We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value at lunch time”
Review of Nautilus

Nautilus
Ranked #9 of 67 Restaurants in Dili
Cuisines: American, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Description: Nautilus Restaurant in Dili is located on beach Road a few minutes before you reach the U.S. Embassy. Great food (especially the kangaroo) - service is slow (but such is the case for most restaurants in Dili).
Cyprus
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Good value at lunch time”
Reviewed April 19, 2013

Relaxing environment. Food good quality. May cost a bit more in evening. Nice garden spot (replete with free insect repellent) for a coffee.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank PandSCyprus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

83 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    28
    38
    13
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Darwin
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Nautilaus bar restaurant”
Reviewed December 20, 2012

Excellent food and the boss Bruce and his wife Toi were excellent hosts. The fish was superb. Highly recommended!

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank michael s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cleveland, ohio, USA
Level Contributor
51 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Very good food, comfortable friendly atmosphere”
Reviewed December 11, 2012

From March to Novembe 2012 I probably rate here about 30 times as it was next to my hotel. Of the 20ish restaurants I visited in Dili it was in the top 5. Right on the beach road, the traffic can be bad and there is road noise.
There is a small seating area just inside the wooden structure which is behind a small pond. Usually there is a group of about 10 drinking there. With seating for about 50 it can be hard to get a table is there is a large group dining there.
I recommend the seafood chowder and the Thai curry, either with chicken or seafood. My only real complaint is that the wait staff can be a bit aloof. It is relatively expensive; the Thai curry is about USD 18.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank whippoboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dhaka City, Bangladesh
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great food!”
Reviewed November 25, 2012

I loved the set up, the ambiance, service, food, everything! We even got a ride back home because it was too late to get a taxi

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Mermaid0226
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
76 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Always Great Food!”
Reviewed November 16, 2012

This is one of Dili's finest restaurant located on Embassy Beach Road near the Esplanade Hotel. A terrific range on the menu from steak, lamp shanks to seafood. I've been there several times and have never been disappointed. The restaurant is inviting and has nice atmosphere. For a really nice meal in Dili, you can't go past Nautilus.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Nigeldas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Nautilus also viewed

Dili, Dili District
Dili, Dili District
 
Dili, Dili District
 
Dili, Dili District
Dili, Dili District
 

Been to Nautilus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing