We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sierra Negra & Volcon Chico”
Review of Sierra Negra

Sierra Negra
Book In Advance
More Info
$920.00*
and up
5-Day Galapagos Land Tour: Magic of Isabela Including Santa Cruz
More Info
$1,100.00*
and up
6-Day Galapagos Land Tour: Los Tuneles Program
More Info
$800.00*
and up
Galapagos Islands Explorer Package from Santa Cruz Island
Ranked #5 of 25 things to do in Isabela
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Scotland
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Sierra Negra & Volcon Chico”
Reviewed July 3, 2013

Sierra Negra is an excellent day out, we done it during a stay on Isabella Island, we booked the tour through our hostel (Caleta Iguana) unfortunately I didn’t find out the name of the tour company, we paid $35 per person for the tour, this included a packed lunch, the tour also had an English and Spanish speaking guide who conducted the tour very well

Sierra Negra rises to an altitude of 1,124 metres, thankfully you don’t have to climb that much, we got transported to an area near the top by bus, from the area we got dropped off at it was about a 45 minute walk to the top, the walk up to the top was easy enough, people walk up there every day so the path was quite good, there was a mix of all ages in our group, youngest in their 20’s, oldest in their 50’s

Further north at the top of Sierra Negra there was also another trail to walk where we could visit another volcano, this one is called Volcano Chico, this volcano is at an altitude of approximately 860 metres

The vegetation around the top of Sierra Negra was very green, plenty of plants and trees growing, as you walk towards Volcano Chico the landscape changed very quickly from green to lava rocks and the remains of where the lava rivers had once flowed in the past, it was very interesting to see all the different formations the lava had created

In total to walk up and see the 2 different volcano’s, stop for lunch for half an hour and walk back to the drop off point it took us just under 5 hours 45 minutes, we were lucky with weather the day we walked up, it was sunny and clear, excellent views from the top, it was a really good day out and well worth doing

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Lucas69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

311 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    183
    95
    27
    5
    1
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Vaudreuil-Dorion, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Long Hike but worth it”
Reviewed June 16, 2013

We went as part of a tour group (SharkSky out of San Cristobal Island) and it was definitely a long day. The trail is very long (about 5-6 hours to complete) but not difficult. The only "tough" part is the beginning where you walk up to the actual crater for about 20-30 minutes uphill. The crater is huge and amazing to see. Then you walk around the edge of the crater (trail was pretty overgrown, but pretty flat) which is honestly kind of long and a bit boring but then you hit the Chico volcano area where you actually walk on the lava formations.
Wear good boots or shoes and wear lots of sunscreen and reapply often. It was very hot when we did it and we all got burnt even with the sunscreen. Also make sure to bring a snack and lots of water.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Audrey B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level 5 Contributor
84 reviews
36 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Loved it!”
Reviewed May 2, 2013

We loved this hike. It was interesting and a very cool experience to see an active volcano. Although it was a very long walk, it's not particularly strenuous if you are a hiker. Most of the trail is flat. Being from Colorado, I would compare this to a long day hike in the mountains, except with better weather and way more oxygen. After the hike, we went to Campo Duro for lunch in the Highlands, which was great! It's a beautiful place and they have a land tortoise refuge.

It took us 4 1/2 hours round trip with breaks to complete the hike to Vulcan Chico. The caldera is cool and the extra hike to Vulcan Chico to see the recent lava fields is worth it. The one warning I have though is that once you get to Vulcan Chico, there are a lot of loose rocks and its hilly, so be sure to bring good shoes. If you are considering doing this hike but are unsure because of the activity level - I think it'd be good to consider whether you would normally be comfortable walking 6-12 miles on a normal day with some hills. The elevation gain is considerably minimal, but it's a long hike.
Also - our guide did tell us older people tended to struggle with this though.

Overall, we really enjoyed it and I recommend at least making it to the caldera if you can do it!

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Ann R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
83 reviews
58 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“worst value for money in all of galapagos”
Reviewed March 22, 2013

i spent over two weeks doing land based travel and this is probably the worst value for money.
its super expensive to have a guide walk you through mud for 80% of the time, and then only get to be on the actual basalt for 30-40 minutes. plus the trail is crowded with every person who has to be in a group with a guide so you aren't actually able to see birds etc b/c the nature is so disturbed with all the tourists.

the trail is clearly marked and is a shame that they make you get a guide and an expensive cab fare. its far from town and although the view is nice, and the crater is big, it was disappointing

if you do go, make sure to find a place to put your hand in the earth where the heat is pumping out of the volcano, that is pretty cool.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank kayrez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
411 reviews
157 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 339 helpful votes
“Fabulous but you must be in good shape!”
Reviewed March 4, 2013

We loved this hike! You first go up a dirt path and come to the volcano's caldera. It's just huge and quite a sight to see. You continue walking along one side of the crater's rim and head through vegetations to the trail leading to the barren lava fields. This part of the hike is very uneven, over sharp loose lava rocks, but if you can handle the terrain you will not be disappointed. The whole landscape looks like it was created for a science fiction movie: jutting rocks, weird plants, lava tubes, multi-colored rocks, huge sink holes, and then when you get to the top, a view over Isabella Island that is breathtaking! We thought it was amazing!
But be warned: We passed a lot of very unhappy, weary looking hikers...you will need to take lots of water because you climb uphill a lot of the way and the trail is completely in the open. You will get no shade at all so it can be very hot! Also, it is listed as a strenuous hike, and while we found it fairly easy, we are in good shape and do lots of hiking. This is NOT a hike for someone who is not physically fit!
But if you are, then don't miss this one...it is a fabulous hike all about the landscapes and the views!

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank GreenLakeReener
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sierra Negra also viewed

Puerto Villamil, Isabela
Puerto Villamil, Isabela
 
Puerto Villamil, Isabela
Puerto Villamil, Isabela
 

Been to Sierra Negra? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing