We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Quaint but Quirky”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Land of the Sun Hotel & Spa
Ranked #5 of 11 Cotacachi B&B and Inns
Kelowna, Canada
Level Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Quaint but Quirky”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 17, 2012

This is nicely restored colonial in the heart of town. Yes, the plank floors creak but that's part of the charm of an old colonial. We have stayed in 5 different colonial on this trip and each has had its quirks and noises but never anything that can't be overcome with a little patience. The staff here make the stay. Always helpful and smiling. Trying to order off the menu in Spanish gets everyone laughing and lesson in pronunciation with a smile. Will defiantly stay again.

Room Tip: Ask for a matrimonial room with a queen bed for a bigger room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Richard A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

55 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    17
    19
    10
    6
    3
See reviews for
8
30
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 27, 2012

We have stayed in El Meson ( now called Tierra del Sol) in two occasions this year. On the first occasion we got a room that was too small and uncomfortable but soon found out that there were a few bigger rooms and comfortable ones to rent if booked early enough. This we did on our second trip which made our stay comfortable and enjoyable. The hospitality and cleanliness is good and the church bells did not bother us very much. Yes, the floors are creaky ( what do you expect in an old villa) but by evening it is very quiet and our sleep was never disturbed until morning. Franklin and the employees are very helpful and they do their best to keep their guests happy. It's definitely the best value for money and furthermore, you help support the local community in quaint Cotacachi.

Room Tip: Room 111 or the apartment on the 2nd floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Minie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Petersburg, Florida
Level Contributor
34 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 21, 2012

My wife and I stayed here 2 nights a few weeks back. Thanks to the reviews I was adequately prepared for the church bells. They start ringing at 6am and go every 15 minutes until 6:30. The floors are squeaky without a doubt. Also, our room was along a very busy street in which people hung outside talking and it is a main thoroughfare for bus traffic as well.

However, it is a quaint place with a polite and friendly staff. You have to remember people....you're not in Kansas anymore....it's Ecuador. Stop expecting all your American amenities. Enjoy the time, culture, history and most importantly the people. Cotacachi is a great little town and you are a .45 bus ride from the markets in Otavalo or even the bigger town of Ibarra.

Would I stay here again....sure.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Michael T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodland, California
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 11, 2012

Coming to Cotacachi after being in Quito, the crisp, cold, and clean air was refreshing. The room was very clean and the real queen sized bed was very comfortable with a firm interspring mattress. The bathroom was a little on the small side, but also nice. Yes, the church bells go off at 6AM, but not as loud as I thought they would be. You can hear the road noise, but it wasn't very often. The room had neither a phone or television which can be a plus or minus depending on your point of view. I enjoyed my stay.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank fongball
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
41 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 17, 2012

Spent the night. Room was comfortable and clean. Bathroom was decent although the shower drained slowly so left us in an inch or so of our water during our shower.

Breakfast was adequate. Dinner was nearly inedible.

The town is quaint, quiet, and not worth more than a night stay and an hour or two stroll. If you love leather, stay longer, but otherwise, you come for a quick afternoon and little more (if you must).

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sambieni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 3, 2011

Having been to Cotacachi 4 times now, I always stay here, it feels like home to me. Reading other reviewers comments ... yes the floors are creaky & the church bells do ring, occasionally you hear a car roaring down the street or dogs barking as well. It's my opinion that these things stick out as being "noisy" because otherwise the place is so quiet, abnormally quiet from where I live at least.
It's not a five star chateaux relais, (though there is one in Cotacachi, La Mirage which is wonderful if that’s more your style) but it is a five star experience and treatment from the staff, in the setting of an old (updated) Hacienda style home with large center court yard and a fireplace room (which the will light for you if you like). The staff (who are all local indigenous people) here are some of the most courteous, warm and friendly that I have ever come across. For me I love this place ... I travel for experience and culture of a place and to meet the people, this place does that for me. It's clean and safe and for me quite comfortable.
If you decide to go here, you might enquire ahead of time if there will be a large group like one of the posters mentioned and schedule around it or go elsewhere. Each room is diffrent so ask ahead for a room that meets your needs (i.e.: the quietest room you have) And if things are not as you hoped, ask the guy at the front desk if its possible to switch rooms, in my experience they are very accommodating and will do whatever they can to make your stay pleasant.
The name has changed to Hotel Tierra del Sol, but as far as I can tell the rest remains the same.
All the best, and have a great time in Cotacachi.

Room Tip: Some rooms have street side windows (more noise but also a view of the street and life below), while...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank spfoto39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jackson, Wyoming
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 17, 2011

Our first trip to Ecuador, our first hotel and we were so excited to finally get there and get some rest. Not to happen. Firstly on walking in with our luggage and giving them our name, they did not have our reservation. And we were also signed up for a tour through them, which they did not have our name on that list either. They were swamped with a group from Quito's International Living visitors, that decided to drop in...they took us accross the street to a 2 bdrm apt. they owned, and showed it to us asking if we could share this with another lady?!? lol We declined. Mind, our reservations were made months ago...well, they finally juggled 4 other people around, and gave us a room. We were shocked about how noisy it was...the whole place was a huge echo chamber...and the wooden floors squeaked horribly. We could hear the staff, on the bottom floor, in the kitchen starting their day, right after the church bells (right next door) go off at 6 a.m., they do not just ring 6 times either, they go on and on and on .... second morning, no hot water & that nite when it rained heavily the power went off in the sockets we were using for the floor heater and my laptop. Well, bottom line, we think its highly overpriced and highly over-rated. I've never had to write a review before, but I do know people truly like to know from others about their experiences, I know I do.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank DRobinson16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Cotacachi hotels

4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cotacachi hotels
0.3 mi away
La Mirage Garden Hotel & Spa
0.1 mi away
Rancho Sant Fe
Rancho Sant Fe
#2 of 2 in Cotacachi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3 reviews
0.1 mi away
Yellow Guest House
Yellow Guest House
#2 of 11 in Cotacachi
5.0 of 5 bubbles 34 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
El Roy
El Roy
#4 of 10 in Cotacachi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 13 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hostal Kimbala
Hostal Kimbala
#5 of 10 in Cotacachi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 14 reviews
1.7 mi away
Loma Wasi Village
Loma Wasi Village
#1 of 10 in Cotacachi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 62 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Land of the Sun Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Land of the Sun Hotel & Spa

Property: Land of the Sun Hotel & Spa
Address: Garcia Moreno 13-67 y Sucre, Cotacachi 100307, Ecuador (Formerly Hotel Land of Sun)
Location: Ecuador > Imbabura Province > Cotacachi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Cotacachi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Land of the Sun Hotel & Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Land of the Sun Hotel and Spa is a historic colonial landmark in the city of Cotacachi Ecuador. It has 15 rooms and a penthouse suite along with a fireplace room for private parties. The restaurant seats over 100 and is ideal for lunch or dinner meetings. Land of the Sun has hosted President Correa when in town as well as the Ms. Ecuador pageant. We are pleased to offer this Hotel to the public and can truly say that it is the jewel of Ecuador. Carter Hall G.M. Land of the Sun Hotel & Spa ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Land of the Sun Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Land Of The Sun Hotel & Spa Ecuador/Cotacachi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing