We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“One of the best hikes out there.”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Sierra Negra

Sierra Negra
Book In Advance
More Info
$920.00*
and up
5-Day Galapagos Land Tour: Magic of Isabela Including Santa Cruz
Ranked #5 of 24 things to do in Isabela
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Narberth, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“One of the best hikes out there.”
Reviewed June 23, 2014

If you fancy a walk along a volcano crater surrounded by flora and fauna you can't find anywhere else in the world, I would highly recommend this hike. A gently incline upwards to a world like no other, with dramatic views of Isabella Island as well as the neighboring islands. With a great guide (ask for "Menino", best guide ever), this is a worthwhile trip. Plan for the whole day.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank pammy0326
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

301 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    175
    93
    27
    5
    1
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Porto Alegre, RS
Level Contributor
41 reviews
25 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Amazing volcano!!!”
Reviewed June 8, 2014

That´s a must do tour in Isabela island! nice trail, a little exhaustive for some people, but if youre lucky you´ll see all the crater from the top!! Beautiful!! and the trail follows to a place where you walk in a river of dry lava!! Amazing!

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Lucas K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chadds Ford
Level Contributor
115 reviews
55 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Great Hike!”
Reviewed May 28, 2014

Sierra Negra is a great hiking area. Plan for at least half a day, and bring water because it gets hot! And be sure to hike past the volcano and into the lava fields. That was the best part of the hike for us.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank cmbbtb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
98 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
“Nice hike, bad guide”
Reviewed May 11, 2014

My wife and I hiked up the Sierra Negra and Volcan Chico in April 2014, weather conditions were pretty good, visibility was good enough to see all the crater (second largest in the world) and from Volcan Chico we could see Fernandina island. The hike itself is nice, especially the second part on the Volcan Chico, the landscape is really amazing and there are enough cactuses to take great prictures. All in all the hike was very good and I suggest you do it if you are on Isabela.
Downside was the guide, we came from a week cruise with a great guide and we expected the same here. Our guide name is Dario Chimarro (not sure about the surname spelling), and he was clearly trying to make the hike as quick as possible, the pace was tough, I had no problems walking with him but there were also less fit people who had the right to enjoy the hike as the others do. I usually love to hike pretty fast but when you pass by volcanoes you want to stop to take pictures and expect the guide to spot some wildlife and describe the vegetation. He only made 3 stops plus the lunch in 16kms, we were back at the start of the path at 1PM half an hour in advance and we had to wait for the bus. It was a pity that to spare 30 mins he didn't mind if everybody felt comfortable. We overtook a coupe of groups in the path hence, I believe our pace was faster than should have been.
To give you some more coordinates we booked at "Cuarto de hora", I have no clue about the mechanism to assign the guides but maybe ask upfront if you don't want to have your hike screwed.
I also suggest to report any bad experience, if any, to the park office in Puerto Villamil, I know you're on holiday but with your feedback the organization may improve the experience of next visitors.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Federico M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quito, Ecuador
Level Contributor
297 reviews
85 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
“Hard but Amazing”
Reviewed May 2, 2014

You have to visit this Volcano if you are in Isabela Island but you have to take into account that you will have to walk for about 6 hours and depending on the season where you are visiting the islands you have to prevent this fact and bring some enough water but the visit is totally worth.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Jorge S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sierra Negra also viewed

Puerto Villamil, Isabela
Puerto Villamil, Isabela
 
Puerto Villamil, Isabela
Puerto Villamil, Isabela
 

Been to Sierra Negra? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing