We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Fantastic hotel in galapagos” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Blue Marlin Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Blue Marlin Hotel
Ranked #11 of 24 San Cristobal B&B and Inns
Quito, Ecuador
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Fantastic hotel in galapagos”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013 via mobile

Stayed a week in february and loved the hotel. Clean and modern rooms, hot water, and even wifi...pretty good for galapagos. Staff was all very nice as well. There are not many options for hotels in galapagos and hard to find better at this price point.

Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank Matt K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

47 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    16
    21
    6
    2
    2
See reviews for
15
11
4
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
50 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013 via mobile

We arrived on San Cristobal without prior booking and found most mid and top range hotels fully booked. We were really lucky to stumble accross Blue Marlin - you get new spacious rooms and huge bathrooms for half the price of the few top range hotels! Stayed for 5 nights and enjoyed every single one. The pool and relaxing area are really nice, breafast area as well. Loved the fridge/minibar. We heard some other guests complaining about the noise (nearby bar, rooster next door) but all was good in room no 8 where we stayed. Perfect ending to our trip and fully recommend this hotel for everyone! Very good value for money. Hint: the beds in twin rooms (cheaper) are big enough for 2.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank EveTrav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Level Contributor
147 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2012

We stayed here for two nights with our tour group. Rooms were large, clean, and beds were comfortable. Breakfast was good. The bathrooms have locking doors and the keys are in the room, so we could lock our belongings in the room when we were out. My only complaint is that whoever cleaned the room unlocked the bathroom door and put the extra keys, which I put inside the bathroom, back out into the room. It is an easy walk to get anywhere in town but it is located in a quiet area away from the main streets.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank grizz9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Langley City, Canada
Level Contributor
117 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2012

We stayed here for two nights during our Galapagos adventure. We enjoyed the central courtyard and the pool. Everything is walking distance from here. The rooms were very clean and the air conditioning worked well.

The beds were firm and I have to say that some, not all , of the pillows were hysterically hard...really weirdly spongy hard...like a couch. No give...just a spongy brick.

We had breakfast organised through G adventures so I am not certain if it is provided for all guests. It was very good.

The only neg: The doors are have a little gap and being in the tropics some bugs sneak in..mostly huge crickets but some harry potter sized spiders...problem solved by laying a towel in front of the door at night and doing a bedcheck before turning out the lights. Bugs and geckos are everywhere in the Galapagos...expect them to visit no matter how clean the room is.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank happyroo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aurora, Canada
Level Contributor
49 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2012

We stayed at this hotel, for 3 nights, part of our Gap Adventure holiday. The Blue Marlin hotel is brand new. I think only has been open for 2 months. The hotel is family owned and the whole family helps in running the hotel, cleaning, serving breakfast and catering to their guests. The rooms are very very clean, comfortable, plenty of hot water. There is a mini bar in the room (priced right), AC works great, outdoor heated pool, and free wifi. The free breakfast in the morning was great and served fast.
The hotel is located 2-3 blocks from the ocean.
The only downside, you can hear the neighbours roosters crowing in the middle of the night.
I would very much recommend this hotel to anyone.

Room Tip: All the rooms are very nice. Choose if possible the rooms on the north side. You won't hear th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank cotss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Cristobal hotels
0.3 mi away
Golden Bay Hotel & Spa
Golden Bay Hotel & Spa
#1 of 4 in Puerto Baquerizo Moreno
5.0 of 5 stars 40 reviews
0.2 mi away
Casa Opuntia Galapagos
Casa Opuntia Galapagos
#2 of 4 in Puerto Baquerizo Moreno
4.0 of 5 stars 158 reviews
0.1 mi away
Galapagos Sunset
Galapagos Sunset
#3 of 4 in Puerto Baquerizo Moreno
4.0 of 5 stars 7 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Los Algarrobos
Hotel Los Algarrobos
#1 of 12 in Puerto Baquerizo Moreno
4.5 of 5 stars 80 reviews
0.4 mi away
Galapagos Casa Playa Mann
Galapagos Casa Playa Mann
#2 of 13 in Puerto Baquerizo Moreno
5.0 of 5 stars 165 reviews
0.1 mi away
La Zayapa
La Zayapa
#4 of 13 in Puerto Baquerizo Moreno
4.0 of 5 stars 44 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blue Marlin Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Marlin Hotel

Property: Blue Marlin Hotel
Address: Av. Alsacio Northia y Espanola, Ecuador
Location: Ecuador > Galapagos Islands > San Cristobal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 24 B&Bs / Inns in San Cristobal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Blue Marlin Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blue Marlin Hotel San Cristobal, Galapagos Islands, Ecuador

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing