We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Small, friendly, clean, and helpful” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hostal Rincon de George

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hostal Rincon de George
Ranked #7 of 10 Hotels in Isabela
New Westminster, Canada
Level Contributor
35 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Small, friendly, clean, and helpful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012

We are a retired couple from Canada and have visited South America several times. We feel this is one of the best places we have stayed. It is clean, quiet, and well maintained with air conditioning, fridge and TV. Carlos speaks English well and is a naturalist guide. We went on two tours with him and were impressed with the breadth and depth of his knowledge of geology and natural history. He provided us with lots of very useful information on how to visit the island. We went there planning to spend 2 days and stayed a week

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank John R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RincondeGeorge, Gerente at Hostal Rincon de George, responded to this review, April 17, 2014
Thanks you dear friend, we are always happy for you honest feedback!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

31 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    19
    8
    4
    0
    0
See reviews for
2
18
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
london
Level Contributor
83 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2012

We stayed there three nights as a family. Apparently the price was higher than indicated in the previous review ($ 120 per night + $ 25 for breakfast for the five of us).
The hotel is indeed clean, beddings are ok (although a bit stiff), and the owners are nice and welcoming.
However, given the price range on Isabela, there is nothing exceptional. Rooms could even be slightly improved with things like a bedside lamp (to complement these awful energy saving ceiling lights) and a few local decorative items.
Carlos took us on a Tintoreras tour with another Group, which he did not mention to us before...However he took us to a nice snorkelling spot where we swam with turtles, sharks and sea lions, a great experience.
Bear in mind that Isabela is a laid back place, where wildlife is all around and the hotel/lodging offer is not of high quality.

Room Tip: There is one double room which although a bit small has a sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ulysse5London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2012

We found this hotel after wondering about the town. Very reasonably priced at $40 for double room with large bathroom, good wifi, TV, aircon, use of a well equipped kitchen and a rooftop terrace.Very clean on arrival and our room was cleaned every day when we were out. It's not on the beach but it's less than two minutes away. The couple who run this place are lovely, the husband is also a guide for the island and can help with tours. It's on the left hand side of the main square, above the post office. Everything is walking distance in this town so the hotel is close to everything. Definitely recommend.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lizwo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RincondeGeorge, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hostal Rincon de George, responded to this review, October 28, 2013
Dear Lizwo
Thank you for taking the time to review Hostal Rincon de George! We are very happy to hear from our past guests. We expect to see you again in another ocassion.

Greetings
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westborough, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2011

Rincón de George is located on the small central square with lovely ocean views from the terrace. The owners Carla and Carlos were very helpful in arranging tours and Carlos is a guide himself. The small extra charge for breakfast was well worth the eggs, fruit, cereals and breads. The rooms are equipped with frig, TV, air conditioning and new furniture. The shower was very large, with lovely tiles.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank HLM81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RincondeGeorge, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hostal Rincon de George, responded to this review, March 28, 2014
Dear guest

we appreciate your feedback, this helps us to keep working to continue offering good service!
Forward to seeing you again.

Best regards
Carla.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Israel
Level Contributor
23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2011

I stayed at this hostel for 4 days with my son.
The rooms are clean the breakfast was superb and most important:
The owners, Carlos and Carlota go out of the way to make sure our stay will be joyful.
Carlos is a certified guide for the area. He is extremely knowledgeable, excellent English and escorted us to the Sierra Negra volcano track and also the Tintureras tour.
Strongly recommended!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MarcioL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
los angeles
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2009

I stayed at this new hostel...but really it is a hotel! It's new and the owners are attentive, knowlegable, speak English pretty well, and cook a lovely breakfast. This place is "LA" clean! Nice tile bathrooms, great beds, cable, and they can do your laundry in washer and dryers...fantastic.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank hawaiigirl82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RincondeGeorge, Propietario at Hostal Rincon de George, responded to this review, November 9, 2011
Google Translation
Muchas gracias, vuelvan pronto
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Isabela
0.0 mi away
Iguana Crossing
Iguana Crossing
#1 of 6 in Puerto Villamil
4.5 of 5 stars 481 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Pelican Bay
Hotel Pelican Bay
#7 of 18 in Puerto Ayora
4.0 of 5 stars 86 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Fiesta
Hotel Fiesta
#3 of 18 in Puerto Ayora
4.0 of 5 stars 269 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hotel Crossman
Hotel Crossman
#18 of 23 in Santa Cruz
3.5 of 5 stars 32 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Ninfa
Hotel Ninfa
#9 of 18 in Puerto Ayora
3.5 of 5 stars 147 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Eco Hotel Arena Blanca
The Eco Hotel Arena Blanca
#4 of 8 in San Cristobal
3.5 of 5 stars 57 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostal Rincon de George? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostal Rincon de George

Property: Hostal Rincon de George
Address: Marzo 16 | Puerto Villamil, Galápagos, 010850, Ecuador
Phone Number:
Location: Ecuador > Galapagos Islands > Isabela
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Isabela
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our beautiful hostel is located in Isabel island, one of the most wonderful and natural island in Galapagos.We have 8 rooms between doubles, twins, triples and family room, all have private bathroom, hot water, TV, air conditioning, personal refrigerators, safe-deposit box and laundry service.We have a roof top with an amazing view to the sea and and the flamingos lagoon.We have service of the post-oficce of Ecuador!!We can pick up you from the dock upon requestVisit us, we are waiting for you!Hostal Rincon de George ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Hostal Rincon de George reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hostal Rincon De George Galapagos Islands/Isabela

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing