We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great breakfast spot”
Review of Serendipity

Serendipity
Ranked #4 of 37 Restaurants in Cotacachi
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
St. Petersburg, Florida
Level Contributor
26 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great breakfast spot”
Reviewed August 27, 2013

Nice little American style restaurant. Good food nice atmosphere great on Sunday mornings. Nice clean and great coffee

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank pgetts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

102 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    50
    39
    11
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cotacachi, EC
Level Contributor
128 reviews
89 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“"Gringo" Spot”
Reviewed July 22, 2013

Serendipity's is THEE GRINGO SPOT in Cotacachi. You won't see very many locals, but the Gringos keep it packed. They cater to the North American palate and do it well. The menu has plenty to choose from and the prices are very reasonable. I've never had a meal here I didn't enjoy. I especially like their Key Lime Pie. Not a true Key Lime Pie for you KLP-snobs, but a darn good pie nonetheless.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Marianna P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Florida
Level Contributor
214 reviews
128 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Delicious Comfort Food!”
Reviewed July 12, 2013

Spending several weeks or months in Ecuador you start to crave the flavors of home. They have chicken pot pie, meatloaf, spagetti, sushi, tiaramisu, apple pie, etc... The people there are very friendly. Service is a little slow, so don't go if you are on a tight schedule. Slow down, you are in Ecuador. :-) It is well worth the wait!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Judi E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cotacachi, Ecuador
Level Contributor
163 reviews
125 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Looking For American ?”
Reviewed June 28, 2013

This little restaurant is a great place to meet and mingle with expats and have American style food. I had a vegetarian rice dish that was very good. My husband had the onion soup which is also one of my favorites. I love the avocado dip with plantain chips! You can share a piece of key lime pie that tastes like the Eagle Brand version.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Ann H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Palm Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great food and a place to meet expats”
Reviewed June 19, 2013

I had read about Serendipity in International Living magazine, and was hopeful to meet some North American expats. Place was just what I was hoping for, and the food is delicious.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Terry M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Serendipity also viewed

Cotacachi, Imbabura Province
Cotacachi, Imbabura Province
 
Cotacachi, Imbabura Province
 

Been to Serendipity? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing