We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous Stay at La Mirage”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
La Mirage Garden Hotel & Spa
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Cotacachi
Certificate of Excellence
Houston
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fabulous Stay at La Mirage”
Reviewed November 30, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I are are just finishing a three night stay at La Mirage Garden Hotel and have to write about the fantastic experience we've had here. From the moment we arrived, the staff simply couldn't do enough to take care of us. They try so hard to learn your likes and dislikes and then proactively do things to make your stay more enjoyable.

It's the off-season now, so there aren't many guests, but that just makes the grounds that much more enjoyable. One of the things I'll always remember were the nightly walks to dinner as we were serenaded by frogs all around us. Watching the peacocks and hummingbirds as we had a leisurely breakfast was also quite special.

The dinners were great. Towards the end of the meal, we were asked if we'd like a fire lit in our room. Coming back out of the cool evening to find a roaring fire was so nice. We had a king suite, and the room was great, furnished to high standards, with both indoor and outdoor sitting areas.

We met one of the owners, Michelle, the first day, and he went out of his way to ensure we saw the things that make this area so special. A true gentlemen who know that the small details are what make great hotels.

Highly recommended!

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank TimKHouston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patricio H, General Manager at La Mirage Garden Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, December 3, 2013
Dear TimKHouston,

On behalf of the entire staff I wish to take this opportunity to thank you very much indeed for your appreciative comments in regards to your recent stay at La Mirage Garden Hotel & Spa. I am sharing your kind review with everybody and we are pleased that you have enjoyed your stay with us. It is clients like you who make our work so much easier. Thank you and kind regards from all of us. Patricio Hidrovo, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

187 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    166
    15
    2
    2
    2
See reviews for
43
91
5
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Baton Rouge, Louisiana
1 review
Reviewed September 24, 2013

Rooms were great, food was first class and could feel special touches everywhere! Garden was beautiful and full of peacocks. The fireplace made sleeping in the room very cozy. The garden views made working in the room very pleasant.

Room Tip: Ask for the queen 's room
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank George S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
canton ohio
1 review
Reviewed September 24, 2013

We spent several days at LaMirage. The staff went out of their way to fulfill our every request. The food was outstanding- the chef has an amazing talent for food presentation, variety and quality. Our stay was outstanding!

Room Tip: Ask for the queen 's room
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kathleen k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patricio H, General Manager at La Mirage Garden Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, October 4, 2013
Dear Kathleen k.

We are very happy that you enjoyed your stay with us and I, on behalf of the entire staff wish to thank you for your very kind and encouraging comments.
It would be a pleasure to welcome you back one of these days. Kindest regards, Patricio H. Mgr.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 2, 2013

Cotacachi, Ecuador is a charming, laid back little town. Our tour guide took us to the La Mirage Garden Hotel which was the highlight of our stay. The service is second to none. The staff is professional, pleasant and determined to make your stay wonderful. Our suite was magnificent with a fireplace, canopied king bed, a glass enclosed niche and great bathroom., We had a beautiful private yard with a classic sculpture and exotic birds walking and flying about. The spa was exceptional. I had an 80 minute facial that was so relaxing I feel asleep twice. My husband had a Swedish massage and we relaxed at the indoor pool. We enjoyed excellent gourmet dinners in the elegant restaurant while watching exotic peacocks put on a display on the grounds outside. The grounds of this resort are simply amazing. It is a tropical paradise in the mountains of Ecuador. We have been to many fine resorts and Ritz Carlton's in various places but none were superior to La Mirage Garden Hotel & Spa. We would HIGHLY recommend it to all.

Room Tip: Ask for the suite #112 Dalia. You will not be sorry. It has a private yard and chaise lounges. It...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank 477Susan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patricio H, Manager at La Mirage Garden Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, June 11, 2013
Dear 477Susan,

On behalf of the entire staff I take great pleasure thanking you for your generous and detailed explanation in regards to your recent stay at our resort. I can assure you that all of us feel extremely proud having been able to make your vacation at La Mirage a memorable one. We strive to give our utmost to all of our clients to make them feel at home and wanting to return one day in a not too distant future. Thanks again and kindest regards from Patricio Hidrovo,Mgr.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knoxville, Tennessee
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 26, 2013

Sitting at breakfast this morning with my husband and daughter we starting talking about the best pancakes we have ever had in our lifes,(7 years ago and we still talk about them) which were at breakfast at La Mirage. We have not been able to replicate the recipe but would love to know how.

We stayed at the resort during a trip to Ecuador to drop off our daughter for a month to do tutoring in Quito. After 5 days on a expedition cruise to the Galapagos it was a welcome respite to stay at La Mirage, we all had massages at the spa and my daughters and husband did horseback riding. It was a thoroughly enjoyable stay. We loved the peacocks roaming the gardens.

Although our stay was awhile ago reading the most recent reviews I can see that La Mirage has kept up their standards.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Janice W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patricio H, Manager at La Mirage Garden Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, May 31, 2013
Dear Janice W,

Isn’t there a saying BETTER LATE THAN NEVER ???? What a pleasure to receive your kind remarks in regards to a stay at La Mirage all the way back in 2012. We want to thank you for still thinking of us. That is a wonderful feeling and you have made our day. Maybe we will have the pleasure welcoming you back one of these days. We assure you that the pancakes are still a hit and many clients have made the same kind remarks than you. Thanks again and have a wonderful time in Tennessee. Patricio Hidrovo, Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Townsville, Queensland, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 25, 2013

After visiting the markets at Otavalo we drove the short distant to Cotacachi to have lunch at the picturesque La Mirage. This beautiful tranquil resort has a quiet relaxed atmosphere where every guest is made to feels welcome and pampered. The Resort Spa is luxurious and comprehensive. The offer everything from mud baths, hot stone massage, aromatherapy massage and many more.. Every kind of pampering a person might enjoy. The rooms are nestled into tranquil delightful gardens with hummingbirds flitting from flower to flower..A flock of Peacocks grace the pretty lawn garden that is overlooked by the exceptional Restauant. Our dinning experience second to none. The service and food both 5 star... I highly recommend a visit to this beautiful Resort...

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank VickiSampson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patricio H, Manager at La Mirage Garden Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, May 31, 2013
Dear VickiSampson,

We are extremely happy that you enjoyed visiting our small resort and appreciate your very kind comments in regards to your stay. I have made everyone of the staff aware and the personnel, who provided preparation and service want to thank you indeed for your kindness. Best regards, Patricio Hidrovo, Mgr.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level 6 Contributor
516 reviews
89 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 200 helpful votes
Reviewed May 20, 2013

We were here in May and had a room with a queen size bed + a sitting area. There was one fireplace & a heater in the room. The bathroom had a shower and was smallish. It was quiet but there were not many guests so it's impossible to say if there is noise to be heard room to room. The property is really lovely and the food at breakfast and dinner was very good. They were accomodating of our early departure with a cold breakfast + coffee sent to our room for 5:45 a.m. on the one morning. There is a spa and I had a pedicure/manicure but would NOT recommend - did a pretty poor job of it. The polish on toe nails was applied even worse than if I'd done it myself.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank travelfun001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patricio H, Manager at La Mirage Garden Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, May 23, 2013
Dear travelfun001,

Naturally, we are very sorry that your stay at our property appears not to have been what you had been looking forward to. Your travel agent reserved a Standard Room, but it is beyond our knowledge what accommodation you had requested for a stay at La Mirage.
Obviously, at our Spa you did not receive the total satisfaction and for this reason we have made arrangements to refund you the expense. We follow a strict policy that a client will not be charged for a treatment which has not been provided to the fullest expectation. Please accept our most sincere apology.

Kind regards, Patricio Hidrovo, Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cotacachi
6.9 mi away
Casa Mojanda
Casa Mojanda
#1 of 14 in Otavalo
224 reviews
8.2 mi away
Hacienda- Hosteria Chorlavi
24.0 mi away
El Crater Hotel
El Crater Hotel
#43 of 110 in Quito
199 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.4 mi away
San Andres Lodge & Spa
San Andres Lodge & Spa
#8 of 15 in Ibarra
39 reviews
16.0 mi away
Hacienda Hosteria San Luis
9.3 mi away
Hosteria Cananvalle
Hosteria Cananvalle
#3 of 15 in Ibarra
59 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Mirage Garden Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Mirage Garden Hotel & Spa

Property: La Mirage Garden Hotel & Spa
Address: De Agosto S/N 10, Cotacachi 100350, Ecuador
Location: Ecuador > Imbabura Province > Cotacachi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Cotacachi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — La Mirage Garden Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
La Mirage is a contemporary resort built on the grounds of a 200-year-old hacienda. Wander through the extraordinary fragrant hummingbird-filled gardens, watching peacocks strolling by. Enjoy delightful regional and international cuisine. Relax in the unique and elegant spa for a variety of 11 different treatments. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Agoda, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your La Mirage Garden Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Mirage Garden Hotel Cotacachi
La Mirage Garden Hotel And Spa
La Mirage Garden Hotel & Spa Ecuador/Cotacachi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing