We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Presentation”
Review of Diya Restaurant

Diya Restaurant
Ranked #2 of 67 Restaurants in Dili
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: International
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Sydney
Level Contributor
194 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“Excellent Presentation”
Reviewed July 22, 2013

We read about this place in the in-flight magazine on the plane over and thought it would make a good evening out for our group of 9 celebrating a birthday. We went on a Friday night and ate early. Until close to when we left, we were the only table, so had 4 chefs and 4 wait staff to look after us for most of the time. Excellent presentation and good service. The chefs were all Indian, I think, so I went for a 3 course Indian themed meal, which was all very good. Others in our party had different things, but from all reports, no complaints. As others have remarked, Dili is not a cheap place to eat and the prices were to be expected for a place like this, considering the decor and service. If in Dili, and wanting a nice place to eat out, I'd go again.
We were not staying in the Discovery Inn, which is where the restaurant is located, so we needed taxis to get back to our lodgings, which the hotel was able to arrange, although the cabbies wanted $10 each for what was normally a $2 trip. They don't normally work at night.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Turkey_Baster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ZeenatAwan, Guest Relations Coordinator at Diya Restaurant, responded to this review, August 5, 2013
Dear Turkey_Baster,

Thank you very much for your review of your recent visit to Diya Restaurant. We are so pleased to hear that you enjoyed all aspects of your stay and that you would visit us again.

Here at Diya Restaurant, and Discovery Inn for that matter, we love getting feedback from our guests so that we can ensure only the best experience for all those who visit us.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

All the best,

Zeenat Awan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

132 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    71
    45
    12
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • English first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
94 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Excellent”
Reviewed July 13, 2013

Been all around the world, and for the ingredients available in Dili, this is a great restaurant. I'm surprised about how many people are complaining about the price. From an objective standpoint, the food you are getting is totally worth it. Everything else in Dili might be cheaper, but not by THAT much. Anyway, if you are reading this, you're probably deciding whether or not to come here. My advice is DO IT!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank africantraveler1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ZeenatAwan, Guest Relations Coordinator at Diya Restaurant, responded to this review, August 5, 2013
Dear africantraveler1,

Thank you very much for your review of your visit to Diya Restaurant. We are so pleased to read that you enjoyed every aspect of your dining experience with us and hope that you will be ack again.

All the best,

Zeenat Awan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa
Level Contributor
27 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“happy to find this”
Reviewed June 14, 2013

Came here on the recommendations found and was very happy with the choice in the menu, attentive service (they forgot something but that can happen, they also seem a bit overly afraid to make a mistake), and will most likely go back! Music could be a touch more refined but otherwise a good and happy place to be.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Hans G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ZeenatAwan, Guest Relations Coordinator at Diya Restaurant, responded to this review, July 12, 2013
Dear Hans G,

Thank you very much for taking the time to review Diya Restaurant on Trip Advisor. We appreciate your positive feedback and have taken your comments on board to ensure your future dining experiences with us are memorable ones.

All the best,

Zeenat Awan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
55 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Garlic soup, so yummy”
Reviewed May 6, 2013 via mobile

This time I tried the cajun chicken with mushroom sauce and risotto for main and garlic soup for starter. Both so yummy. The chicken was melting in your mouth. Try it for sure.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ali K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ZeenatAwan, Guest Relations Coordinator at Diya Restaurant, responded to this review, June 11, 2013
Dear skiaie,

Thank you for your review of Diya Restaurant. We are thrilled that you have enjoyed the meals that our chefs have prepared for you. Please come back and try other items on the menu. We are sure you will not be disappointed.

All the best and looking forward to welcoming you back to Diya soon.

Zeenat Awan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra
Level Contributor
42 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“A Dili Gem”
Reviewed April 28, 2013

Had dinner at Diya on recommendation a few nights ago, and I was very impressed. I struggle with one of Timor’s culinary limitations - that being a nice, juicy, fresh, quality piece of steak. This is not a criticism, it’s just part of life here and the way it is. I was told my best hope for a decent steak in Dili was Diya, so off we went. I was impressed with Diya from the moment I walked in. Located within the Discovery Inn, Diya has a very classy atmosphere. It is high-end Dili dining (glad we left our little one with friends for the evening - not the place for a toddler), with lovely food, very attentive staff, but with prices to match. Entrees were $USD8-18, Mains $18-$30, bottle of wine $30-$120, bill all up for two of us was $USD120, which is pretty extravagant for Dili, but so worth it. The service was excellent, our meals arrived quickly and the food was delicious. Very happy with Diya, and I will be going back next time I am here.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank K878
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ZeenatAwan, Guest Relations Coordinator at Diya Restaurant, responded to this review, June 11, 2013
Dear K878,

Thank you for your review of Diya Restaurant. We are so pleased to hear that you have enjoyed your dining experience with us. We look forward to welcoming you back when you are in Dili next.

All the best,

Zeenat Awan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Diya Restaurant also viewed

Dili, Dili District
Dili, Dili District
 
Dili, Dili District
 
Dili, Dili District
 

Been to Diya Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing