We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Host with total Cotacachi knowledge.”
Review of La Cuadra Hostal

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
La Cuadra Hostal
Ranked #1 of 10 Cotacachi B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Cuenca, Ecuador
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Host with total Cotacachi knowledge.”
Reviewed November 29, 2012

I have stayed at La Cuadra on 2 other different occasions and again for this years Thanksgiving time period. English speaking Jairo the owner, has always been extremely helpful and is completely knowledgable of Cotacachi and the surrounding area. La Cuadra has Wi-Fi, a fully functional kitchen for those wanting to prepare meals and is located only half a block from the main park in Cotacachi, where the buses stop and the taxi's are waiting for customers. Within walking distance of a number of restaurants and small stores(tiendas) and only about 5 blocks from the Sunday produce market. Give La Cuadra a try, I'm sure you will be more than satisfied.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Steve B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

151 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    121
    25
    3
    1
    1
See reviews for
23
46
45
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 13, 2012

We originally intended on staying for two nights here but ended up staying for four. This was because we really enjoyed Cotacachi and it's surrounds and staying at La Cuadra Hostal was such a pleasant experience.
The Hostal is well located and only a short walk from the main "leather street". From the roof of the building you get excellent views of the local Plaza, church and surrounding mountains. The property also has an equipped kitchen, however, we found plenty of nice places to eat within the town so did not bother.
Our room was massive and we had so much storage in the cupboards that we could have set up home there! The showers were nice and warm and the bed good too. Like others have mentioned, you do get some noise from the road but it doesn't last late into the night so it did not disturb us at all.
The staff at the Hostal are friendly and the manager Jairo was particularly obliging - even offering to take us with his family to the local waterfall one morning. If we hadn't of been planning to leave we would have taken him up on the offer.
We plan to come back to Ecuador and we will stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KristenJane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 9, 2012

We visited Cotacachi in Oct 2012 and stayed 5 nights at La Cuadra. The owner, Jairo, speaks English very well and is an excellent host. We felt like we were staying in a friend's home rather than a hostal. We wanted to tour the area and he arranged a taxi driver friend to drive us around for several hours for a very reasonable cost, and the driver was as friendly as Jairo. I had trouble with WiFi on my laptop, and Jairo offered to let me use his computer. The hotel is spotlessly clean and comfortable. The common kitchen, lounge and dining area make you feel right at home and make it very easy to meet other friendly guests. We stayed in room 11 with a private bath and enough closet space to accommodate more clothes and luggage than anyone could travel with. Beds were comfortable and the shower was roomy with plenty of hot water. Location is the best, just a minute walk from the main plaza and a few minutes to the market, bus station, restaurants and a few blocks from Leather Street. The rooftop is accessible for enjoying great views of town and the mountains - we sat out there several evenings and enjoyed drinks with other guests. All this at an extremely reasonable price. Why look around for other hotels? If we're lucky enough to go back to Cotacachi, we wouldn't consider staying anywhere other than La Cuadra!

Room Tip: Room 11 has a private bath, one double and one single bed, and enormous closet space. The room size...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JayandNancy2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
30 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed November 4, 2012

We spent six nights here and recommend it. It is family oriented, guests can have full use of the kitchen (we cooked all our lunches and dinners), and it's near the main square and close to leather avenue (Cotacachi is well known for leather goods of all kinds). The price for a double bed room with a private bathroom, tv, and private bathroom with hot showers was very reasonable ($30 dollars) and the entertainment center room was a good place for chatting with interesting guests and relaxing. Jairo was very helpful and went out of his way to help us with any questions we had.

I'd recommend anyone wanting to visit Otavalo to consider staying in Cotacachi as it is quieter, has a charming square, numerous leather shops, beautiful lakes/volcano peaks nearby and it is only a 15 minute bus ride to Otavalo.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank joshuasmith77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cotacachi, Ecuador
1 review
Reviewed October 31, 2012

La Cuadra is a very hard place to beat. I have never stayed in a cleaner place, the ladies who work here must be real neat freaks. You will find modern rooms and furniture with comfortable beds. a well furnished kitchen and nice dinning area. Also a great entertainment center with over 100 dvd's. Don't neglect to spend some time on the roof for spectacular views. La Cuadra is well locate just off the main square so park benches for people watching and restaurants abound. Bus and taxi service is at the doorstep. Room rates are reasonable. The manager is very friendly, speakes good english and is happy to help with whatever may come along.

Room Tip: There is some street noise so if you are a light sleeper bring ear plugs or ask for a room in the ba...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kim B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Worth, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 23, 2012

owner is so helpful, wi-fi, everything is clean and fresh and if You dont speak Spanish, this place is the best in town, our 5 days staying was nothing less then super, both of us, wife and me are late 40s couple and for sure next time we will book in this awesome hostal, Jairo is the owner like no others, he really cares and help and inform, we will be back in few weeks and we know where to stay, La Cuadra, thank You all people working and staying there, just a great time and relax with super help

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cezary1963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed October 10, 2012

I was a woman traveling alone for two weeks in Cotacachi. La Cuadra was recommended to me by a friend - and my stay did not disappoint. The room was spacious with terrific storage.The staff was first class in their attention to every client's needs and in their willingness to please.

The manager, Jairo, welcomes everyone like they are his long lost relatives. After a few days, I got to meet many of the other guests. The ambience set by Jairo and his staff of genuine delight in meeting a variety of people became infectious among the guests. It was like old home week.

I would recommend this hostal for anyone traveling alone or with family and friends. Either way, you are assured of feeling safe, well cared for, and well advised on any inquiry you may have. I wouldn't hesitate to stay here again - even to hear the rooster whose inner time clock sets him off at odd hours. You are assured to start your day with a big chuckle.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Crystalbell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cotacachi
0.6 mi away
La Mirage Garden Hotel & Spa
0.3 mi away
Rancho Sant Fe
Rancho Sant Fe
#2 of 2 in Cotacachi
3 reviews
6.9 mi away
Casa Mojanda
Casa Mojanda
#1 of 14 in Otavalo
218 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Yellow Guest House
Yellow Guest House
#3 of 10 in Cotacachi
34 reviews
0.3 mi away
Land of the Sun Hotel & Spa
Land of the Sun Hotel & Spa
#5 of 10 in Cotacachi
55 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hosteria Oro Azul
Hosteria Oro Azul
#3 of 10 in Cotacachi
25 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Cuadra Hostal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Cuadra Hostal

Property: La Cuadra Hostal
Address: Modesto Penaherrera 11-46, Cotacachi 100350, Ecuador
Location: Ecuador > Imbabura Province > Cotacachi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Cotacachi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We offer exclusive services in a homely and familiar environment. We have 28 beautiful and comfortable rooms, that will make your stay in La Cuadra very pleasant. The service is top quality and our staff is bilingual. We offer complete peace and security so that your days in Cotacachi will be enjoyable. We are located in the center of the town and from our terrace you can enjoy the beautiful views of the volcanoes that surround us (Cotacachi and Imbabura) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your La Cuadra Hostal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Cuadra Hostal Ecuador/Cotacachi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing