We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely place with wonderful food and staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Land of the Sun Hotel & Spa
Ranked #5 of 11 Cotacachi B&B and Inns
Santa Monica, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lovely place with wonderful food and staff”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 25, 2013

We have been traveling exploring Ecuador.. came to Cotacachi.. a small prosperous town.. The Land of the Sun hotel is located on the main town square, beautiful architecture, lovely inside.. an old beautiful building with a traditional inner court yard, tables with sun umbrellas.. lots of flowers.. very pleasant.. staff are very courteous and attentive, food is very nice... bathrooms a bit basic but for Ecuador small town.. it works...we have really enjoyed staying here.. relaxed atmosphere... very affordable.. In Cotacachi, this Definitely the place to stay. This would definitely be my choice in Cotacachi if i visit again.

Room Tip: all rooms are good
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sasha P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

55 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    17
    19
    10
    6
    3
See reviews for
8
30
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bloomington-Normal, Illinois
Level Contributor
151 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2013

Basic rooms at The Inn Land of Sun are greatly compensated by excellent staff. Prices are average range.

Breakfast comes with the room and kitchen is open for lunch and dinner too. Staff is extremely accommodating and the Inn offers laundry service and an on site masseuse.

The Inn is an old mansion that belonged to the local governor back in the day. All profits go to help local indigenous peoples.

Room Tip: Ask for room room 104 which had double balconies and siting area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Scott W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, Florida
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2013

Love this place!! Have stayed there twice and it's the only place I will stay during future visits to Cotacachi. The staff are wonderful, helpful and pleasant - like family. The food is awesome and the room rates are the best in town - and they include breakfast. I have stayed in other places in Cotacachi and this beats them hands down. Not sure why people say it's overpriced. The profits from this Inn go back to the people of Cotacachi, so if you're philanthropic do consider this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PennyW53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cotacachi, Ecuador
Level Contributor
153 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 28, 2013

This was our second time to stay at The Inn of Land and Sun. This time our visit was for 10 days and it fulfilled our needs. You will receive a discount if you are members of Gary Scott 's publications. So the cost is very affordable. The location is perfect for walking to Leather Street, market, La Mirage and the bus terminal. I recommend room 104 which had double balconies. When we arrived we had fresh roses in our room. This trip we were more prepared and brought a little kettle and French press for early morning coffee since we are early raisers. Breakfast is available around 7:30 and you can request an omelet. The staff were excellent and go out of their to be helpful! This little hotel is certainly not fancy but offered the basic needs: good bed, hot shower and nice views of the church. The building is 140 years old and the floors creak but the old charm is part of the experience. We were their during Inti Raymi and were glad to have the balconies for viewing all the celebrations from our safe little perch. When you visit try to go to some of the Ecuadorian restaurants which we love.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ann H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
beautiful Vermont
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 9, 2013

This little place in nice but totally overpriced, over-rated and over promoted. The last time I stayed there, and it WAS the last time, we had a dinky, cold room with plank hard beds. Their food is good and the staff great. Thanks to a couple poor experiences we found a great place just outside of town & it has been out haven every time we return to Cotacachi.
Just because the owners promote it heavily does not make it worth the costs.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Dhing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sugar Land, Texas
Level Contributor
77 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 17, 2013

Our semi-suite was not available when we arrived and the regular room wasn't large enough for us, much less our luggage. They did put us in an apartment across the street...4th floor walkup. it was nice and roomy, but not what we wanted. We had to switch the gas connections for heating water on the stove and the shower and you had to shower fast not to end up icy cold. Ok, it could have been worse, I guess. We only ate breakfast there and that was basic and good. They advertise a happy hour on a large board at reception, but when we went there wasn't a sole in sight. But, the street noise was really, really bad along with the roosters, which didn't seem to know that 4:00 a.m. isn't sunrise! A rooster without a good clock should be dinner!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bruce H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windsor, Colorado
Level Contributor
183 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 19, 2013

Lovely building, small rooms and overpriced at $72 per night. Stairs only for second and third floor. Not suitable for physically impaired or disabled persons. Friendly staff and food available on site. Massage available on site is a good deal. They also overcharged friends an extra day. American prices for Ecuador.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank JohnColo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Cotacachi hotels

4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cotacachi hotels
0.3 mi away
La Mirage Garden Hotel & Spa
0.1 mi away
Rancho Sant Fe
Rancho Sant Fe
#2 of 2 in Cotacachi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3 reviews
0.1 mi away
Yellow Guest House
Yellow Guest House
#2 of 11 in Cotacachi
5.0 of 5 bubbles 34 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
El Roy
El Roy
#4 of 10 in Cotacachi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 13 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hostal Kimbala
Hostal Kimbala
#5 of 10 in Cotacachi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 14 reviews
1.7 mi away
Loma Wasi Village
Loma Wasi Village
#1 of 10 in Cotacachi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 62 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Land of the Sun Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Land of the Sun Hotel & Spa

Property: Land of the Sun Hotel & Spa
Address: Garcia Moreno 13-67 y Sucre, Cotacachi 100307, Ecuador (Formerly Hotel Land of Sun)
Location: Ecuador > Imbabura Province > Cotacachi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Cotacachi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Land of the Sun Hotel & Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Land of the Sun Hotel and Spa is a historic colonial landmark in the city of Cotacachi Ecuador. It has 15 rooms and a penthouse suite along with a fireplace room for private parties. The restaurant seats over 100 and is ideal for lunch or dinner meetings. Land of the Sun has hosted President Correa when in town as well as the Ms. Ecuador pageant. We are pleased to offer this Hotel to the public and can truly say that it is the jewel of Ecuador. Carter Hall G.M. Land of the Sun Hotel & Spa ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Land of the Sun Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Land Of The Sun Hotel & Spa Ecuador/Cotacachi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing