We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Yin Yang” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Casa Opuntia Galapagos

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Casa Opuntia Galapagos
Scottsdale, Arizona
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Yin Yang”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013

The hotel is in a great location. It's at the end of the ocean front walkway. The tourist shops and restaurants are a stone throw away. There's sea lions that like to bask right in front of the hotel on the walkway.

The staff is ready to help you in any way, but the hotel needs the most help. We had several rooms including lower and upper floor rooms. The upper floor rooms had a balcony facing the ocean and a rear balcony facing the pool. The room was very bright and spacious. Very nice room except for the bare electrical wiring next to the water. The women loved the room.

The lower floor rooms either faced the ocean or the pool. The rooms were much smaller and seemed darker since the drapes were drawn unless you wanted everyone to be looking into your room. The left and right edges of the drapes also didn't cover the window so everyone could see into your room at night unless you put up a towel The water damaged ceiling or the paint peeling off the wall didn't help in one of the rooms. No soap holder in the shower or bathmats is a negative for me.

Some of the rooms had hot water while other didn't because they used an instantaneous hot water system for the rooms. They did try to fix it, but gave erratic results.

The restaurant is outside overlooking the ocean. The food was good especially the freshly deep fried plantains. The only problem were the little birds that would come in and occasionally leave droppings on the table.

The pool didn't look crystal clear (most likely a sand filter instead of a DE filter), but who swims in the pool while in the Galapagos. We used it get rid of the saltwater in our scuba equipment.

They also have a cistern with drinking water so you can fill up your Camelback or canteen before you take off for a day of adventure.

They have free internet. You may have to go to the front office since the signal strength isn't really strong, but it's nice to keep in touch with the real world outside of paradise.

Would be good if you know some Spanish since the staff isn't too well versed in English, but I didn't have a problem in getting everything I wanted. The staff really wants to please you.

Depending on the room you get here you'll be kinda happy or extremely happy

.

Room Tip: The upper floor rooms are nice. They have a balcony facing the ocean and the pool. The first floor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank FoodieBackpacker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

162 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    47
    67
    28
    12
    8
See reviews for
30
79
10
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sugar Land
Level Contributor
274 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

The location is outstanding. The outside dining and food are great. However the rooms need work. Hot water was sometimes unavailable and sometimes scalding. Finding a happy medium was a challenge and one could feel a strong sense of accomplishment when completed. Some light bulbs were burnt out and one member of our group had no electricity in their room for a day. That being said, if this is the best on the island, I'd stay there again to experience the island.

Room Tip: Make sure you get an oceanfront view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Greg W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Anselmo, California, United States
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013

This was our first stop in the Galapagos and we had no idea what to expect. This was probably the nicest inn in the area and felt very homey. The food was really great and even though they didn't provide a menu they ask when you check in if there is anything you don't eat. Our food was all really fantastic especially the Ceviche. Our room had a nice view. It wasn't the fanciest but it was adequate. The management and staff made our stay very pleasant.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Karen R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniela M, Customer Service at Casa Opuntia Galapagos, responded to this review, June 26, 2013
Dear Karen R
Thank you very much for your comment. On behalf of our team, we are very happy to hear that you have enjoyed your stay at Casa Opuntia. Our goal is to provide an excellent service. We work hard to make our guests' experiences unforgettable, and we are glad that we could help to make your Galapagos trip a great one!

Thanks again for your good reference. We look forward to seeing you again soon!

Warm Regards,
Customer Service
Hotel Casa Opuntia
San Cristobal – Galapagos Islands
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OKC
Level Contributor
29 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

Wasn't sure what to expect after reading some reviews but all in all this was a pleasant little hotel. Not a 5 star resort by any stretch, but I wouldn't expect too much on an island that has a population of around 2000 people.The staff were truly exceptional and made our entire tour group feel like honored guests in their home. We were fortunate enough to have a view of the ocean bay so in that respect we got lucky. The simple fact that you just walked down the stairs to sea lions galore was enough for my wife. A great stay, wonderful food and a great way to start a 5 day vacation of the Galapagos.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank outta_boundsOkc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniela M, Customer Service at Casa Opuntia Galapagos, responded to this review, June 26, 2013
Dear Outta bounds Okc,

Thank you very much for taking time to give us a comment; on behalf of our team we are happy you hear we made a great stat for you vacations in Galapagos. We believe that our location is a real asset not only because the hotel is really close to the pier, but also for the great ocean views.

Thanks again for choosing us and we await for your return to Casa Opuntia.

Warm Regards,
Customer Service
Hotel Casa Opuntia
San Cristobal – Galapagos Islands
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
188 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

This was our first stop on our Galapagos trip and I discovered quickly that many houses and properties are in a constant state of building- new floors being added or walls being finished. So seeing construction equipment or exposed re-bar isn't necessarily indicative of a bad property.

The hotel is in the midst of adding another floor and the pool seemed to be somewhat under-construction.
Our rooms were fine- one had an ocean view and was a bit nicer than the other. The rooms were simple but comfortable. The AC worked.

What pushes this hotel up above average is that the staff was super-friendly, the food was excellent, and the location superb.

We ate most of our meals here and were impressed for each one- fresh juices, excellent ceviche, as well as simple dishes for our picky kids.

The location is excellent- right above the boardwalk overlooking the harbor. Plenty of places to walk and explore. Sea lions everywhere which was fun to observe.

Not a luxury hotel but a simple place to get some sleep and enjoy the island.

Room Tip: Ask for an ocean view room if you can get it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Adam M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ghent, Belgium
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

Every year we travel to galapagos and spend one night before boarding a dive Live aboard. Staff is friendly, breakfast is perfect, Beer is cold, easy acces and always noisy Sea Lions clos by ... really fun. But ... they can improve the rooms ... noisy airco and indeed mosquito nets ... the bathrooms had their time. We will still book Opuntia as we get good prices, but they have to upgrade the rooms !

Room Tip: Always ask Ocean View ... great !!!!!!!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PaulVDE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniela M, Customer Service at Casa Opuntia Galapagos, responded to this review, March 20, 2013
Dear Paul:

Thank you very much for taking the time to leave a comment. It’s great to hear that you choose us every year for your Galapagos vacation! We are glad that you enjoy the facilities and find staying with us to be a good value.

We appreciate your feedback about the condition of the rooms. We have gotten a bit behind on maintenance lately due to a particularly strong rainy season that caused some damages to the property, but we are committed to fix these issues in the coming months. Rest assured that the property will be in a much better state soon! Again, thanks for letting us know. We are always trying to improve, and guest input, especially from valued customers like you, is essential to this process.

Thanks again for choosing us… we look forward to seeing you next year!

Warm Regards,
Customer Service
Hotel Casa Opuntia
San Cristobal – Galapagos Islands
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
118 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013 via mobile

It is a shabby , run down, dirty and depressing place! Our travel agent booked us for 2 nights and we are desperately trying to leave earlier. The airco is so loud that you can't leave it on for the night. The mosquito nets are full of holes. The room is full with urine smell. The bathroom is falling into pieces. This is truly your nightmare hotel!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Laetiha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniela M, Customer Service at Casa Opuntia Galapagos, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
Dear Laetisz:

Thank you for your comment. Your input is very important to us. We are sorry to hear that you were not satisfied with your stay at our hotel, and we extend our sincere apologies. We do suggest that guests experiencing any inconveniences speak with our hotel staff in person. Our staff does everything they can to accommodate our guests, and it often possible to find a solution or a way to compensate you on the spot.

We kindly ask you to consider that the rainy season is under full swing in the Galapagos, and during your stay there was a particular strong storm that caused some damages to our property. Casa Opuntia is painted white, and it is quite difficult to keep the grounds looking perfect in these conditions.

Our room cleaning and maintenance schedule is quite rigorous, and the vast majority of our guests are very satisfied with the cleanliness and condition of their rooms, including bathrooms and air conditioners. Again, we ask our guests to report any issues to our staff immediately in order to take the appropriate actions to correct them. This sort of issue in particular is often fixable right away.

Please contact us at sales4@opuntiahotels.com in order to find a way to compensate you for any inconveniences you may have experienced during your stay in Galapagos.

Warm Regards,
Customer Service
Hotel Casa Opuntia
San Cristobal – Galapagos Islands
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Puerto Baquerizo Moreno
0.0 mi away
Golden Bay Hotel & Spa
Golden Bay Hotel & Spa
#1 of 4 in Puerto Baquerizo Moreno
5.0 of 5 stars 46 reviews
0.2 mi away
Galapagos Sunset
Galapagos Sunset
#3 of 4 in Puerto Baquerizo Moreno
3.5 of 5 stars 10 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Eco Hotel Arena Blanca
The Eco Hotel Arena Blanca
#4 of 8 in San Cristobal
3.5 of 5 stars 57 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Miconia
Hotel Miconia
#5 of 8 in San Cristobal
3.5 of 5 stars 69 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Mar Azul
Hotel Mar Azul
#2 of 8 in San Cristobal
4.0 of 5 stars 71 reviews
0.1 mi away
Galapagos Casa Playa Mann
Galapagos Casa Playa Mann
#2 of 13 in Puerto Baquerizo Moreno
5.0 of 5 stars 168 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Opuntia Galapagos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Opuntia Galapagos

Property: Casa Opuntia Galapagos
Address: Charles Darwin S/N | Playa de Oro, Puerto Baquerizo Moreno 179217, Ecuador
Location: Ecuador > Galapagos Islands > San Cristobal > Puerto Baquerizo Moreno
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Restaurant Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Puerto Baquerizo Moreno
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Casa Opuntia Galapagos 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casa Opuntia is a Comfort class hotel, with its 13 cozy rooms is one of the best accommodation in San Cristobal Island. The hotel overlooks the boardwalk and is only a few meters away from Playa de Oro Beach. Casa Opuntia's restaurant features some of San Cristobal's best sea food dishes to be enjoyed surrounded by endemic gardens and perfect ocean views. It has a small swimming pool and an outside bar that are always open to welcome our guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Casa Opuntia Galapagos reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Opuntia Galapagos Hotel Puerto Baquerizo Moreno
Casa Opuntia Galapagos Galapagos Islands/San Cristobal, Ecuador

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing