We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best value in Dili for clean accomodation and helpful staff”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Dili
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Dive Timor Guest House
Ranked #1 of 18 Specialty Lodging in Dili
Reviewed October 15, 2013

Stayed here for about 10 nights in total in between heading out to visit other places in East Timor.

Given that most places in Dili aren't cheap - I thought this place was excellent value - $60 per night for 2 when staying there with my partner, $40 per night when on my own.
Very clean accommodation, air con worked very well and having the deep swimming pool out the back was very welcome.
All of the staff were courteous, and there was always plenty of Mozzie spray available.

Having the Castaway bar and restaurant as part of the establishment meant that good food was always on hand , and never got any stomach problems from the food there.
The foreign owner supports a lot of Timorese staff there (who in turn then support their extended families) and has a great attitude to trying to help the people of this country recover from the nightmares of the Indonesian occupation,
The diving arrangements were very flexible too.

Room Tip: I found that the rooms halfway between the dive centre reception and the pool stayed very cool durin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank mark c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (34)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

22 - 28 of 34 reviews

Reviewed May 1, 2013

We stayed in one of the "deluxe studio apartments". It was spacious, with lots of extras (big fridge, kitchen area), but very hot. There are no opening windows. The glass in the rooftop catches the afternoon sun & the air-con cannot cope. The electric fan didn't work properly. Our room was stifling, unbearably hot from about 2 in the afternoon til about 5.30. Outside on the patio was no better. The drains in kitchen & bathroom are really smelly. On the plus side, we were close to the pool, and the staff are very friendly.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank zydeco57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2013

Stayed here for a night and it was nice. Comfortable rooms, wifi, and good bar upstairs. I would stay here next time in Dili. Ratings are relative for timor, which is expensive for what you get when compared with asia, but in Timor this is good value.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank __Louis____M____11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 31, 2012

I used Diver Timor as a base in Dili while taking a tour with a local agency as I was meeting my liveaboard company at the restaurant attached to the Dive School. The rooms are clean and comfortable. I found it expensive for an Asian city at $60 a night but this is the norm in Dili thanks to the UN & NGOs pushing up the prices. This also doesn't include breakfast. If you are planning on diving with them there's really no point trying to look for somewhere elsewhere in Dili the only cheaper option was the Backpackers which my friends stayed in but it was a case of you get what you pay for.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Charlie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2012

Definitely one of the best value places to stay in Dili. The Dive Timor guesthouse has clean, neat, quiet rooms (with kitchen access) which are not expensive compared to most accommodation in town. The staff are extremely helpful and the place as a whole has a laid-back, friendly vibe to it. It also has the huge bonus of having a really nice bar on-site - the Castaway bar, which overlooks the ocean and is one of the buzziest in town, usually attracting a crowd of both expats and travellers. Given taxis don't really run at night this makes for an easy stay.
The diving is terrific, but even for non-divers there is a pool to use.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank alicenumber13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2012

If you are somewhere in Asia, US$40 per night must sound rather expensive for guesthouse. I personally think it is a bit expensive but here in Dili, it might be reasonable when it comes to accommodation.

Dive Timor Guest welcomes anyone. I don't dive but I stayed apartment type without extra charge just because I am not a diver. How kind of them.
When I sent them first query, I was told US$30 per night but I was asked US$40 upon my check out. If you pay it with credit card, you will have to pay a bit more (3% or so ). Bring enough cash to avoid the extra charge.
The price system is as follows:
private bedrooms in the Guest Houses with shared bathroom and living room start at $30US/night single occupancy.
Bunk Room - 2 x twin bunks - $30/person willing to share the room with someone else. $45/room if you want the room to yourself.
Double Bed room - $40US/night.

I thought that I chose the cheapest one but I had to pay US$40, so you should double confirm which room you want to book with who. ( with stranger ?)

You can have free drinking water from the kitchen. There is a mini fridge in each room.
There is no wifi in room but they offer you wired connection. So if you need to use computer, you should bring your laptop. Otherwise, wifi is available only around the castaway bar.
Unfortunately, cable TV, hot water was not available when I stayed there. I had to go to next apartment to use bathroom and watch TV. Still the apartments are adjacent, it is not a big issue.

I like the swimming pool, The deepest point is 1.8m or so. There is shower and change room next to the pool, it is very effective.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank mamacita1001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 8, 2011

The Dive Timor Guest House is one of the best value places to stay on a budget in Dili. The rooms where good everything worked, the staff where great. I felt same the whole time I was there. The restaurant was great, the pool was a pleasure to have so you can take the quick dip. The rooms where well appointed with internet connection and safe. Great Value.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank MrTimorLeste
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dili hotels
0 mi away
Discovery Inn
Discovery Inn
#1 of 19 in Dili
201 reviews
0 mi away
Hotel Esplanada
Hotel Esplanada
#2 of 19 in Dili
369 reviews
0 mi away
Excelsior Resort
Excelsior Resort
#11 of 19 in Dili
19 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Timor Plaza Hotel & Apartments
0 mi away
Hotel The Ramelau
Hotel The Ramelau
#9 of 19 in Dili
34 reviews
0 mi away
NOVO TURISMO Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dive Timor Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dive Timor Guest House

Address: Avenida de Portugal | Kampung Alor, Dili, East Timor
Location: East Timor > Dili District > Dili
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 18 Specialty Lodging in Dili
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dive Timor Guest House & Studio Apartments was developed in 2009 for the sole purpose of providing modern, clean and affordable tourist accommodation within the capital Dili, Timor Leste.Created and managed by Australian expats the centre was designed to be a base for tourist to explore this amazing country. Making use of existing Timorese foundations the accommodation is tastefully decorated and furnishes with 90% Timorese sourced material.Located on the same premises as East Timor's premier PADI 5 star dive centre Dive Timor Lorosae and East Timor's busiest bar and restaurant Castaway's why not make your visit to Timor Leste a comfortable and affordable one!The site boasts one of Timor's deepest pools at 2.5m (specially designed for scuba dive training) and has free 24hr internet access and security.The Dive Timor Guest House is located on the beach front on Embassy Road and most taxis know its location as the Castway Bar! Otherwise we offer return airport transfers. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing