We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Room no 15” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hostal Casa de Laura

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in San Cristobal
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hostal Casa de Laura
Ranked #4 of 24 San Cristobal B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Colorado
Level Contributor
236 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 200 helpful votes
“Room no 15”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 8, 2013

Upon arrival we were shown two rooms, one much smaller, a bedroom and shower only and another, larger room, that also had a nice kitchen/dining area. We opted for the latter, but immediately discovered that the gas stove does not have a gas. We were able to negotiate a lower price with Jan, Laura’s daughter, who did not seem to be inclined to have the gas purchased.
The room overlooked the nice garden, the dining area was spacious with a small fridge, table, two chairs, pots, pans, plates, utensils. It had all we needed to prepare the breakfasts.
The bathroom was tiny, but sufficient, the place was quite clean.

The guest can use Laura’s cloth line to hang their cloth to dry.
The wifi did not really work in the room, we always had to go to the front area.

Jan gave us overview of the island and its attractions and suggested a tour operator for Kicker rock, who we did not end up using as their prices were much higher then the competitors.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Boleslav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

114 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    60
    37
    11
    1
    5
See reviews for
10
48
19
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
SALT LAKE CITY
Level Contributor
17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2013

I stayed here for three nights before a cruise in the Galapagos. The room was clean. The location is very convenient. It was more than you could expect for $22/night. The woman who runs it was incredibly nice and helpful.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jringgen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
74 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 25, 2013

The hotel has a beautiful courtyard with gorgeous flowers - good for hanging out with fellow travelers after a day of adventures. The location is really good too, close to the waterfront. The rooms are average and really need some improvement. The bathroom is tiny, with no room to put your toiletries, or even hang more than one towel. The shower is electric - you can actually see wires attached to the shower head - makes you feel very uneasy. There's a price list of how much things cost if you break them....and it's not cheap. You pay hundreds if break a mattress??!?! It wouldn't be that disconcerting if the room was in a better shape and didn't look like it was falling apart to begin with.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank TravelNat8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hostal Casa d, Propietario at Hostal Casa de Laura, responded to this review, April 26, 2013
Thanks for your feedbacks.
Casa de Laura is concern about the damages that guests might cause. The prices on the list in case of any damage are the REAL prices and costs that we have to pay in Galapagos (600 miles off the mainland). As you noticed in Galapagos everything is double expensive because everything is transported from the mainland. Sure your guide should have told you that. Personally I check the conditions of the implements regularly and I´m commited to offer good, confortable and clean accomodations. that is why yours and other Travel agencies contacted me.
regards,

Laura
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nyc
Level Contributor
97 reviews
88 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 19, 2013

I stayed in this hotel with a group so I'm unsure of price. The room was ok. The bathroom was very small and i'm very short but I still felt like I was too big for the shower. We were also warned by our tour guide that the sinks weren't properly affixed so too be very careful when using them as they could fall on the floor. We were also warned to check to make sure everything worked and was in good condition immediately as to not get charged for someone else's damage. There was a list in the room with outrageous prices for broken beds, remote controls etc. I was in my room with the A/C n and the owner must have thought no one was in the room b/c she knocked and ran away when I answered. Other guests stated that if they left A/C on when they returned it was shut off. The gardens and location were nice but I was very put off by the price list for damages that I could not recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank gijadenyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hostal Casa d, Propietario at Hostal Casa de Laura, responded to this review, April 26, 2013
Thanks for your feedbacks.
Casa de Laura is concern about the damages that guests might cause. The prices on the list in case of any damage are the REAL prices and costs that we have to pay in Galapagos (600 miles off the mainland). Sometimes the people dont want to assume the cost of the damages. and for the realloy affordable rate that you pay we cant cover the cost . As you noticed in Galapagos everything is double expensive because everything is transported from the mainland. Sure your guide should have told you that. Personally I check the conditions of the implements regularly and I´m commited to offer good, confortable and clean accomodations. that is why yours and other Travel agencies contacted me.


regards,

Laura
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wisconsin
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 16, 2013

We booked directly with the owner, Laura, and had specifically requested an air conditioned room (we speak Spanish fluently). Arriving from a grueling rough ferry ride, we were taken to a decent room but the air conditioner didn't work. Laura said the previous guest had complained but that she herself didn't sleep in the room at night so how was she to know and anyway there was no one on the island to fix it. It was take it or leave and she rudely suggested we just find another room. No suggestion of helping us do so, calling a taxi for our luggage, or apology. Beware!!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mariapio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hostal Casa d, Propietario at Hostal Casa de Laura, responded to this review, April 26, 2013
We are so sorry for this inconvenient.
The A/C works well in every room and normally takes 5 minutes for the A/C to cool the room.
I say that to every guest. You should understand that is a small hostel within an island.
we try to safe energy wich is very expensive. for that reason we can´t wait for you with the A/C on.
We have to be patient until it cools.

You told me that you wanted to leave the hostal as soon as possible, I did offer you to call a taxi but you said no. You should understand that my hostal is the only one with Hot water; A/C and Free WIFI and a good location for that affordable price in Casa de Laura.

regards,

Laura
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, Michigan
Level Contributor
38 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 20, 2013

Clean, lots of hot water, air conditioned with a wonderful garden full of flowers, close to town but very quiet, a real gem of a spot. Laura is very helpful. We highly recommend this spot. A short 5 minute walk, turn left off the boat ferry, or on your left as you enter town from the airport.

Room Tip: Second floor has a nice balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ThorYUL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
37 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 1, 2013

This is a comfortable place to stay in San Cristobal. Beautiful garden with 15 simple, colorful, basic rooms. Laura is friendly and helpful. The wifi is only available in the outdoor patio area by the reception and works pretty well. The air conditioning is pretty loud, but there is also a ceiling fan. A good value.
If you like ceviche, the best in San Cristobal, and maybe in all Ecuador, is right next door at Ceviche de Colorado.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank aurayah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Cristobal hotels
0.4 mi away
Casa Opuntia Galapagos
Casa Opuntia Galapagos
#2 of 4 in Puerto Baquerizo Moreno
4.0 of 5 bubbles 166 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Mar Azul
Hotel Mar Azul
#2 of 8 in San Cristobal
4.0 of 5 bubbles 74 reviews
0.4 mi away
Golden Bay Hotel & Spa
Golden Bay Hotel & Spa
#1 of 4 in Puerto Baquerizo Moreno
5.0 of 5 bubbles 60 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The Eco Hotel Arena Blanca
The Eco Hotel Arena Blanca
#5 of 8 in San Cristobal
3.5 of 5 bubbles 59 reviews
0.2 mi away
Galapagos Sunset
Galapagos Sunset
#3 of 4 in Puerto Baquerizo Moreno
4.0 of 5 bubbles 13 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Los Algarrobos
Hotel Los Algarrobos
#1 of 12 in Puerto Baquerizo Moreno
4.5 of 5 bubbles 87 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostal Casa de Laura? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostal Casa de Laura

Property: Hostal Casa de Laura
Address: Callejon 2, Avenida Armada Nacional | Av. Armada Nacional y 2DO callejon, Ecuador
Location: Ecuador > Galapagos Islands > San Cristobal
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 24 B&Bs / Inns in San Cristobal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 15
Also Known As:
Hostal Casa De Laura San Cristobal, Galapagos Islands, Ecuador

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing