We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic hotel in galapagos”
Review of Blue Marlin Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Blue Marlin Hotel
Ranked #13 of 26 San Cristobal B&B and Inns
Quito, Ecuador
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Fantastic hotel in galapagos”
Reviewed March 16, 2013 via mobile

Stayed a week in february and loved the hotel. Clean and modern rooms, hot water, and even wifi...pretty good for galapagos. Staff was all very nice as well. There are not many options for hotels in galapagos and hard to find better at this price point.

Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank Matt K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

57 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    19
    24
    9
    3
    2
See reviews for
17
13
6
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brussels, Belgium
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed January 10, 2013 via mobile

We arrived on San Cristobal without prior booking and found most mid and top range hotels fully booked. We were really lucky to stumble accross Blue Marlin - you get new spacious rooms and huge bathrooms for half the price of the few top range hotels! Stayed for 5 nights and enjoyed every single one. The pool and relaxing area are really nice, breafast area as well. Loved the fridge/minibar. We heard some other guests complaining about the noise (nearby bar, rooster next door) but all was good in room no 8 where we stayed. Perfect ending to our trip and fully recommend this hotel for everyone! Very good value for money. Hint: the beds in twin rooms (cheaper) are big enough for 2.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank EveTrav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Level 6 Contributor
159 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
Reviewed June 22, 2012

We stayed here for two nights with our tour group. Rooms were large, clean, and beds were comfortable. Breakfast was good. The bathrooms have locking doors and the keys are in the room, so we could lock our belongings in the room when we were out. My only complaint is that whoever cleaned the room unlocked the bathroom door and put the extra keys, which I put inside the bathroom, back out into the room. It is an easy walk to get anywhere in town but it is located in a quiet area away from the main streets.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank grizz9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Langley City, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
121 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed June 7, 2012

We stayed here for two nights during our Galapagos adventure. We enjoyed the central courtyard and the pool. Everything is walking distance from here. The rooms were very clean and the air conditioning worked well.

The beds were firm and I have to say that some, not all , of the pillows were hysterically hard...really weirdly spongy hard...like a couch. No give...just a spongy brick.

We had breakfast organised through G adventures so I am not certain if it is provided for all guests. It was very good.

The only neg: The doors are have a little gap and being in the tropics some bugs sneak in..mostly huge crickets but some harry potter sized spiders...problem solved by laying a towel in front of the door at night and doing a bedcheck before turning out the lights. Bugs and geckos are everywhere in the Galapagos...expect them to visit no matter how clean the room is.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank happyroo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aurora, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed January 17, 2012

We stayed at this hotel, for 3 nights, part of our Gap Adventure holiday. The Blue Marlin hotel is brand new. I think only has been open for 2 months. The hotel is family owned and the whole family helps in running the hotel, cleaning, serving breakfast and catering to their guests. The rooms are very very clean, comfortable, plenty of hot water. There is a mini bar in the room (priced right), AC works great, outdoor heated pool, and free wifi. The free breakfast in the morning was great and served fast.
The hotel is located 2-3 blocks from the ocean.
The only downside, you can hear the neighbours roosters crowing in the middle of the night.
I would very much recommend this hotel to anyone.

Room Tip: All the rooms are very nice. Choose if possible the rooms on the north side. You won't hear th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank cotss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Cristobal hotels
0.2 mi away
Casa Opuntia Galapagos
Casa Opuntia Galapagos
#2 of 4 in Puerto Baquerizo Moreno
189 reviews
0.3 mi away
Golden Bay Hotel & Spa
Golden Bay Hotel & Spa
#1 of 4 in Puerto Baquerizo Moreno
102 reviews
0.1 mi away
Galapagos Sunset
Galapagos Sunset
#3 of 4 in Puerto Baquerizo Moreno
33 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Miconia
Hotel Miconia
#4 of 8 in San Cristobal
82 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Mar Azul
Hotel Mar Azul
#2 of 8 in San Cristobal
89 reviews
0.1 mi away
La Zayapa Hotel
La Zayapa Hotel
#3 of 15 in Puerto Baquerizo Moreno
75 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blue Marlin Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Marlin Hotel

Property: Blue Marlin Hotel
Address: Av. Alsacio Northia y Espanola, Ecuador
Location: Ecuador > Galapagos Islands > San Cristobal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 26 B&Bs / Inns in San Cristobal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Blue Marlin Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blue Marlin Hotel San Cristobal, Galapagos Islands, Ecuador

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing