We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Over priced for Eduador”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Land of the Sun Hotel & Spa
Ranked #3 of 11 Cotacachi B&B and Inns
Reviewed March 19, 2013

Lovely building, small rooms and overpriced at $72 per night. Stairs only for second and third floor. Not suitable for physically impaired or disabled persons. Friendly staff and food available on site. Massage available on site is a good deal. They also overcharged friends an extra day. American prices for Ecuador.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank JohnColo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (58)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

40 - 46 of 58 reviews

Reviewed March 11, 2013

We loved this hotel! We had a balcony room with a view of the cathedral, and a little street noise but worth it! Wonderful complimentary breakfast served by a hardworking charming staff. Our room was large, with a comfy king bed, silky, soft sheets and plenty of blankets to warm us. We made use of the free phone calls to the US, and enjoyed meeting resident expats on Friday nite in the fireplace room. The tomato soup is wonderful! Our only regret is that we couldn't stay longer.

Room Tip: Maybe the inside rooms are quieter but we were very happy in 105.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Karen L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 2, 2013

Remember where you are ....which is Ecuador. This is not the Omni! I feel in love with this 140 year old historic retreat. You are located in the heart of the village and within walking distance to all the shopping. The rooms are small and bathroom even smaller but we were there to explore not to spend time in a room. Yes, the floors squeak but you would to if you were 140 years old. Ask for a room with a balcony which is only large enough for one person to look out of but nice view of the cathedral and convent across the street. You may request a small heater to take the chill off. Slept great! Complimentary breakfast offered. Great local fruit juice. Later had a wonderful one hour massage for only $30.

Now about those church bells. We arrived very late only to be woken up early and it sounded like someone banging on a iron pot with a spoon it lasted so long that I told my husband that maybe it was a Ecuadorian fire alarm. He got up to investigate but did not see a soul stirring. We went back to bed only to be woken up again in 30 min. Later we learned it was the church bell. We learned to appreciate and love this wake up call and 30 min snooze alarm.

We found the staff to be helpful and understanding of our very limited Spanish. Proceeds from the hotel go back to the indigenous people. I think you will enjoy The Land Of Sun but always keep in mind where you are and opt for the adventure and charm.

Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
2  Thank Ann H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2013

This hotel is quaint and beautiful to look at. The mattresses are old and hard as a rock. I wanted a balcony, the room was on the busiest street in town and with no insulation the diesel buses and motorcycles sound as if they are in the room with you. Forget running around in your socks, the floors are covered with black soot. Towels; being a lone female person, on the second day I was given only one towel; no second towel for my hair and no towel to step out on after shower. After much back & forth I finally got 2 towels ( female friend told me she used to snitch towels from the cart and hide them in dresser drawers). No they do not speak many languages as I have seen stated. I see robes on beds in ads; there are none. While I was there it was quite chilly and there is no heat in the rooms; finally received a small heater. While visiting with with one group, a lady told me their toilet would not flush and when they complained they were told that all toilet paper was to go into the waste basket so the sewer would not back up. (!) Not sure what this had to do with the flush handle problem. I had heard about using the waste basket but no one told me and I did not do this.
Franklin & Christian are a delight, 95% smiling and happy; really try to help out. Consuelo is taking English speech lessons and tries really hard. The 2 Rosetta's are kind and try to help but do not give them instructions about taking care of your room because they do not understand. Eduardo, as long as you do as he says everything is fine.

Room Tip: Off street rooms are quieter. Perhaps the suite has a more comfortable bed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank May A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 13, 2012

My friend and I are happily ensconced in this hotel, now named "Land of the Sun Inn" or "Tierra del Sol". ("Land of the Clouds" might be equally apropos in this changeable but fascinating mountain climate.) "Mi amiga y yo" both arrived in the Andes from sea-level locations and we note how wonderful it is to be met with friendly, hospitable and flexible staff while adjusting to the altitude. Great beds and superb food in a quiet, quirky town are just what the doctor would order for the symptoms of altitude sickness.

Lunch at the Inn yesterday proved not only delicious but beautifully presented and graciously served. Yummy home-made soup, lots of vegetables (not overcooked, hurray!), flavorful chicken, a little potato cake to die for and a sweet "tree tomato" for dessert. Not to forget, bottomless pots of a certain tea to combat the altitude headaches. All for $7. How will I ever lose weight in this town?

From the Inn, we are exploring Imbabura province but come home to our spacious, quiet, comfortable digs after each excursion. Our drivers, recommended by this hotel, have been amazingly cordial and have gone out of their way to accommodate our idiosyncratic requests for exotica such as gluten-free food or basketball games, not to mention their help with our still pathetic Spanish. The hotel's wi-fi works fine and there's hot water on demand--today's major measures of civilization. Breakfast is included in the price of your room and there is free telephone service to North America or Europe. Socially, the Inn holds Friday-night get-togethers for visitors and ex-pats.

A profound quiet embraces Cotacachi, a major attraction for a stay as long as ours. The night is punctuated by the odd single vehicle or enthusiastic rooster and, at four a.m., by a gentleman pushing a wheeled "basurero" and cleaning the street by hand. (Beats the early-morning leaf-blowers in Vancouver any day!) The church bells? I like them. They last only a few minutes and serve as a melodious reminder to enjoy the dawning of another twelve hours of Andean sunshine and fresh air. What a gift!

Room Tip: Be sure to articulate your specific needs to ever-friendly manager Franklin, and he will do all he c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Eva v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 17, 2012

This is nicely restored colonial in the heart of town. Yes, the plank floors creak but that's part of the charm of an old colonial. We have stayed in 5 different colonial on this trip and each has had its quirks and noises but never anything that can't be overcome with a little patience. The staff here make the stay. Always helpful and smiling. Trying to order off the menu in Spanish gets everyone laughing and lesson in pronunciation with a smile. Will defiantly stay again.

Room Tip: Ask for a matrimonial room with a queen bed for a bigger room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Richard A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 27, 2012

We have stayed in El Meson ( now called Tierra del Sol) in two occasions this year. On the first occasion we got a room that was too small and uncomfortable but soon found out that there were a few bigger rooms and comfortable ones to rent if booked early enough. This we did on our second trip which made our stay comfortable and enjoyable. The hospitality and cleanliness is good and the church bells did not bother us very much. Yes, the floors are creaky ( what do you expect in an old villa) but by evening it is very quiet and our sleep was never disturbed until morning. Franklin and the employees are very helpful and they do their best to keep their guests happy. It's definitely the best value for money and furthermore, you help support the local community in quaint Cotacachi.

Room Tip: Room 111 or the apartment on the 2nd floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Minie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cotacachi hotels
0.3 mi away
La Mirage Garden Hotel & Spa
0.2 mi away
Yellow Guest House
Yellow Guest House
#2 of 11 in Cotacachi
35 reviews
0.3 mi away
La Cuadra Hotel
La Cuadra Hotel
#1 of 11 in Cotacachi
164 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Hacienda San Isidro de Iltaqui
0 mi away
Rancho Sant Fe
Rancho Sant Fe
#2 of 2 in Cotacachi
3 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hostal Jora Continental
Hostal Jora Continental
#6 of 11 in Cotacachi
16 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Land of the Sun Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Land of the Sun Hotel & Spa

Address: Garcia Moreno 13-67 y Sucre, Cotacachi 100350, Ecuador (Formerly Hotel Land of Sun)
Location: Ecuador > Imbabura Province > Cotacachi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Cotacachi
Price Range: $61 - $71 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Land of the Sun Hotel & Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Land of the Sun Hotel and Spa is a historic colonial landmark in the city of Cotacachi Ecuador. It has 15 rooms and a penthouse suite along with a fireplace room for private parties. The restaurant seats over 100 and is ideal for lunch or dinner meetings. Land of the Sun has hosted President Correa when in town as well as the Ms. Ecuador pageant. We are pleased to offer this Hotel to the public and can truly say that it is the jewel of Ecuador. Carter Hall G.M. Land of the Sun Hotel & Spa ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Land of the Sun Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Land Of The Sun Hotel & Spa Ecuador/Cotacachi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing