We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice beach, but nothing else”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Puerto Chino Beach

Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Colorado
Level Contributor
260 reviews
148 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 216 helpful votes
“Nice beach, but nothing else”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 8, 2013

It seems that this beach is always on the itineraries of everyone who visits Junco lake and Galapaguera.
It is nice beach with some lava rocks, but if you are not into just beaches, there is not a whole lot to do.
We tried to snorkel to the right side of the beach, past the lava rocks and there in we were able to see some stingrays, fish, but the waves were beating the rock a bit.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Boleslav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

238 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    167
    60
    9
    2
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Guayaquil, Guayas, Ecuador
Level Contributor
31 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Peaceful and beautiful”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 1, 2013

This beach is amazing. It has turquoise water , white sand like any caribean beach which is kind of a contradiction since it is located at the pacific ocean. We had a great time in the water but if you want to see animals this is not the right place. We went there to complement our visit to la galapaguera, Laguna el junco and Casa ceibo. My kids loved Casa ceibo. The only bad thing about puerto chino where the tabanos ( large flies that bite you once you get out from the water ) and Mosquitos , if you go there bring some insect repellent

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Cristina L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
25 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Paradise”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 21, 2013

Stunning beach, white sand, clear water with turtles swimming around. Blue footed boobies, iguanas, sea lions, pelicans and the friendliest little finches. Had a finch perching on my arm. Loved this beach. We took a day tour with our hotel owner and visited the beach in the afternoon. Longish way to go but is one of my favourite galapagos memories.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Kayljay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
84 reviews
58 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Nothing special as far as beaches go”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 13, 2013

Lots of horse flies
No snorkeling because water is murkey from sand an no critters. We only saw one pelican and one sealion

Helpful?
Thank kayrez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 attraction reviews
“Nice place, but a lot of Mosquitos”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 5, 2013

Nice sand and water. No stay for more than 2 hours. Place is far away from town have to take taxi around 15 usd each way or do the tour for 25 per person...................................................

Helpful?
Thank Nachocd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Puerto Chino Beach also viewed

Puerto Baquerizo Moreno, San Cristobal
San Cristobal, Galapagos Islands
 
Puerto Baquerizo Moreno, San Cristobal
San Cristobal, Galapagos Islands
 

Been to Puerto Chino Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing