We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Ecuadorian Sit Down -- Well Prepared and Well Served”

La Casa del Turista
Ranked #7 of 34 Restaurants in Cotacachi
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Ecuadorean, South American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Kids, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Lunch, Highchairs Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Pensacola, Florida
Level Contributor
190 reviews
128 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
“Ecuadorian Sit Down -- Well Prepared and Well Served”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 18, 2014 via mobile

My wife and had an enjoyable dinner for 26 bucks which isn't bad when you consider one of the entrees was a filet mignon and both of us had drinks. Waiters were very attentive but not bilingual and menu was in Spanish. Major credit cards accepted.

Helpful?
Thank John D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

54 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    20
    26
    5
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cotacachi, Ecuador
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Tipico and western tasty”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 11, 2014

We have eaten at La Turista five or six times in the last two years. Had one soso meal there but typically very tasty. Good Corvina, very good roasted chicken dishes. Patio is wonderful and service decent.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Cotaman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
45 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“simple Ecuadorian food done right”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 28, 2014

It seems like a lot of people try this place expecting it to be what its name suggests it will be: a tourist house. (In fact, we almost didn't try it because of the name.) The truth is that this place serves real Ecuadorian food (perhaps to real Ecuadorian tourists?). We ate here three times during our stay, and we were the only gringos all three times. The food was simple and tasty, and the service was gracious and friendly. (In fact, by the second visit, the waiter knew just what wine to bring.) Their locro con queso was the best we tried in 11 days, and they were one of the few restaurants open later than 8pm, a real find for travelers who don't want to eat dinner at 5 and be in bed by 9.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Mark J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Florida
Level Contributor
215 reviews
128 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Not what I expected.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 29, 2013

It sounded like a place to get American food and it resembled our food, but....
I ordered steak and received two large pieces of meat and huge servings. My mother ordered spagetti that had a strange tasting marinara sauce.
I think we were the only Gringo's in the restaurant and everytime we walked by we saw only locals.
It was very interesting their perception of our food.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Judi E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Florida
Level Contributor
215 reviews
128 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“The food looked like American food but did not taste like it.”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2013

I think this restaurant caters to the Ecuadorian crowd. The waiter was not very friendly to us at all. We felt like we were putting him out to wait on us.
We had spagetti (the sauce was very strange...it was red), the steaks were cut very thin and marinated to death.
This is an Ecuadorian translation of American food. Not a good translation.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Judi E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Casa del Turista also viewed

Cotacachi, Imbabura Province
Cotacachi, Imbabura Province
 
Cotacachi, Imbabura Province
Cotacachi, Imbabura Province
 

Been to La Casa del Turista? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing