We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Paradise revisited” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hostal La Jungla

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Isabela
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hostal La Jungla
Ranked #5 of 10 Hotels in Isabela
Antwerp
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Paradise revisited”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2012

We stayed in 2009 one week La Jungla, and because of the great memories, we went back in november 2011 and stayed there 10 days.
It was like coming home. The owners are really nice people and very helpfull . They don't speak English, but you can easily manage with basic Spanish.
The location near the huge beach at the Pacific Ocean is perfect,
The hostel is very quiet, no barking dogs at night(!), and a 5 minutes walk from the center of the town.
Ask for a room with a seaview!
Back home in Europe, we think often at our great stays in La Jungla.

Room Tip: Ask a room with sea view,
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank guidoAntwerp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

56 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    24
    25
    3
    4
    0
See reviews for
4
24
13
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bruxelles
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 20, 2012

We had a huge room with a gorgeous view of the ocean. It was clean, although this being the tropics there were quite a few bugs to deal with. No air conditioning but it was fine for a couple of nights. The staff were all very friendly and helpful even though we didn't speak much Spanish. Breakfast was delicious with lots of fresh fruit, yogurt and a roll. We did their Las Tintoreras excursion which was a highlight of our time in the Galapagos. We thought it was a good value compared to the other companies offering the same tour. The hostel is not really located in the village so be prepared to walk about 10 or 15 minutes from the center. It's even further from the harbor.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mathieu C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
36 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 8, 2012

The views from the jungle was amazing. All the staff seemed really friendly. Breakfast was pretty basic, egg, fruit and a roll. Showers were hot, beds comfy. Internet didn't really work and no air co.
Right on the beach front and 10 min walk from town.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ahelos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 13, 2012

Liked:
As they say the location near the beach is great, although this could be said for many hostels/hotels on the island. The showers are good and the rooms a good size with comfortable beds.

Disliked:
We had a friendly welcome and were collected from the harbour when we arrived but this was a case of mistaken identity as they had 2 guests with the same name! After a short while the error was recified but their attitude towards us changed after this mix up. The common area seems off limits as the proprietor is constantly there with her grandchild, who is noisy to say the least and insisted on spitting from the balcony down to where we sat. When we tried to exchange a book we were told we could only swap it if we left a Spanish book. Like many hostels in Ecuador there are no kitchen facilities, however when we asked for hot water to make a cup of coffee it seemed like we were asking too much and were requested to provide our own cups.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Neil T T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pablo V, Gerente at Hostal La Jungla, responded to this review, August 2, 2013
Google Translation
Con cambio de administración la nueva gerencia corrigió todos los problemas que usted encontró, agradecemos su opinión y esperamos que nos visite nuevamente para comprobar las mejoras
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eskilstuna, Sweden
Level Contributor
86 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 28, 2011

We were not expecting something special but this was a big disappointment even for 40 $! If you have a wonderful beautiful view to the ocean why don't you build balconies that can be used to sit on? And why do you build a kitchen and ugly wall to block the view and instead gives you a dusty road to look upon when you have breakfast or just want to sit and read?. The staff didn't speak a word of English which made it difficult. Maybe our Spanish was not good but you expect that people working in tourist business know how to understand simple things like "broken lamp" or "is there internet available?". The place gave bad vibes from the beginning and nothing changed it. We moved to Betos the next day (read about it in different review)

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank akeke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
241 reviews
102 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 179 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2011

I stayed here for 4 nights. I made a reservation online for a single room with hot water and aircon - but to my disappointment, there were no rooms available when I showed up. I had to stay for one night in a room without hot water not real windows (next to where the family lives). That's ok but I had to bargain with the owner, who wanted me to pay the regular price for it!

There was another weird moment when I asked if I could get breakfast at 7am and the lady basically screamt at me, saying this is only possible if you leave for a tour organised by the hostal (usual time is 8am). Then she told me I could use the kitchen only to prepare a 'quick meal'.

That's why in the end I felt somewhat disappointed - although the location is excellent and the view from the upper rooms absolutely stunning.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank timoguic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Isabela
0.0 mi away
Iguana Crossing
Iguana Crossing
#1 of 6 in Puerto Villamil
4.5 of 5 bubbles 502 reviews
0.0 mi away
Finch Bay Eco Hotel
Finch Bay Eco Hotel
#2 of 20 in Puerto Ayora
4.5 of 5 bubbles 765 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hostal Rincon de George
Hostal Rincon de George
#7 of 10 in Isabela
4.5 of 5 bubbles 32 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
The Eco Hotel Arena Blanca
The Eco Hotel Arena Blanca
#5 of 8 in San Cristobal
3.5 of 5 bubbles 59 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Pelican Bay
Hotel Pelican Bay
#10 of 20 in Puerto Ayora
4.0 of 5 bubbles 86 reviews
0.0 mi away
Casa Natura Galapagos Lodge
Casa Natura Galapagos Lodge
#12 of 20 in Puerto Ayora
4.5 of 5 bubbles 22 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostal La Jungla? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostal La Jungla

Property: Hostal La Jungla
Address: Av. Antonio Gil | Via al Centro de Crianza, 010850, Ecuador
Location: Ecuador > Galapagos Islands > Isabela
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Isabela
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Isabela
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
LA JUNGLA, is a nice quite and confortable hostal, just in front to the see. Since April,2014 the new administration are working hard for get cleen and more confortable roms, Six roms have an incredible Ocean view, In every room are available Conditoner Air and hot water. La Jungla, is located, to 5 minutes from down town, at the road to Giant Tortoises Breeding Center. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Hostal La Jungla Galapagos Islands/Isabela

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing