We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“LOVED IT - EXCELLENT SERVICE”
Review of Hotel Esplanada

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Esplanada
Ranked #1 of 21 Hotels in Dili
Certificate of Excellence
Jakarta, Indonesia
1 review
“LOVED IT - EXCELLENT SERVICE”
Reviewed January 21, 2013

I stayed at Esplanada for 14 days and used it as a base for all my touring around Dili and the closer districts. I felt comfortable there immediately as I was greeted with a happy broad smile from the reception staff. The rooms were lovely and bright and had everything I needed. All my laundry was done with next day delivery and my room was kept scrupulously clean. The pool is a salt water pool and very cool due to the sails shading it from the sun. The restaurant overlooks Dili Harbor and is a beautiful spot to relax and take in the view day or night. I couldn't use my EFTPPOS card one day due a fault with the machine and they even loaned me money. I loved visiting Dili and Hotel Esplanada had a lot to do with this experience being really special. Thanks to all the wonderful staff and see you next time.

Room Tip: Rooms in East Side on 1st floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nancy7800
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

358 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    191
    127
    30
    7
    3
See reviews for
24
57
39
182
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (117)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Indonesian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 21, 2013

The Esplanada is the pick of the bunch of hotels in Dili. It has a nice aesthetic, not gaudy but minimalist and modern. Great view of the ocean from the upstairs outdoor restaurant. Great, reasonably priced food. Clean comfortable, modern rooms. Nice pool. The staff are friendly and helpful and its conveniently located for easy quick access to shops and offices and Dili. I would definitely recommend staying there.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Frances B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed January 21, 2013

I recently had a week-long stay in Timor and this hotel became a real oasis. The rooms are very clean and well equipped - TV, wifi, fridge, comfy bed and great shower. The staff are smiley and helpful, including the friendly and knowledgeable proprietor, Ash... and the pool is lovely. Maybe best of all is the restaurant/bar, with a great view over the bay, and really good food (the free breakfast is great, with plenty of fantastic Timorese coffee). I ended up spending lots of time there, and got the sense that it's a real central meeting place. I'd recommend this hotel very highly for anyone visiting Dili.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Laura M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bali, Indonesia
2 reviews
Reviewed January 20, 2013

Esplanada has been my home away from home... whatever I needed the staff and owners were willing to accomodate - even a picky a vegan diet (try the vegetable curry - its my favourite)!
The pool is BY FAR the best in Dili, the water is always cool and clean, even on the hottest of days and they are always on top of the impact of rainy season.
My family and I have spent countless days lounging around, eating and drinking in a comfortable and accomodating environment. The staff are on top of poolside orders and if your ever missing something, the kitchen is only steps awaya nd they are willing to provide you with anything you need - they are never too busy for customers.
The rooms are clean and comfortable and the nosie from Beach Road is unheard (along with your neighbours!).
The restaurant area is relaxing and the most comfortable place i have found to study, work, and relax and socialize - its a great place to escape from the an intense and busy workday and the restaurant staff make u feel like ur in your own home!
I highly recommend Esplanada for work, leisure, and just a place to chil out while visiting Dili, TL. There is not another hotel in the city that compares.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank k-arifin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darwin, Australia
1 review
Reviewed January 18, 2013

Having tried the few 'good' hotels in Dili, I really can't go past Hotel Esplanada.

Service - from the moment you walk through the door Romeo and his team make you feel at home and at ease, nothing is too much trouble. Bear in mind that service of a standard familiar to Westerners is something relatively foreign to Timorese culture so it doesn't always hit the mark, however the effort, smiles and 'obrigadus' are genuine. The proprietors are very welcoming and happy to engage with their local knowledge and insights of Dili.

Value - Not the cheapest place in town, but for the standard provided here, value is good.

Sleep quality - Like a log.

Cleanliness - Spotless. The contrast from the dusty hustle and bustle of Dili won't go unappreciated for the weary traveller.

Location - Relatively central to town and handy to the airport (not under the flight path) with enough taxis trolling past should you need to go somewhere. There are great views of the Dili fore shore, Wetar Straight and Atauro Island from the bar/restaurant. For those into people watching, a stool on the harbour side of the bar is primo. Take a stroll across the road and down to the beach at sun down and enjoy a Bintang and freshly caught and cooked fish-ona-stick from one of the local vendors.

Rooms - Clean, well appointed and plenty of room.

Fitness centre - Didn't venture here.

Room service - Didn't venture here either. Frankly, the bar/restaurant was a more inviting option, with the great views, people watching vantage points and interesting mix of fellow guests.

For tourists, Dili is great as a base for exploring the many treasures of the regional areas of Timor Leste and Hotel Esplanada is a great place to come back to, clean up and recharge. For those on official duties, there's really none better.

As I eluded to above, Dili is not New York, or even Denpasar, so pack some patience before you come. Hotel Esplanada is a sanctuary and the bench mark for top end accommodation and hospitality in Dili. That is of course unless El Presidente offers you a room at his place.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AndrewBryce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
Reviewed January 17, 2013

We have stayed at most of the major hotels in Dili and the Esplanada has become our hotel of choice. Cool bar and restaurant to hang out in. Great service overseen by the affable owner Ash, who is one of the main reasons for staying here. He's a great bloke who runs a tight ship.. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brian T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
1 review
Reviewed January 16, 2013

We were up visiting Timor Leste for the first time over the Christmas break and used Hotel Esplanada as our base for a week in the country. Great hotel with a good restaurant that looks out over the water and a nice little pool where you can meet people.

From chatting to other tourists about other Hotels in Dili it sounds like Hotel Esplanada is definitely the best of them. The owner Ash is fantastic and knows everyone in Dili so is really able to help you out and make sure you have a great time.

Room Tip: They're all round the pool and relatively similar
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dili
1.0 mi away
Timor Plaza Hotel & Apartments
1.3 mi away
Arbiru Beach Resort
Arbiru Beach Resort
#10 of 21 in Dili
16 reviews
1.7 mi away
Timor Lodge Hotel
Timor Lodge Hotel
#15 of 21 in Dili
17 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Gino's Hotel
Gino's Hotel
#17 of 21 in Dili
24 reviews
2.3 mi away
NOVO TURISMO Resort & Spa
22.2 mi away
Atauro Dive Resort
Atauro Dive Resort
#2 of 3 in Atauro
26 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Esplanada? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Esplanada

Property: Hotel Esplanada
Address: Avenida da Portugal, Dili, East Timor
Location: East Timor > Dili District > Dili
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 21 Hotels in Dili
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Esplanada 3*
Number of rooms: 34
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Esplanada reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Esplanada Hotel Dili

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing