We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Basic, quirky but enjoyed it” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Miconia

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Miconia
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in San Cristobal
New York
Level Contributor
41 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Basic, quirky but enjoyed it”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2012

We got a ground floor room with two separate bedrooms (reading the reviews it looks like every room must be different). We had a tiny sitting room and separate sink/bathroom area. I loved the room - even though it was dark, and the fridge didn't work, the bed was very comfortable, and while the room was very rustic, the linens, bathroom and floors were clean. The outside/courtyard area is a very prettily landscaped pool with lounging chairs, and plenty of yellow warblers to admire! The lobby area is open to the street, the lobby is NOT always staffed, there's no security to speak of. The restaurant is an open style balcony above the lobby area and the prices were ridiculously cheap for decent and fresh food. Breakfast was fine - coffee, fruit, JUICE, rolls, typical of what we got everywhere during our Galapagos stay.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lisa_Torres
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

68 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    10
    26
    16
    6
    10
See reviews for
12
25
5
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
43 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2012

We were moved from a small room to a big room which was dirty! The curtains had stains on them. There were spiders and gekkos in the room.
The worst is the wake up call was half an hour later than expected and rushing through the fellow pffered us coffee , not tasty, but what angered me when I asked for a banana to eat for breakfast , he gave me an overripe one ! I had to insist on getting a good banana. Definetly not the hotel in moon review! Worst hotel stay in Galapagos .

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RimaH152
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these San Cristobal hotels

Tauranga
Level Contributor
69 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2012

Don't enjoy writing negative reviews, but this place has gotten to me.
The good for starters; room, reasonable, compact.
The disappointments; the fridge doesn't work. Seems new.
Asking for help 2x yeilds nothing.
Room sleeps 3, only one glass provided.
Ask for ice, as no fridge - will not give ice.
Ask for another glass, after 2 requests recieved, but rather ungraciously.
TV, maybe my in adequacy, but seems to have a complicated process, beyond me.

Room Tip: Check everything functions properly before accepting.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank brians101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Massachusetts
Level Contributor
44 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2012

I almost never write a bad review but I feel that I must in this case. The room we were shown was like a dungeon, cinder block, dark, one small window. It had been divide in three, with one space (I can hardly call it a room) for a double bed, but no window. Another space had another double bed and a window. A third space had room for two small chairs that looked suitable for children. I didn't even want to go into the bathroom. Enough said. Its location on the harbor is not a reason to choose it! Stay away. We left! (and had a marvelous stay at Casa Iguana Mar y Sol)

Room Tip: Go to another hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank rabddoug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norman, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
586 reviews
163 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 492 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2012

This is a comment about the hotel Miconia restaurant. We are there twice for lunch and we liked the service. They have a so called economical lunch for $8 which is good value. you can have fish or chicken with rice, fries or patacones (fried green plantains). We are there twice for lunch and the fish was consistently good. The small personal pizza was also good and for $7 a good value as it can easily feed 2 hungry people. In general I would recommend the hotel miconia restaurant for lunch.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sarracenia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whidbey Island
Level Contributor
168 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2012

Galapagos Alternative reserved our room at Miconia. We spent three nights there upon arriving in Galapagos and one night at the end. First we had Room 11 upstairs facing the inner courtyard, and Room 7 on the ground floor (weird feng shui) on the return. Beds were comfy and rooms extremely clean. The location was great- right across from the gorgeous harbor and the sea lions lounging everywhere...it's a good thing they weren't allowed in our room! The breakfasts were not very good, though the restaurant has an incredible water view. We had one dinner there... a chicken and a veggie crepe... and they were quite good. The staff was friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank judythr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warrington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2011

We stayed for three nights at the hotel, which is on the sea front in Puerto Moreno, a perfect location. The hotel itself is okay, the food is quite good for lunch and dinner, although the breakfast is limited in choice. The bedrooms are of a reasonable size and are in generally in good order. The bathrooms are also okay, although if you look at the showers and the maze of wiring and fixes, you realise that the hotel has a major problem with water pressure and supplying hot water to the rooms. The shower in both our rooms was pitiful, cold and lacking in pressure. The loos don't always have enough pressure to flush properly either.

You also need to like loud 80's music being played in the gym each night for a couple of hours. Quite a few of the locals use this hotel as their gym.

Overall we would not recommend staying at the Miconia as we felt it was to expensive for the facilities and the service, which was average at best. They need to give the hotel a spruce up as well, the reception area and restaurant need decorating. Lastly, they should be made to turn the large screen TV off in the restaurant, as none of the guests are interested in Ecuadorean TV! This hotel relies on its location and the lack of decent local competition too much.

Room Tip: The top floor is the least noisy location in the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ian J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Cristobal hotels
0.2 mi away
Casa Opuntia Galapagos
Casa Opuntia Galapagos
#2 of 4 in Puerto Baquerizo Moreno
4.0 of 5 stars 158 reviews
0.2 mi away
Golden Bay Hotel & Spa
Golden Bay Hotel & Spa
#1 of 4 in Puerto Baquerizo Moreno
5.0 of 5 stars 40 reviews
0.2 mi away
Galapagos Sunset
Galapagos Sunset
#3 of 4 in Puerto Baquerizo Moreno
4.0 of 5 stars 7 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Eco Hotel Arena Blanca
The Eco Hotel Arena Blanca
#3 of 7 in San Cristobal
3.5 of 5 stars 56 reviews
0.3 mi away
Galapagos Casa Playa Mann
Galapagos Casa Playa Mann
#2 of 13 in Puerto Baquerizo Moreno
5.0 of 5 stars 165 reviews
0.2 mi away
La Zayapa
La Zayapa
#4 of 13 in Puerto Baquerizo Moreno
4.0 of 5 stars 44 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Miconia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Miconia

Property: Hotel Miconia
Address: Charles Darwin Avenue, San Cristobal ,Galapagos Islands, Ecuador
Location: Ecuador > Galapagos Islands > San Cristobal
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in San Cristobal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Miconia 4*
Number of rooms: 161
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Miconia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Miconia Hotel San Cristobal
Hotel Miconia San Cristobal, Galapagos Islands, Ecuador

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing