We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home away from home”
Review of Discovery Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Discovery Inn
Ranked #1 of 19 Hotels in Dili
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 24, 2013

I visited Dili for the first time in November.
The Discovery Inn may be small, but the staff, service and comfort was a very pleasant surprise.
The rooms feature everything you would find in a premium chain hotel room. Breakfast, Happy Hour drinks and nibbles, and the best restaurant in Dili.
Great base for a business trip.

Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
Thank Paul H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ZeenatAwan, Guest Relations Coordinator at Discovery Inn, responded to this reviewResponded December 25, 2013

Dear Paul H,

Thank you for reviewing your recent business stay at Discovery Inn.

It is always a pleasure to read about the experiences of our guests and we are so pleased to see that you enjoyed all aspects of your stay.

We sincerely hope that you will stay with us again the next time you are in Dili.

All the best,

Zeenat Awan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (201)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

140 - 146 of 201 reviews

Reviewed December 20, 2013

The Discovery Inn in Dili is a reliable friend. I have stayed here several times and I have always had a good experience. The restaurant, Diya, is good -- the curries and breads are especially delicious. The hotel staff is always friendly and helpful -- the rooms are clean and comfortable and the internet works well!

The free shuttle back and forth to the airport is a nice touch -- and the free breakfast buffet has a lot to offer.

If you're coming to Dili -- I recommend Discovery!

Room Tip: I like the rooms upstairs toward the front of the building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Charles R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ZeenatAwan, Guest Relations Coordinator at Discovery Inn, responded to this reviewResponded December 22, 2013

Dear Charles R,

Thank you very much for reviewing your recent stay at Discovery Inn.

We are so pleased to read that you enjoyed all aspects of your stay and are particularly comfortable in the rooms located at the front of the building on level 1.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Discovery Inn on your next trip to Dili.

All the best,

Zeenat Awan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 12, 2013

good hotel with helpful staff, the manager is so attentiveness but the WIFI need more boost since as a business trip it is so needful.
breakfast is simple but coverage my morning wake up need..thumb ups for this

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ajoeb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ZeenatAwan, Guest Relations Coordinator at Discovery Inn, responded to this reviewResponded December 16, 2013

Dear ajoeb,

Thank you for reviewing your recent stay at Discovery Inn.

We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay, particularly the service, location and cleanliness of our rooms. I sincerely appreciate your feedback regarding wifi and will use your feedback moving forward. At Discovery inn, we appreciate customer feedback as we are constantly striving for improvement.

We look forward to welcoming you back on your next trip to Dili.

All the best,

Zeenat

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 10, 2013

I come to Dili often and I always choose stay at Discovery Inn. The friendly staff are like a family and are always helpful. If you are looking for a hotel with a personal touch, then this is the one for you.

Make sure you try the food at the Hotel's Restaurant - Diya. It rates as one of the best restaurants in Dili.

Mike

Room Tip: The rooms are generally all good - I personally prefer the ones upstairs on the 2nd floor - close to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mikexx0011345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ZeenatAwan, Guest Relations Coordinator at Discovery Inn, responded to this reviewResponded December 16, 2013

Dear Mikexx0011345,

Thank you very much for taking the time out to review your recent business stay at Discovery Inn.

We are so pleased that you enjoyed every aspect of your stay, particularly the service you received. We do appreciate your patronage and look forward to welcoming you back next time you are in Dili.

All the best,

Zeenat Awan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 28, 2013

It was my first time traveling to Dili afar from home and my stay in Discovery made me feel like being at home. For one working with government and key donor organizations, the hotel was just perfect in terms of accessibility. It is also safe, it has an excellent restaurant and various other good choices next door, free drinks at happy hour, service men and women all are so kind, and the price is quite reasonable. I truly recommend this place and look forward to come back to Discovery Inn soon.

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jorge Shepherd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ZeenatAwan, Guest Relations Coordinator at Discovery Inn, responded to this reviewResponded December 16, 2013

Dear Jorge Shepard,

Thank you for taking out the time to write a review on your time at Discovery Inn. We are so pleased that you have enjoyed your time with us and look forward to welcoming you again and again.

All the best,

Zeenat Awan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2013

Being in a third world country, you would want to ensure that you have a clean and comfortable room to return to when night falls. Besides having good quality internet access, which is a must when on a business trip, the location was central, services exceeded expectation of being in a developing country. I would certainly recommend this hotel and make sure you dine at DIYA, which is probably the only 5 star serviced restaurant in all of Dili. Menu could be enhanced but overall great food and great atmosphere.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andisuari D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ZeenatAwan, Guest Relations Coordinator at Discovery Inn, responded to this reviewResponded December 16, 2013

Dear Andisuari D,

Thank you for your review of Discovery Inn for your recent business trip in Dili, Timor-Leste.

We are so pleased to read that you enjoyed all aspects of your time at the hotel and that you were comfortable in the duration of your stay.

We sincerely hope that you will come and stay with us the next time you are in Dili.

All the best,

Zeenat Awan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 24, 2013

Ryan, Marcea and staff were all extremely friendly and provided excellent service! The hotel is very clean and the food is absolutely delicious! Wonderful open porch/bar with view of the mountains were breakfast and happy hour occurs daily. Great WI-FI connection that allowed me to stay connected with family back home. Excellent safety - deadbolt lock on door, security at the front entrance and working safe in the room, which were all very important, since I was a woman traveling alone in Timor Excellent working air conditioner and nice hot shower. Complimentary bottles of water each day was another plus. Overall experience was excellent!.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Debbie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ZeenatAwan, Guest Relations Coordinator at Discovery Inn, responded to this reviewResponded October 28, 2013

Dear Debbie G,

We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed your recent stay at Discovery Inn and particularly the services we have on offer. We are constantly striving for great customer service so it is really rewarding to read that you enjoyed all facets of your stay. Thank you for taking the time to write your review and we hope to see you again.

All the best,

Zeenat Awan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dili hotels
2.1 mi away
Hotel Esplanada
Hotel Esplanada
#2 of 19 in Dili
369 reviews
2.9 mi away
Timor Plaza Hotel & Apartments
1.5 mi away
Excelsior Resort
Excelsior Resort
#11 of 19 in Dili
19 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Hotel The Ramelau
Hotel The Ramelau
#9 of 19 in Dili
34 reviews
3.5 mi away
Arbiru Beach Resort
Arbiru Beach Resort
#10 of 19 in Dili
18 reviews
3.7 mi away
Timor Lodge Hotel
Timor Lodge Hotel
#14 of 19 in Dili
17 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Discovery Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Discovery Inn

Address: 84 Rua 30 de Agosto, Dili, East Timor
Phone Number:
Location: East Timor > Dili District > Dili
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 19 Hotels in Dili
Price Range: $82 - $103 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This boutique hotel offers equal to four star comfort set in lush court yard gardens right in the heart of the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Discovery Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing