We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best in Dili”
Review of Hotel Esplanada

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Esplanada
Ranked #2 of 21 Hotels in Dili
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
“Best in Dili”
Reviewed October 27, 2012

Even though East Timor is a slight shock to the system for most westerners from the moment you touch down, Hotel Esplanada is exceptionally relaxing and reassuring. It brings a level of comfort and professionalism not witnessed in any other part of the fledgling republic. Owner Ashley Rees and his team provide memorable, high quality service that made the experience that much more enjoyable. The rooms are of the highest standard, the restaurant and bar are tailored to your wants, and with the relentless humidity of the tropics; the pool is exceptionally inviting.
A standout.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Luke M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

344 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    179
    125
    30
    7
    3
See reviews for
20
56
37
177
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (113)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Indonesian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
Reviewed October 23, 2012

This past year i have visited the Hotel Esplanada on a number of occasions, and each time i have been impressed.

Fantastic food, services, location, and accomodation give Hotel Esplanada a fantastic experience and i could not recommend this establishment highly enough!

Two words: Hotel Esplanada !!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stuart C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
Reviewed October 23, 2012

I work frequently in Dili, and have tried most of the hotels, and this is best one by far, for me. There's nothing like the salt-water pool to wash off a hot day's work in Dili. Great location, great facilities, great staff, always taxis passing when you need them, and the upstairs bar is a great place to relax. Other good restaurants are nearby too, its beachside, and quite convenient for the airport too. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike_L_277
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Everywhere
1 review
Reviewed October 23, 2012

The Esplanada is the place I stay every time I travel to Timor Leste. It is a great place to prepare for or debrief after my business. It is also a comfortable place to hold meetings with people over lunch or dinner. The food is great and the upper deck is the perfect place to relax, overlooking the sea. The management and staff are extremely friendly and are very well connected, this is handy for first time visitors finding their way.

I would recommend the Esplanada for business people or tourists as it offers a secure and comfortable environment in an emerging destination in our region. Thanks again guys.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Harry M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
Reviewed October 21, 2012

Having spent a week in Dili recently with 23 students and some other staff, I must say I had wonderful time. I found the hotel clean, tidy and a refuge from the heat and dust. It was a great place to return to during the day to have a swim and a meal.The atmosphere in the open style restaurant upstairs is lovely. Room was beautifully cool, good size, great comfortable bed and plenty of cupboard space. overall a wonderful time.
I really enjoyed the friendliness of the hotel staff. the only problem was that sometimes meals were extremely slow to arrive- although we were a large group. it was very relaxing in the restaurant overlooking the sea and the activity of the fishermen etc along the coast road.
Dili is an interesting place to come to and certainly needs lots of tourist input. i would thoroughly recommend them staying here at the Esplanada. i would love to come back and would certainly stay there again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank margiebirb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
Reviewed October 20, 2012

Great place and very friendly accommodating staff. fantastic roof top bar/restaurant, the perfect place to watch that Dili sunset.
Nice comfortable beds, good size rooms and hot water!!
Great place to crash after a day of discovery.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank anferny2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cowra Austalia
1 review
Reviewed October 20, 2012

My husband and I recently had a week at the Hotel Esplanada in Dili. It has a wonderful waterfront position and is easy walking distance to terrific bars and restaurants. The rooms are very well appointed and cool after a hot day .The pool was a great place to relax and the restaurant has great views over the water as well as good food. The staff could not have been more helpful . Our son works in Dili and had organised our stay there after researching all the available options and we feel he chose a truly remarkable place to stay.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Prue F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dili hotels
2.1 mi away
Discovery Inn
Discovery Inn
#1 of 21 in Dili
175 reviews
1.0 mi away
Timor Plaza Hotel & Apartments
0.7 mi away
Hotel The Ramelau
Hotel The Ramelau
#10 of 21 in Dili
33 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Hotel Timor
Hotel Timor
#4 of 21 in Dili
131 reviews
1.3 mi away
Arbiru Beach Resort
Arbiru Beach Resort
#9 of 21 in Dili
15 reviews
1.7 mi away
Timor Lodge Hotel
Timor Lodge Hotel
#16 of 21 in Dili
17 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Esplanada? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Esplanada

Property: Hotel Esplanada
Address: Avenida da Portugal, Dili, East Timor
Location: East Timor > Dili District > Dili
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 21 Hotels in Dili
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Esplanada 3*
Number of rooms: 34
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Esplanada reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Esplanada Hotel Dili

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing