We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Attractive, comfortable and clean hotel”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Dili
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel California Dili
Ranked #10 of 24 Dili B&B and Inns
Reviewed August 23, 2010

The California Hotel is out of town towards the Jesus Statue, but in a lovely location opposite the long seaside path. We had a very comfortable suite at US$80. Upstairs was a pavilion restaurant/bar overlooking the sea where breakfast was served. Friendly staff.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AnneBenC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (25)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

22 - 25 of 25 reviews

Reviewed June 4, 2010

My wife and I stayed at Hotel California (Yes, the Eagles tune did make me chose it!) and we are really glad we did. It is 4 km from the city centre($US1.50 by taxi), but there's nothing special about the middle of town at all. In fact, avoiding the centre of town is probably a good strategy if you can do so. The hotel will arrange transfers to and from the airport as well thus enhancing, rather than detracting from, the location. When we visited, there were several buildings along the shoreline being constructed that will be restaurants upon completion further making this a go-to location.

We stayed in a suite and, unless you are on your own, I would recommend doing the same. For only $US100/n one has three rooms; a lounge room, a bedroom, and a bathroom and that amount of space is a luxury to enjoy. The room rate also includes a laundry service, extremely helpful in the tropics.

The restaurant offers a good menu and has reasonable prices.

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank young4ever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 24, 2015
Google Translation

  • Stayed: April 2015, traveled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Alex M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2013
Google Translation

Room Tip: Um quarto com sala é sempre uma mais valia One bedroom with living room is always a plus
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nuno S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dili hotels
0 mi away
Discovery Inn
Discovery Inn
#1 of 19 in Dili
201 reviews
0 mi away
Hotel Esplanada
Hotel Esplanada
#2 of 19 in Dili
369 reviews
0 mi away
Excelsior Resort
Excelsior Resort
#11 of 19 in Dili
19 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Timor Plaza Hotel & Apartments
0 mi away
Hotel The Ramelau
Hotel The Ramelau
#9 of 19 in Dili
34 reviews
0 mi away
NOVO TURISMO Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel California Dili? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel California Dili

Address: Estrada Areia Branca Meti-Aut | 4 kms from Dili centre, Dili, East Timor
Location: East Timor > Dili District > Dili
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 24 B&Bs / Inns in Dili
Number of rooms: 14

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing