We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Consider this B&B rather than a hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Casa Playa Mann Galapagos
Certificate of Excellence
Bonita Springs, FL
Level Contributor
69 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Consider this B&B rather than a hotel”
Reviewed April 23, 2014

I read dozens of reviews of all the hotels on San Cristobal and was concerned about them. So I read the B&B reviews and chose the #1 rated .... Casa Playa Mann. Our party of 6 (Our 2 grandkids, our son and daughter-in-law and us) all agreed it was a great choice. The owner and staff are terrific. Lucia and Jose could not be more welcoming and responsive. The location, close to town but not too close, is excellent and the local places to visit range from interesting to remarkable. Do not miss La Loberia ... an excellent beach with lots of rocks, sealions, marine lizards, turtles etc. along the beach there is a natural pool area among the rocks, partially protected from the waves which contains sealions, turtles, fish etc. It was like having our own private aquarium and being able to swim in it! And if you love to snorkel get out to Kicker Rock.

Room Tip: The third floor is great ..... views over the natural harbor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cooksbay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

194 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    170
    17
    4
    1
    2
See reviews for
45
85
23
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
104 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed April 20, 2014 via mobile

The property is quirky, unpolished, yet attractive. The rooms are generally clean, air-conditioned, and comfortable. I cannot speak highly enough about the friendly and attentive owners. Breakfast was home-made and delicious. The only downside was the temperamental shower and the request to not put toilet paper in the toilets.

Stayed April 2014
Helpful?
Thank maxpfowler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed April 18, 2014 via mobile

Casa Playa Mann is in a perfect location a short walk from everything. The owners are super friendly and accommodating, and wow, the view is wonderful. Grab a bottle of wine, head to the roof terrace and enjoy a magical Galapagos sunset!!! Rooms are comfortable, but nothing lavish.

Stayed April 2014
Helpful?
Thank apogeea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Junction, Colorado
Level Contributor
130 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed March 23, 2014

We had a fine three days in March in this small hotel. The hotel seemed almost brand new, the owner is a most considerate and gracious host, the view from our 2nd story room directly to the beach is outstanding, and the yard in front and facing the beach is a fine place for relaxing in the warm afternoon or early evening. The sun sets beautifully over the beach. Breakfasts were good too. The museum and the town are ten minutes walks in different directions and a further walk toward the museum puts you on a hour long path through an entirely natural area from which you can return along the coast. We stayed in four hotels in different towns in the Galapagos. This was the best.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank williamhS4270EY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manorbier, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed March 13, 2014

we had a wonderful four days in this B and B, an easy walk into town for evening entertainment
and an even shorter walk to the lovely beach . The delightful hosts treated us like members of their family, undoubtedly the best accommodation during our two week stay in the Galapagos

Room Tip: we liked the ground floor with own terrace onto the garden
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PeterandGeorgie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed March 11, 2014

Stayed 3 days in this hotel in february 2014. Hotel is a 10min walk from town and has an ok beach right in front with lots of sea lions on it. Be ware of the alpha male sea lion that can be somewhat agressive.

Pros: The hotel is clean, rooms are clean, staff is very helpful and friendly, breakfast is good, aircon is quiet, views from the rooms over the harbour and the sea is stunning especially at sundown. The hotel staff is very helpful in arranging daytrips.

Cons: Double bed is narrow and matress of poor and cheap condition so you can feel any movement your partner makes. Room rate is elevated compared to what you can get in town. Actually we checked and would have been able to get a similar room with aircon (but no view) for 1/3rd of the price in town.

Other: The town is small, quiet with fiew ok restaurants. Shopping availability is ok. Best trip was to Kicker Rock (hundreds of shartks!!!) and Cero Brujo beach, one of the most beautiful beaches in the Galapagos. Dont miss this!

Room Tip: Double beds are no good quality so I would go for 2 single beds.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vm_denmark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Casa P, Propietario at Casa Playa Mann Galapagos, responded to this review, February 1, 2015
Thank you very much for your comment, we are really glad that you enjoyed your stay in Casa Playa Mann, we are always ready to make what ever is possible to give you the best experience in the Galapagos. We are taking note of your feedback in order to keep improving our service. We highly value your feedback, thanks a lot.
Lucia and Casa Playa Mann team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
55 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed March 1, 2014 via mobile

The best part of this hotel is that the owners of the hotel are your hosts and you are treated not as guests in the hotel but the guest in some close person's house. The personal attention and touch and feeling given by the owners of the hotel is commendable and words are less to explain that. The love and affection given by them was the best of all the places I have ever travelled till today in my life. Food was amazing as the love was also mixed in it.

In terms of the view from the hotel, the location of the hotel is d best. Out of the window, you just see the sea and the sky meeting at a distance. Half year sunset is in front of you in the evening and half year, morning sun rise is in front of you. When you wake up in the morning, the scene before your eyes is the best one which you would have ever seen before.

It is also very easily connected to the port and airport. So easily approachable.

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Abhigya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Puerto Baquerizo Moreno
0.1 mi away
Golden Bay Hotel & Spa
Golden Bay Hotel & Spa
#1 of 4 in Puerto Baquerizo Moreno
96 reviews
0.1 mi away
Casa Opuntia Galapagos
Casa Opuntia Galapagos
#2 of 4 in Puerto Baquerizo Moreno
184 reviews
0.3 mi away
Galapagos Sunset
Galapagos Sunset
#3 of 4 in Puerto Baquerizo Moreno
31 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hotel Mar Azul
Hotel Mar Azul
#2 of 8 in San Cristobal
88 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Miconia
Hotel Miconia
#4 of 8 in San Cristobal
81 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Eco Hotel Arena Blanca
The Eco Hotel Arena Blanca
#6 of 8 in San Cristobal
66 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Playa Mann Galapagos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Playa Mann Galapagos

Property: Casa Playa Mann Galapagos
Address: | Via a Playa Mann, Puerto Baquerizo Moreno 593, Ecuador
Location: Ecuador > Galapagos Islands > San Cristobal > Puerto Baquerizo Moreno
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Puerto Baquerizo Moreno
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Casa Playa Mann Galapagos 3.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casa Playa Mann is a new HOTEL located in San Cristobal-Galapagos. Besides its location two minutes from its namesake beach and 8 minutes walking far from Downtown. Casa Playa Mann has 4 romantic and amazin SUITES OCEAN VIEW, King Bed, Flat TV, Refrigerator, bar, A.C., Big private terrace with a wonderful 180° Sea View and Hamacs. At CASA PLAYA MANN HOTEL, its infrastructure, activities, and services are all aligned with the theme of eco tourism, a leading example of a growing endemic environmental ethic in the center of one of the most precious natural tresasures left in the world. Free CASA PLAYA MANN BREAKFAST includes: (tea, Galapagos' organic coffee, milk, yogurt, cereals, fruits of the season, juice, jam, butter, bread or muchin or green bananas' tortilla, and eggs). Personal atenttion of his owner, Lucia!!!. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline and Hotel.de so you can book your Casa Playa Mann Galapagos reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Playa Mann Galapagos Galapagos Islands/San Cristobal, Ecuador

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing