We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location for basic stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Miconia

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Miconia
Ranked #5 of 8 Hotels in San Cristobal
New Jersey
Level Contributor
88 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Good location for basic stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

I stayed here for a week as I joined my friends for daily fishing expeditions. It is located right next to the pier (where all the incoming tourists come in via water taxi) at the end of the 'boardwalk' that is the town of San Cristobal.

I was in Room 15, which is on the 3rd floor. The air conditioning and refrigerator worked. It took me a while to figure out how to get hot water from the shower, as it uses some kind of mini-electric hot water device. There is no hot water from the sink, however. There is afternoon music from the downstairs gym, which may bother you if you decided to stay in your room during the day (not sure why you're not exploring the island). The room was made every day. Wi-fi signal is iffy at best; it usually works better down by the lobby.

The breakfast is the same every day - eggs, toast, coffee, juice, fruit. One night they did prepare us sizzling tuna steaks (yellowfin tuna) - that we caught earlier. Pizza Miconia was interesting - odd ingredients, but very tasty after our group drank up a bottle of Bacardi outside in the rain.

Kathy is the very friendly proprietor - make sure to find and talk to her. She also runs some kind of Zumba class during the day in the gym, go check it out for eye candy.

Listen folks, this is not your typical Hilton, Holiday Inn, or even a Motel 6. Take a look at the entire neighborhood and you'll appreciate the charm of this place. I have to laugh at the person who ordered a banana and complained about getting a ripe one ... maybe he/she should stick to vacation locations that have Ritz-Carlton hotels. I mean come on, we are talking about a third world country here.

Tips: If staying here for an extended period, take a probiotic pill daily. Don't drink tap water - brush your teeth with bottled water, and spit out water when showering. Avoid pre-cut fruits and salads (I did not eat the breakfast fruits), which may be washed in unclean tap water. Ice is ok, they get them from a facility that uses bottled water.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ydrone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

70 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    11
    27
    16
    6
    10
See reviews for
12
27
5
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam
Level Contributor
24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012

I came in to have breakfast --luckily I did not stay here. The staff is hostile, the food mediocre, and wi-fi did not work. the style of the place is ok and the location is nice. certainly not recommended.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ellepiam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these San Cristobal hotels

New York
Level Contributor
41 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2012

We got a ground floor room with two separate bedrooms (reading the reviews it looks like every room must be different). We had a tiny sitting room and separate sink/bathroom area. I loved the room - even though it was dark, and the fridge didn't work, the bed was very comfortable, and while the room was very rustic, the linens, bathroom and floors were clean. The outside/courtyard area is a very prettily landscaped pool with lounging chairs, and plenty of yellow warblers to admire! The lobby area is open to the street, the lobby is NOT always staffed, there's no security to speak of. The restaurant is an open style balcony above the lobby area and the prices were ridiculously cheap for decent and fresh food. Breakfast was fine - coffee, fruit, JUICE, rolls, typical of what we got everywhere during our Galapagos stay.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lisa_Torres
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
43 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2012

We were moved from a small room to a big room which was dirty! The curtains had stains on them. There were spiders and gekkos in the room.
The worst is the wake up call was half an hour later than expected and rushing through the fellow pffered us coffee , not tasty, but what angered me when I asked for a banana to eat for breakfast , he gave me an overripe one ! I had to insist on getting a good banana. Definetly not the hotel in moon review! Worst hotel stay in Galapagos .

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RimaH152
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tauranga
Level Contributor
73 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2012

Don't enjoy writing negative reviews, but this place has gotten to me.
The good for starters; room, reasonable, compact.
The disappointments; the fridge doesn't work. Seems new.
Asking for help 2x yeilds nothing.
Room sleeps 3, only one glass provided.
Ask for ice, as no fridge - will not give ice.
Ask for another glass, after 2 requests recieved, but rather ungraciously.
TV, maybe my in adequacy, but seems to have a complicated process, beyond me.

Room Tip: Check everything functions properly before accepting.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank brians101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Massachusetts
Level Contributor
44 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2012

I almost never write a bad review but I feel that I must in this case. The room we were shown was like a dungeon, cinder block, dark, one small window. It had been divide in three, with one space (I can hardly call it a room) for a double bed, but no window. Another space had another double bed and a window. A third space had room for two small chairs that looked suitable for children. I didn't even want to go into the bathroom. Enough said. Its location on the harbor is not a reason to choose it! Stay away. We left! (and had a marvelous stay at Casa Iguana Mar y Sol)

Room Tip: Go to another hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank rabddoug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norman, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
603 reviews
170 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 493 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2012

This is a comment about the hotel Miconia restaurant. We are there twice for lunch and we liked the service. They have a so called economical lunch for $8 which is good value. you can have fish or chicken with rice, fries or patacones (fried green plantains). We are there twice for lunch and the fish was consistently good. The small personal pizza was also good and for $7 a good value as it can easily feed 2 hungry people. In general I would recommend the hotel miconia restaurant for lunch.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sarracenia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Cristobal hotels
0.2 mi away
Golden Bay Hotel & Spa
Golden Bay Hotel & Spa
#1 of 4 in Puerto Baquerizo Moreno
5.0 of 5 stars 47 reviews
0.2 mi away
Casa Opuntia Galapagos
Casa Opuntia Galapagos
#2 of 4 in Puerto Baquerizo Moreno
4.0 of 5 stars 163 reviews
0.0 mi away
Galapagos Sunset
Galapagos Sunset
#3 of 4 in Puerto Baquerizo Moreno
3.5 of 5 stars 11 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The Eco Hotel Arena Blanca
The Eco Hotel Arena Blanca
#4 of 8 in San Cristobal
3.5 of 5 stars 57 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Mar Azul
Hotel Mar Azul
#2 of 8 in San Cristobal
4.0 of 5 stars 71 reviews
0.3 mi away
Galapagos Casa Playa Mann
Galapagos Casa Playa Mann
#2 of 13 in Puerto Baquerizo Moreno
5.0 of 5 stars 168 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Miconia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Miconia

Property: Hotel Miconia
Address: Av. Charles Darwin | Malecon, 200150, Ecuador
Location: Ecuador > Galapagos Islands > San Cristobal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 8 Hotels in San Cristobal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Miconia 4*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located just a 3-minute walk away from Oro's beach in San Cristobal, Hotel Miconia offers an outdoor swimming pool, an on-site seafood restaurant and free WiFi access. A free daily American breakfast is served. Each air-conditioned room here will provide you with a TV, a minibar and a private bathroom with a shower. You will also find a desk, a safety-deposit box and bed linen. Hotel Miconia offers a fitness centre, a tour desk and laundry facilities. A 5-minute drive will get you to a variety of restaurants and Mann Beach. Shipwreck bay is 300 m away and La Loberia beach can be reached after a 15-minute drive. San Cristobal Airport is just 5 minutes away by car. We speak your language! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Miconia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Miconia Hotel San Cristobal
Hotel Miconia San Cristobal, Galapagos Islands, Ecuador

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing