We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent location - hard to find on-line”
Review of The Plaza Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Plaza Hotel
Ranked #6 of 19 Hotels in Dili
Reviewed April 22, 2013

The address of this hotel is Avenida Presidente Nicolau Lobata, Dili Timor-Leste.
The new wing has good rooms, with excellent house staff who pay attention to detail. The hotel's staff respond well to queries and any concerns. There is a small cafe that is good for breakfast and simple dinners. The wifi is included although varying reception, which may be the provider rather than the hotel's system. The hotel is expensive but has advantages such as security, proximity to many government buildings, cafes, ANZ bank and a supermarket. There are apartments in the new and old wings, priced accordingly. This hotel should not be confused with another hotel by the same name at the Timor Plaza shopping mall. One of the problems with this hotel is trying to find it on-line. It does not have a current website which seems strange for a hotel that seeks to attract international guests and so looking on-line can be very confusing. There are longer term rates, so worth checking that option when booking.

Room Tip: Ask for prices of rooms in the new wing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank MullSkye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (38)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

27 - 33 of 38 reviews

Reviewed March 3, 2013

If you're not too spoiled by the usual Asian/Oceanic hotel comfort, this is a very good choice. As far as the rooms go, I can only comment on the new wing of the hotel and I understand you should insist to get a room there. They are spacious enough, the bed mattresses are new and comfy and the rooms are kept clean by an army of cleaning ladies. The bathrooms are basic to good and clean too. TV in the room has a choice of channels from across the broad region, but not more than 20 of them. The hotel organises an airport pick-up free of charge. The breakfast is a la carte, from among 10ish ways to prepare eggs. Otherwise a poor-ish choice of food. Wifi works only in the rooms close to the restaurant area. Air conditioners keep you cool. The prices are very reasonable, especially if you're coming from Singapore, Dili's main hub. Don't expect Bali in any sense... from service to quality of accommodation, this is very basic. But Plaza is pleasant enough. It can get way more basic in Dili. Also pay attention where you need to go for your meetings - Plaza can be walking distance, or very far, as the city is stretched out along the bay area.

Room Tip: For wifi, close the the restaurant. Also - new wing only! The old wing is old in many ways.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank BorisDivjak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 18, 2013

I stayed for a couple of nights and was very impressed after staying at other locations previously.

The room is nicely decorated and feels like it is new with quality fixtures and fitting.

Location is perfect for restaurants, waterfront, bank and other amenities.

You feel very safe and secure in the complex.

Staff are friendly and smiling.

I would recommend anyone to stay here.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Natty131
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2012

I stayed 4 nights in this hotel in the heart of downtown Dili (not to be confused with the Timor Plaza Hotel and apartments, which is a new hotel being built in a brand new shopping mall complex on the outer edge of downtown). I was initially very confused by the reviews on Trip Advisor, and the comments about this being the best place to stay in Dili but so expensive, etc…..This is clearly referring to the new wing of the hotel, which has new expensive rooms. The hotel has an old wing (with standard rooms at about $80 per night, and full apartments for somewhat more) and a new wing (with apparently much nicer rooms, at around $150 per night), and next to the new wing rooms is a small restaurant where breakfast and other meals can be had. I stayed in the old wing in a standard room, which was basic but ok, with AC in the bedroom, internet (working most of the time), a fridge and table. The bathroom was old and needed upgrading, starting with a new (and longer!) shower curtain for the shower stall (the curtain looked ancient and mildewed, and hung only half way to the floor, meaning the whole bathroom flooded with each shower). The bathroom made the place look like a dump. The layout was not great for me, as the outer room (just inside the front door) had a table, chairs, fridge and tea kettle but no AC, and only a small window overlooking the parking lot making it an unpleasant place to sit; and the bedroom was very small, with a tiny desk space, TV, AC, closet, and double bed filling all the floor space (you regularly smash you knee into the corner of the bed, it’s so tight). So this was also not a great place to work or sit, or do anything but sleep (though with the heat, you want to spend all your time in this one room with AC). The bedroom window overlooked the back yard area (laundry lines and construction mess, basically) and the construction site next door. There was a balcony off the bedroom, but it was a mess and overlooked the ugly broken down wall and construction mess next door, so was not a place to sit at all. The only common/sitting area for the hotel is a small pavilion right in the middle of the parking lot, which is not appealing. I did see two different apartment rooms, and these are much nicer than the standard room, in that, although they are basic and rough around the edges, there is good sitting/working space, in addition to the larger bedroom and full kitchen area. Next time I would try to get one of these rooms instead. The location (on one of the main cross streets in town, only 2 blocks in from the beach road) is great for the ATM machine (one of the only ones in town), shops, little restaurants, and walking around town and along the waterfront. With some minor improvements to clean up and modernize the bathrooms (especially), this could be a good place to stay.

Room Tip: Look at apartment options in old wing for possible best value
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank JLiss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2012

This is my first time in Timor Leste but I was surprised that I can stay in such a good hotel same as in our country, Our company arranged everything for me and Im so thankfull that they choosen Plaza Hotel for me. My business trip was a success.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Ernie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 16, 2012

This is definitely one the the most comfortable hotels in Dili. Rooms are big, new, and clean. The beds are firm and of good quality. Bathrooms are well constructed with a rain shower, and there is good water pressure. Service quality at the hotel is good. However, the cost per night is just too high, even if it is Dili.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Moichee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 22, 2012

It is such a joy to stay in this Hotel, it is so comfortable, quite, secure and such a good location.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank DarwinDill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dili hotels
2.9 mi away
Timor Plaza Hotel & Apartments
0.1 mi away
Discovery Inn
Discovery Inn
#1 of 19 in Dili
194 reviews
2.1 mi away
Hotel Esplanada
Hotel Esplanada
#2 of 19 in Dili
368 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hotel Timor
Hotel Timor
#4 of 19 in Dili
140 reviews
2.4 mi away
Hotel The Ramelau
Hotel The Ramelau
#9 of 19 in Dili
34 reviews
3.4 mi away
Arbiru Beach Resort
Arbiru Beach Resort
#10 of 19 in Dili
18 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Plaza Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Plaza Hotel

Address: Rua Jose Maria Marques, Dili, East Timor
Location: East Timor > Dili District > Dili
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 19 Hotels in Dili
Price Range: $78 - $95 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Plaza Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your The Plaza Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing