hotel
Semilla Verde Boutique Hotel
#1 of 20 in Puerto Ayora
5.0 of 5 bubbles 403 reviews
11.8 mi away
Red Mangrove
Red Mangrove
#7 of 20 in Puerto Ayora
4.5 of 5 bubbles 647 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Royal Palm Hotel Galapagos
Royal Palm Hotel Galapagos
#11 of 24 in Santa Cruz
4.0 of 5 bubbles 174 reviews
6.4 mi away
Casa Natura Galapagos Lodge
Casa Natura Galapagos Lodge
#12 of 20 in Puerto Ayora
4.5 of 5 bubbles 34 reviews
12.2 mi away
Angermeyer Waterfront Inn
Angermeyer Waterfront Inn
#3 of 20 in Puerto Ayora
4.5 of 5 bubbles 336 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Galapagos Safari Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Galapagos Safari Camp

Property: Galapagos Safari Camp
Address: Finca Palo Santo, 200350, Ecuador
Location: Ecuador > Galapagos Islands > Santa Cruz
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 55 Specialty Lodging in Santa Cruz
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
GSC provides an authentic inland experience by offering 9 luxury safari tents – all with oceanview balcony- in an exclusive natural environment, both as an alternative or in addition to a sea-based travel itinerary. Tents are spacious with private bathroom and hot water. Guests gather by the fireplace in the main room to view the sunsets, taste our chef´s creative dishes in the panoramic dining room or enjoy the tranquility of the infinity pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Galapagos Safari Camp reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Galapagos Safari Camp Hotel Santa Cruz
Galapagos Safari Camp Galapagos Islands/Santa Cruz, Ecuador

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing