We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“high standard of cleanliness”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Dili
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel California Dili
Ranked #5 of 24 Dili B&B and Inns
Sibiu, Romania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“high standard of cleanliness”
Reviewed August 14, 2011

My partner and have recently returned from Dili. We wanted an accommodation a few kilometers away from Dili City Center, so we preferred staying with Hotel California. We did not look for any option as our driver directly took us California only. Check in was smooth and the same was check out two days later. Between these two days, our stay was very good but not the best. That was not even expected. The views form hotel room was magnificent, we thought noise would be a problem but luckily that was not the case. Hotel maintained a high standard of cleanliness. Our room had enough space for both of us. The bathroom was fairly bigger and set up all we could require. Food was average however we enjoyed some of them. Goo stay overall.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sally A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

25 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    7
    15
    2
    0
    1
See reviews for
3
6
7
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Baltimore, Maryland
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed August 5, 2011

Spent 4 nights at Hotel California. It is one of the most lovely hotels in Dili. Good value, nice staff. You will like it there. Restaurant with beach views. Many others within walking distance, an Ideal location.

Room Tip: A bit away from downtown, so there are far far less traffic fumes here. It is beautiful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank HaresHallBunny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed August 24, 2010

I have been to Dili many times, and I have stayed in most of the hotels. Generally speaking most hotels in Dili are starting to get a bit "tired" and so I thought I'd give Hotel California a shot.

The hotel accommodation is clean and fit for purpose.
Its a bit far out of town which makes getting a taxi a bit difficult, however the Hotel have transport and they ran me around town all day everyday without hesitation.

The hotel picked me up from the airport no charge
The car was "really" clean and the driver was slow and diligent in his driving manner.

The food is as good as anywhere, not the best restaurant in town, but definitely not the worst.
Chicken Curry was excellent.

To summarize.. Its not the best hotel in Dili (Because I don't think there is a best). But its not the worst, far from it. But it is Good, great bar overlooking the sea, nice and quiet, and generally comfortable.

I would definitely stay there again, and I would recommend it to my friends and colleagues too.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Eastcoastparkway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 23, 2010

The California Hotel is out of town towards the Jesus Statue, but in a lovely location opposite the long seaside path. We had a very comfortable suite at US$80. Upstairs was a pavilion restaurant/bar overlooking the sea where breakfast was served. Friendly staff.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AnneBenC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hobart
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed June 4, 2010

My wife and I stayed at Hotel California (Yes, the Eagles tune did make me chose it!) and we are really glad we did. It is 4 km from the city centre($US1.50 by taxi), but there's nothing special about the middle of town at all. In fact, avoiding the centre of town is probably a good strategy if you can do so. The hotel will arrange transfers to and from the airport as well thus enhancing, rather than detracting from, the location. When we visited, there were several buildings along the shoreline being constructed that will be restaurants upon completion further making this a go-to location.

We stayed in a suite and, unless you are on your own, I would recommend doing the same. For only $US100/n one has three rooms; a lounge room, a bedroom, and a bathroom and that amount of space is a luxury to enjoy. The room rate also includes a laundry service, extremely helpful in the tropics.

The restaurant offers a good menu and has reasonable prices.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank young4ever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dili hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel Esplanada
Hotel Esplanada
#2 of 21 in Dili
355 reviews
0.0 mi away
Discovery Inn
Discovery Inn
#1 of 21 in Dili
178 reviews
0.0 mi away
Timor Plaza Hotel & Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Casa Minha Backpackers
0.0 mi away
NOVO TURISMO Resort & Spa
0.0 mi away
Hotel Timor
Hotel Timor
#4 of 21 in Dili
132 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel California Dili? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel California Dili

Property: Hotel California Dili
Address: Estrada Areia Branca Meti-Aut | 4 kms from Dili centre, Dili, East Timor
Location: East Timor > Dili District > Dili
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 24 B&Bs / Inns in Dili
Number of rooms: 14

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing