We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“no air conditioning as promised”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in San Cristobal
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hostal Casa de Laura
Ranked #7 of 27 San Cristobal B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 16, 2013

We booked directly with the owner, Laura, and had specifically requested an air conditioned room (we speak Spanish fluently). Arriving from a grueling rough ferry ride, we were taken to a decent room but the air conditioner didn't work. Laura said the previous guest had complained but that she herself didn't sleep in the room at night so how was she to know and anyway there was no one on the island to fix it. It was take it or leave and she rudely suggested we just find another room. No suggestion of helping us do so, calling a taxi for our luggage, or apology. Beware!!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank mariapio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hostal Casa d, Propietario at Hostal Casa de Laura, responded to this reviewResponded April 26, 2013

We are so sorry for this inconvenient.
The A/C works well in every room and normally takes 5 minutes for the A/C to cool the room.
I say that to every guest. You should understand that is a small hostel within an island.
we try to safe energy wich is very expensive. for that reason we can´t wait for you with the A/C on.
We have to be patient until it cools.

You told me that you wanted to leave the hostal as soon as possible, I did offer you to call a taxi but you said no. You should understand that my hostal is the only one with Hot water; A/C and Free WIFI and a good location for that affordable price in Casa de Laura.

regards,

Laura

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (127)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

68 - 74 of 127 reviews

Reviewed March 20, 2013

Clean, lots of hot water, air conditioned with a wonderful garden full of flowers, close to town but very quiet, a real gem of a spot. Laura is very helpful. We highly recommend this spot. A short 5 minute walk, turn left off the boat ferry, or on your left as you enter town from the airport.

Room Tip: Second floor has a nice balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ThorYUL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 1, 2013

This is a comfortable place to stay in San Cristobal. Beautiful garden with 15 simple, colorful, basic rooms. Laura is friendly and helpful. The wifi is only available in the outdoor patio area by the reception and works pretty well. The air conditioning is pretty loud, but there is also a ceiling fan. A good value.
If you like ceviche, the best in San Cristobal, and maybe in all Ecuador, is right next door at Ceviche de Colorado.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank aurayah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 28, 2012

We loved this nice hostal for the service, the nice enviroment and the more than fair price. I am not sure if we where "upgraded" but we got a small apartment with living room, fridge, zink, private bathroom and bedroom. There is wi-fi in the the common areas and they do offer advice on what to do in English and Spanish without having set operators that they work with.
It is 10 minutes WALK from the airport, 5 minutes from "downtown" and 1 minute from the sealions. We would go again and loved our 4 nights here.

Room Tip: If you need more space they do have small apartments as well as normal rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Kirsten F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 12, 2012

very clean, comfortable and in a great location. 5 mins in taxi from the airport and a 5 min walk to the ferry terminal. Laura is a lovely host and very helpful, providing local information and tips, great price would highly recommend. Wifi not the greatest but who cares your in San Cristobal!

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Skidz1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2012

We were wet cold and miserable after a tough boat journey and searching for a cheap option with a hot shower. We checked out the well know affordable hostels on the main st but they didnt have hot water (or were unattended), on the edge of giving up my wife decided to wander down one more block and came back 15 mins with a big smile on her face. This excellent hostal had great hot showers but even more so had large rooms with comfortable beds and some of the nicest linen we have seen in a while. The owner took pity on us and brought cups of hot water to the room so we could make coffee and warm up!
There grounds are lovely with well maintained gardens and hammocks. All this for only a fraction more than the rundown hostels on the main street - you only need to walk around the bay for another 5 minutes! (and you get to see another 100 or so sealions on the way). Recommended

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank teamflames
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2012

We stayed at the Hostal Casa de Laura as part of a larger tour group (16 of us total). It is a nice place to rest your head as you embark on the adventure that is the Galapagos islands. The rooms are basic but clean, with air conditioning units and fans in each room (however they are a bit loud). Hot water was always available, thanks to the interesting electrical wiring to the shower-head in the bathroom. The grounds are lovely with hammocks available to enjoy the evenings outside. Wi-fi is available in the common areas and has decent connection strength, even to use Skype. Casa de Laura is also very close to the main stretch in town with easy access to the restaurants, shops and shoreline abounding in wildlife. We were happy with our stay at Casa de Laura.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 30_by_thirty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Cristobal hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Mar Azul
Hotel Mar Azul
#4 of 8 in San Cristobal
95 reviews
0.5 mi away
Casa Opuntia Galapagos
Casa Opuntia Galapagos
#2 of 4 in Puerto Baquerizo Moreno
211 reviews
0.5 mi away
Golden Bay Hotel & Spa
Golden Bay Hotel & Spa
#1 of 4 in Puerto Baquerizo Moreno
125 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The Eco Hotel Arena Blanca
The Eco Hotel Arena Blanca
#6 of 8 in San Cristobal
70 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Los Algarrobos
Hotel Los Algarrobos
#2 of 13 in Puerto Baquerizo Moreno
110 reviews
0.3 mi away
La Zayapa Hotel
La Zayapa Hotel
#3 of 16 in Puerto Baquerizo Moreno
83 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostal Casa de Laura? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostal Casa de Laura

Address: Callejon 2, Avenida Armada Nacional | Av. Armada Nacional y 2DO callejon, Ecuador
Location: Ecuador > Galapagos Islands > San Cristobal
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 27 B&Bs / Inns in San Cristobal
Price Range: $20 - $40 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 15
Also Known As:
Hostal Casa De Laura San Cristobal, Galapagos Islands, Ecuador

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing